University of Hartford Libraries

Woodwind Music Subject Guide


Bassoon

Bassoon Music in the Library

Click links below to search for items in the library catalog, or use the call numbers below to browse the shelves at the Allen Library.

Bassoon and piano Music
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M253%20or%20M254?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M253 - M254

Bassoon concertos with orchestra
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1026%20or%20M1027?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M1026 - M1027

Bassoon concertos with string orchestra
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1126%20or%20M1127?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M1126 - M1127

Bassoon solo
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M77?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M77

Method books - Bassoon
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/MT405?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
MT405

Orchestral Excerpts - Bassoon
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/MT406?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
MT406


Books about the Bassoon

The Bassoon and Contrabassoon
By Lyndesay Graham Langwill. Allen Library Shelves [ML950 L28 1971]

Bassoon Reed Making Including Bassoon Repair, Maintenance, and Adjustment, and an Approach to Bassoon Playing
By Mark Popkin and Loren Glickman. Allen Library Shelves [ML951 P66 B3]

The Bassoon: Its History, Construction, Makers, Players, and Music
By Will Jansen. Allen Library Closed Stacks [ML950 J35]

See more books about the bassoon
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:bassoon?fq=collection:BOOK&sort=pubyear%20desc]


Books for Finding Music

Bassoon Bibliography
By Kodo Koenigsbeck. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 B26 K64 B37]
Valuable tool for identifying works that include bassoon in a wide variety of instrumental combinations. Lists over 18,000 works.

Music for Unaccompanied Solo Bassoon
By Jon Beebe. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 B26 B44]
Describes over 150 work for unaccompanied solo bassoon, including information such as duration, range, performance techniques required, compositional style, difficulty, and more.

Woodwind Music in Print
By Harry B. Peters. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 W5 P48 1997]
Organized by instrumentation, this resource lists tens of thousands of works that include at least one woodwind instrument. Covers works for solo instruments up through large chamber ensembles, as well as works for solo instruments with large ensembles.


Periodicals

Double Reed Society
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/work/151110]

International Double Reed Society Journal
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/work/167417]


Websites

The Bassoon Resource Page
[http://www.bassoonresource.org/index.html]
Includes a history of the bassoon, information on makers, reed tips, fingering charts, music clips, and more.


Clarinet

Books about the Clarinet

The Clarinet
By Eric Hoeprich. Allen Library [ML945 H64] This is an in-depth history of the clarinet and its music, covering its origins through the early 21st century. Also includes chapters on the basset horn, the bass clarinet, "the odd clarinets," and "bands, folk music and all that jazz."

The Clarinet and Clarinet Playing
By David Pino. Allen Library [MT380 P65]
A comprehensive resource on the clarinet. Includes chapters on mouthpieces and ligatures, embouchure, tonguing, musical interpretation, teaching, reeds, history, and more.

Clarinet Secrets: 52 Performance Strategies for the Advanced Clarinetist
By Michèle Gingras. Allen Library [MT380 G55 C53]
Provides tips on advanced clarinet techniques such as faster tonguing, improving intonation and tone, balancing reeds, extended techniques, klezmer technique, and more.

See more books about the clarinet
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:clarinet?fq=collection:BOOK&sort=pubyear%20desc]


Books for Finding Music

Repertory of the Clarinet
By Kalmen Opperman. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 C6 O]
Resource for identifying works that include clarinet from the mid-20th century and earlier. Lists works ranging from etudes and solo works up to works for orchestra and clarinet. Includes many works not listed in the much larger Woodwind Music in Print.

Solos for Unaccompanied Clarinet: An Annotated Bibliography of Published Works
By James E. Gillespie, Jr. [REF ML128 C6 G]
Lists over 120 works for unaccompanied solo clarinet. Provides duration, movement titles/tempos, and a brief description of each work, including the technical demands.

Woodwind Music in Print
By Harry B. Peters. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 W5 P48 1997]
Organized by instrumentation, this resource lists tens of thousands of works that include at least one woodwind instrument. Covers works for solo instruments up through large chamber ensembles, as well as works for solo instruments with large ensembles.


Clarinet Music in the Library

Click links below to search for items in the library catalog, or use the call numbers below to browse the shelves at the Allen Library.

