University of Hartford Libraries

World Music Subject Guide


Databases

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.alexanderstreet.com/glnd]
Includes over 1,200 essays about music from all parts of the world. This is the digital version of the print edition, which is found in the Allen Library reference collection at ML100 G37.

Smithsonian Global Sound
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.alexanderstreet.com/glmu]
Streaming audio of traditional music from around the world. Includes around 3,000 albums worth of music.


Books

Biographical Dictionary of Afro-American and African Musicians
By Eileen Southern. Allen Library Reference [REF ML105 S72]

Ethnomusicology Research: a Select Annotated Bibliography
By Ann Briegleb Schuursma. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 E8 S3]

Ethnomusicology: an Introduction
Edited by Helen Myers. Allen Library Stacks [ML3799 E83 M94]

Excursions in World Music
By Bruno Nettl, et al. Allen Library Stacks [MT6 E93]

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music. 10 vols.
By Bruno Nettl and Ruth M. Stone. Allen Library Reference [REF ML100 G37]. An online version is also available.

Garland Handbook of African Music
Edited by Ruth M. Stone. Allen Library Reference [REF ML100 G37 A]

The Garland Handbook of Latin American Music
By Dale A. Olsen and Daniel E. Sheehy. Allen Library Reference [REF ML100 G37 L]

Garland Library of Readings in Ethnomusicology. 7 vols.
Edited by Kay Kaufman Shelemay. Allen Library Stacks [ML3799 G37]

Music Grooves: Essays and Dialogues
By Charles Keil and Steven Feld. Allen Library Stacks [ML60 K45 M]

North American Indian Music: a Guide to Published Sources and Selected Recordings
By Richard Keeling. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 F75 K4]

Problems of Ethnomusicology
By Constantin Brailiou. Allen Library Stacks [ML3798 B81]

Selected Musical Terms of Non -Western Cultures: a Notebook -Glossary
By Walter Kaufman. Allen Library Reference [REF ML108 K21 S46]

World Music-a Global Journey
By Terry E. Miller and Andrew Shahriari. Allen Library Stacks [ML3798 M64 W67]

Worlds of Music: an Introduction to the Music of the World's People
By Jeff Todd Titon. Allen Library Stacks [ML3798 W67 1992]


Call Numbers

Music

M1626 - M1628
Folk music

M1668 - M1671
U.S. ethnic groups

M1678 - M1679
Canada

M1706
Hungary

M1730 - M1733
France

M1734
Germany

M1740 - M1746
Great Britain

M1748 - M1750
Italy

M1756 - M1757
Russia

M1768 - M1774
Scandinavia

M1777 - M1779
Spain

M1804 - M1812
Asia

M1830 - M1838
Africa

M1850 - M1852
Jewish

M1977
Topical (work songs, protest songs, etc.)


Books: General

ML199 - ML210
North America

ML200
United States

ML220 - ML239
Central and South America

ML240 - ML325
Europe

ML246
Austria

ML270
France

ML275
Germany

ML285 - ML289
United Kingdom

ML290
Italy

ML300
Russia and the Soviet Union

ML315
Spain

ML330 - ML348
Asia

ML350 - ML355
Africa

ML360
Australia, Oceania, etc.


Books: National, Folk, and Ethnic Music

ML3551 - ML3562
United States

ML3563 - ML3570
Canada, the Caribbean, and Mexico

ML3571 - ML3575
Central and South America

ML3580 - ML3730
Europe

ML3650 - ML3656
United Kingdom

ML3740 - ML3758
Asia

ML3760
Africa

ML3770 - ML3775
Australia, Oceania, etc.

ML3776
Jewish/Yiddish

ML3780
Topical (labor, hunting, sea, etc.)


Periodicals

American Ethnologist
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www3.interscience.wiley.com/journal/118902573/home?CRETRY=1&SRETRY=0]
Mortensen Library Periodicals GN1 .A53 (Microfilm 1974-1982; Bound 1983-2008; ONLINE 1997-present)

The Conch

Dirty Linen

Ethnomusicology

Journal of African Music and Popular Culture

Journal of American Folklore
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://find.galegroup.com/itx/infomark.do?&serQuery=Locale(en%2CUS%2C)%3AFQE%3D(jx%2CNone%2C30)%22Journal+of+American+Folklore%22%24&type=pubIssues&queryType=PH&prodId=AONE&userGroupName=a23uh&version=1.0]
Mortensen Library Periodicals GR1.J86 A51 (1966-1994; ONLINE 1994-present)

Journal of the International Folk Music Council

Music and Anthropology

Roots World

Sing Out!


