Skip to Top NavigationSkip to Utility NavigationSkip to Search
Mobile Menu

Courses—Spring 2017

Choose from a variety of classes below. Click on the class link for times and dates, and use the box on the right to register.

Art and Architecture

  • Fathers and Daughters Build a Country House: Hillstead Museum and Its Origins
        —Melanie Bourbeau
            Wed., March 8, 15, 22; 10–11:30 a.m.
  • Ancient Nubia: Land of Gold —Colleen Manessa Darnell
            Fri., March 10, 17, 24, 31; 1:30–3 p.m.
  • Goya and Picasso: Artistic Revolutionaries—David Simon
            Tues., March. 14, 21, 28; April 4; 1:30–3 p.m.
  • Fakes and Forgeries: Amazing But True Adventures of an Art Museum Director—Douglas Hyland
            Wed., March 29; April 5, 12; 10:30–12 p.m.
  • Chaos and Complexity in the Visual Arts—Power Boothe
            Fri., April 14, 21, 28; 1:30–3 p.m.
  • Brochure with all Art and Architecture courses

Current Events and History

  • Connecticans in the American West—Dave Corrigan, Allison Speicher,
    Leah Glaser
            Tues., Feb. 14, 21, 28; 3:30–5 p.m.
  • Hot Spots and Burning Issues—Chris Doyle
            Wed., Feb. 22; March 29; April 26; May 10; 5:30–7 p.m.
  • American School for the Deaf and the Education of
        the Deaf—Ed Peltier, Brad Mosley, Jeff Bravin
            Thurs., April 27-Connecticut Historical Society;
            May 4-KF Room; 4–5:30 p.m.
            May 11-KF Room; 4–5:30 p.m.
            May 18-American School for the Deaf; 4–5:30 p.m.
  • Brochure with all Current Events and History courses

Literature and Language

  • Eugene O’Neill: The Man and His Work with Playhouse  on Park—Joe Discher, Sasha Bratt
            Wed., Feb. 8; 10–11:30 a.m., KF Room;
            Tues., Feb. 21; 10–11:30 a.m., KF Room;
            Wed., March 1; 7:30–10 p.m., Playhouse on Park
  • The Emergence of England II: Politics, Religion, and the Arts 1550–1600—Humphrey Tonkin-Wilde Auditorium
            Mon., March 27; April 3, 10, 17, 24; 3–4:30 p.m.
  • The First Psychological Novel: Jane Austen’s Emma
        —Catherine Stevenson
            Tues., March 28; April 4, 11; 10:30–12 p.m.
  • Brochure with all Literature and Language courses

Music, Dance, and Film

  • Cinematic Cities—Michael Walsh
            
    Mon., Feb 20, 27; March 6, 13; 3:30–5 p.m.
  • Why Hamilton is the Most Important Musical of this Generation—Frank Rizzo
            Wed., Feb. 22; Thurs., March 2; Tues., March 7; 12–1:30 p.m.
  • Transforming the Silence: An Exploration of War’sTrauma through Poetry and Music—Jason DeViva, Nan Meneely, Karyl Evans, Sarah Meneely-Kyder
            Thurs., March 23, 30; April 6; 2–3:30 p.m.
  • “To Everything There is a Season” Through Theme and Variation in Music and Dance—Nina Watt, Kathryn Swanson-Ellis
            Fri., March 31; Tues., April 4; Thurs., April 6; 4–5:30 p.m.
  • Painting Music—Michael Lankester
            Mon., April 17, 24; May 1, 8, 15; 10–11:30 a.m.
            -Wilde Auditorium
  • Scenes from Bohemian Life—Willie Anthony Waters
            Sat., May 6; 10 a.m.–1 p.m.
  • Brochure with all Music, Dance, and Film courses

Science and Technology

  • Mars, "The Red Planet"—James McDonald
               Fri., Feb 10, 17, 24; 10:30 a.m.–12 p.m
  • Brochure with the Science and Technology course.


    All classes are held in the Mortensen Library, KF Room unless otherwise specified.

    See the Speakers page for a biography of each speaker.