Clarinet and piano
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M248%20or%20M249%20or%20M250%20or%20M251%20or%20M252?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M248 - M252

Clarinet concertos with orchestra
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1024%20or%20M1025?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M1024 - M1025

Clarinet concertos with string orchestra
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1124%20or%20M1125?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M1124 - M1125

Clarinet Solo
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M71%20or%20M72%20or%20M73?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M71 - M73

Method Books - Clarinet
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/MT382%20or%20MT383%20or%20MT384%20or%20MT385?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
MT382 - MT385

Orchestral Excerpts - Clarinet
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/MT386?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
MT386


Periodicals

The Clarinet
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/work/146817]


Websites

Clarinet Acoustics: An Introduction
[http://www.phys.unsw.edu.au/jw/clarinetacoustics.html]
An award-winning website introducing the physics behind clarinet acoustics.

The Clarinet Institute of Los Angeles
[http://www.clarinetinstitute.com/index.html]
Includes downloadable music, recordings, videos, and more clarinet-related resources.

International Clarinet Association
[http://www.clarinet.org/]
Site includes information about the association as well as articles, a research center of clarinet collections and scores, and other useful links for clarinetists.


Flute

Books about the Flute

The Flute
By Ardal Powell. Allen Library [ML935 P69]
An in-depth examination of the history of the flute, from the medieval to the modern.

The Flute Book
By Nancy Toff. Allen Library [ML935 T64 1996]
A valuable resource that covers a wide range of flute-related topics, including choosing an instrument, care and maintenance, a brief history, breathing, vibrato, articulation, literature, and more.

The Simple Flute: From A to Z
By Michel Debost. Allen Library [MT340 D43 S55] Advice and comments on flute playing from a world-renowned flutist and flute teacher.

See more books about the flute
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:flute?fq=collection:BOOK&sort=pubyear%20desc]


Books for Finding Music

Flute Literature
By Bernard Pierreuse. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 F6 P6]
Identifies thousands of works that include flute. Organized by instrumentation, this resource covers everything from solo flute to 13-piece chamber ensembles, as well as works for flute with orchestra.

Flute Music of the 18th Century
By Frans Vester. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 F6 V5]
Use this resource to identify 18th-century flute works either by composer or instrumentation.

Woodwind Music in Print
By Harry B. Peters. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 W5 P48 1997]
Organized by instrumentation, this resource lists tens of thousands of works that include at least one woodwind instrument. Covers works for solo instruments up through large chamber ensembles, as well as works for solo instruments with large ensembles.


Flute Music in the Library

Click links below to search for items in the library catalog, or use the call numbers below to browse the shelves at the Allen Library.

Flute and piano
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M240%20or%20M241%20or%20M242%20or%20M243%20or%20M244?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M240 - M244

Flute concertos with orchestra
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1020%20or%20M1021?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M1020 - M1021

Flute concertos with string orchestra
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1120%20or%20M1121?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M1120 - M1121

Flute solo
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M61%20or%20M62%20or%20M63%20or%20M64?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M61 - M64

Method Books - Flute
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/MT342%20or%20MT343%20or%20MT344%20or%20MT345?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
MT342 - MT345

Orchestral Excerpts - Flute
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/MT346?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
MT346


Periodicals

Flute Talk
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/work/289084]

Flutist Quarterly
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/titles.asp?kw=flutist+quarterly&q=switch&sid=76148354&id=8684&SF=Titles&limit=mc-ccode%3APERIODICAL&lang=&lang.subject=&lang.menu=&cmdSearchSubmit=Electronic]


Websites

Dayton C. Miller Flute Collection
[https://www.loc.gov/collections/dayton-c-miller-collection/about-this-collection/]
Preview the Library of Congress collection comprised of nearly 1,650 flutes and other instruments, iconography, books, music, tutors, patents, and other materials related to the flute.

Flute World
[http://www.fluteworld.com/]
Home page for "the largest supplier of flute music, flutes and piccolos."

Larry Krantz Flute Pages
[http://www.larrykrantz.com/]
Comprehensive site that includes flute repertoire lists, fingerings, teaching tips, career and college preparatory information, health issues, events calendar, information on lost/stolen flutes, etc.

National Flute Association
[http://www.nfaonline.org/]
Includes competitions, events, the NFA library, newly published music, commercial flute resources, and more.