Subject Headings

Ballads

Ethnomusicology

Folk dance music

Folk music

Folk music africa

Folk songs africa

Music africa

World music


Websites

General Resources

Ethnographic Studies Resources
[http://www.loc.gov/folklife/other.html]
A Library of Congress internet resource for information on Anthropology, Ethnomusicology, Folklore and Folk life.


American

Afrocentric Voices
[http://www.afrovoices.com/]
This site includes research centers and collections featuring or including a significant portion of material by or about African American musicians.

American Folklife Center, The Library of Congress
[https://www.loc.gov/folklife/]
Site includes full texts of selected publications, digital presentations of collections, a growing list of links to other resources in ethnographic studies, the Folklife information service, and the Folklife Sourcebook: A Directory of Folklife Resources in the United States.

American Roots Music
[http://www.pbs.org/americanrootsmusic/index.html]
This PBS site explores Blues, Country music, Bluegrass, Gospel, Cajun, Zydeco, Tejano, and Native American music. The site includes oral histories and information about the musicians, their instruments, and the music.

Archives of African American Music and Culture
[http://www.indiana.edu/~aaamc/]
Repository of materials at Indiana University covering various musical idioms and cultural expressions from the post-World War II era for study and research. Online publications include Black Grooves and Liner Notes.

Music of the Southwest
This site is down as of 16-Jan-2017. Site includes text, audio, and video organized by instrument, musicians, ethnic group, and musical genre.


Area Studies

African Music Encyclopedia: Music from Africa and the African Diaspora
[http://www.africanmusic.org/]
Includes an index of artists, listings by country, a glossary, and useful links.

Jewish Music WebCenter
[http://www.jmwc.org/]
This site provides "a forum for gathering and presenting information on academic, organizational, and personal activities in Jewish music today." It includes links to research, festivals, publishers, places to study, organizations, featured sites, etc.

Latin American Music Center
[http://music.indiana.edu/lamc/home/]
This site includes many links to online resources about colonial music, composers, electronic music, organizations, performers, and discussion lists.


International

Association for Cultural Equity - Sound Recordings
[http://research.culturalequity.org/home-audio.jsp]
Contains over 17,400 recordings from the collections of Alan Lomax and his associates. This includes folk music from around the world, recorded between 1946 and into the 1990s.

Ethnomusicology - World Music
[http://guides.lib.uw.edu/friendly.php?s=research/ethnomusicology]
One of the larger listings currently available, this site attempts to collect a wide variety of links, including sections devoted to organizations, institutions, and archives; bibliography, periodicals, and online publications; recordings; and sites by geographical region.

International Council for Traditional Music
[http://www.ictmusic.org/ICTM/index.php]
Site of the world organization that supports the study and practice of all musical traditions, including urban and popular music and dance, and music research and ethnomusicology.

Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
[http://www.folkways.si.edu]
Site for the nonprofit record label of the Smithsonian Institution which includes educational materials and a list of their recordings.

Society for Ethnomusicology
[http://www.ethnomusicology.org/]
The society's home page, with information about conferences, degree programs, chapters, and related web sites.

World Folk Music Association
[http://wfma.net/]
With a focus on folk music of the United States, this site includes links to performers' home pages, recording companies, events, etc.

World Music Institute
[http://www.heartheworld.org]
A non-profit concert presenting organization dedicated to the research and presentation of traditional and contemporary music and dance from around the world.


Musical Instruments

Ethnomusicology Musical Instrument Collection
[http://content.lib.washington.edu/ethnomusicweb/index.htm]
Provides photos and descriptions for over 400 instruments in the University of Washington's Ethnomusicology Musical Instrument Collection. Audio and video clips are also available for many of the instruments.

Stearns Collection of Musical Instruments
[http://www.music.umich.edu/research/stearns_collection/index.htm]
A resource about instruments from around the world. Site can be browsed by type of instrument or geographic origin, or search the database by instrument, maker, material, or description.

Virtual Instrument Museum
[http://learningobjects.wesleyan.edu/vim]
Online access to the Wesleyan World Instrument Museum. Gives information about each instrument's history, tuning, technique, notation, context, etc.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=World Music