Oboe

Books about the Oboe

The Oboe
By Geoffrey Burgess and Bruce Haynes. Allen Library [ML940 B87 O2]
An extensive history of the oboe and its music, covering everything from the ancestors of the oboe up through the end of the 20th century.

Oboe Art and Method
By Martin Schuring. Allen Library [MT360 S397] Practical guide to the oboe, including sections on fundamentals (breathing, embouchure, articulation, etc.), reed making, equipment and care, and professional/performance considerations.

The Oboe Reed Book
By Jay Light. Allen Library [ML941 L54 O2]
Covers all aspects of reed making, including the philosophy behind it, the tools needed, and the procedures taken.

Oboe Unbound: Contemporary Techniques
By Libby Van Cleve. Allen Library [MT360 V35 O25]
Covers a range of extended techniques for the oboe, including harmonics, microtones, glissandi, multiphonics, double tonguing, and more. Includes a CD with examples of the techniques.

See more books about the oboe
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:oboe?fq=collection:BOOK&sort=pubyear%20desc]


Books for Finding Music

Music for Oboe, 1650 -1800
By Bruce Haynes. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 O12 H4 1992]
Lists nearly 10,000 works that include oboe, organized by composer and indexed by instrumentation.

Music for Oboe, Oboe d'amore, and English Horn
By Virginia S. Gifford. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 O12 G]
Lists over 5,600 works that include oboe, oboe d'amore, or english horn, organized by instrumentation.

Soloistic English Horn Literature from 1736 -1984
By William W. McMullen. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 O12 M14]
Listing of about 200 original works for english horn as soloist and in small chamber works. Includes a description of each work as well as a very short preview of the music. Index A lists the works by instrumentation.

Woodwind Music in Print
By Harry B. Peters. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 W5 P48 1997]
Organized by instrumentation, this resource lists tens of thousands of works that include at least one woodwind instrument. Covers works for solo instruments up through large chamber ensembles, as well as works for solo instruments with large ensembles.


Finding Oboe Music in the Library

Click links below to search for items in the library catalog, or use the call numbers below to browse the shelves at the Allen Library.

Method Books - Oboe
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/(callnumber:(MT362* or MT363* or MT364* or MT365*))]
MT362 - MT365

Oboe and piano
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M245%20or%20M246%20or%20M247?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M245 - M247

Oboe concertos with orchestra
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1022%20or%20M1023?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M1022 - M1023

Oboe concertos with string orchestra
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1122%20or%20M1123?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M1122 - M1123

Oboe solo
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M65%20or%20M66%20or%20M67%20or%20M68%20or%20M69?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M65 - M69

Orchestral Excerpts - Oboe
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/MT366?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
MT366


Periodicals

Double Reed Society
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/work/151110]

International Double Reed Society Journal
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/work/167417]


Websites

The Haynes Catalog: Bibliography of Oboe Music by Peter Wuttke
[http://haynes-catalog.net/]
Bibliography of oboe music up to about 1800. Searchable by composer, instrumentation, publisher, and more.

International Double Reed Society
[http://www.idrs.org/]
This site covers information and links for both oboists and bassoonists.


Saxophone

Books about the Saxophone

The Art of Saxophone Playing
By Larry Teal. Allen Library [MT500 T52]
Covers the equipment and mechanics of the saxophone, including the reed, breathing, embouchure, vibrato, articulation, and more.

The Cambridge Companion to the Saxophone
By Richard Ingham (ed.). Allen Library [ML975 C35]
Overview of the saxophone, including history, soloists, repertoire, mechanics, teaching, and more.

The Early History of the Saxophone
By Fred Hemke. Allen Library [ML419 L84 U4]
This dissertation is a highly detailed examination of the creation and early history of the saxophone.

Les Sons Multiples aux Saxophones: Pour Saxophones Sopranino, Soprano, Alto, Tenor et Baryton
By Daniel Kientzy. Allen Library [MT500 K54 S3]
Lists hundreds of multiphonics fingerings for all saxophones. Text is in both French and English.

See more books about the saxophone
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:saxophon*?fq=collection:BOOK&sort=pubyear%20desc]


Books for Finding Music

A Comprehensive Guide to the Saxophone Repertoire: 1844-2003
By Jean-Marie Londeix. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 S20 L84 C65]
Lists over 18,000 works for saxophone, saxophone ensemble, and saxophone with another instrument. Can by browsed by both composer and instrumentation.

Saxophone Soloists and Their Music
By Harry Gee. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 S2 G29]
Lists hundreds of saxophone soloists, including brief bios, lists of compositions dedicated or premiered by them, recordings, and more.

Woodwind Music in Print
By Harry B. Peters. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 W5 P48 1997]
Organized by instrumentation, this resource lists tens of thousands of works that include at least one woodwind instrument. Covers works for solo instruments up through large chamber ensembles, as well as works for solo instruments with large ensembles.


Finding Saxophone Music in the Library

Click links below to search for items in the library catalog, or use the call numbers below to browse the shelves at the Allen Library.

Method Books - Saxophone
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/(callnumber:(MT500* or MT501* or MT502* or MT503* or MT504* or MT505*))]
MT500 - MT505

Orchestral Excerpts - Saxophone
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/MT506?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
MT506

Saxophone and piano
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M268%20or%20M269?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M268 - M269

Saxophone concertos with orchestra
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1034%20or%20M1035?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M1034 - M1035

Saxophone concertos with string orchestra
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1134%20or%20M1135?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M1134 - M1135

Saxophone quartets
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M457.2?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M457.2

Saxophone solo
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M106%20or%20M107%20or%20M108%20or%20M109?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M106 - M109


Periodicals

Saxophone Journal [ceased 2013]
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/work/165132]

Saxophone Symposium
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/work/156864]

Saxophone Today
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/Titles/SearchResults/8684?SearchType=0&Find=saxophone+today&GetResourcesBy=QuickSearch&resourceTypeName=allTitles&resourceType=&radioButtonChanged=]


Websites

International Saxophone Home Page
[http://www.saxophone.org]
Features articles, interviews, reviews, and links to performers and ensembles, dealers, manufacturers, etc.

Sax on the Web
[http://www.saxontheweb.net/]
This page is devoted to saxophone playing, mainly "classical" but some jazz styles as well.

Saxophone Acoustics - University of New South Wales
[http://www.phys.unsw.edu.au/music/saxophone/]
Provides acoustic response, spectra, sound files, and fingerings for single and multiphonic notes on tenor and soprano saxophone.


General Resources

Books about Woodwinds

Teaching Woodwinds: A Method and Resource Handbook for Music Educators
By William Dietz (ed.). Allen Library [MT339.5 D54 T4]
A valuable tool for teaching woodwind instruments. This book discusses the fundamentals of playing each woodwind instrument, as well as covering common problems and corresponding solutions. It also provides teaching techniques for helping students master various aspects of playing the instruments.

Woodwind Anthology
Allen Library Reference. [REF ML128 W7]
A large collection of relatively brief articles from the journal Instrumentalist about woodwind instruments.

Woodwinds: Fundamental Performance Techniques
By Gene Saucier. Allen Library [MT339 S25 2002]
Covers basic performance techniques for all woodwind instruments, such as tone production, embouchure, care, etc. Includes lists of standard repertoire, method books, and recordings

See more books about woodwinds
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:woodwind+instruments?fq=collection:BOOK&sort=pubyear%20desc]


Books for Finding Music

Orchestral Excerpts: A Comprehensive Index
By Carolyn Rabson. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 O5 R2]
Indicates in which books excerpts for particular works can be found.

Wind Chamber Music: For Two to Sixteen Winds: An Annotated Guide
By Barbera Secrist-Schmedes. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 W5 S43 2002]
Lists works for flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, and french horn in a variety of combinations. Many entries provide brief descriptions of the work. Read the preface to understand how to determine instrumentation.

Woodwind Music in Print
By Harry B. Peters. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 W5 P48 1997]
Organized by instrumentation, this resource lists tens of thousands of works that include at least one woodwind instrument. Covers works for solo instruments up through large chamber ensembles, as well as works for solo instruments with large ensembles.


Finding Woodwind Music in the Library

Click links below to search for items in the library catalog, or use the call numbers below to browse the shelves at the Allen Library.

Other solo works [english horn, piccolo, etc.]
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/(callnumber:(m110*) -M1100* -M1101* -M1102* -M1103* -M1104* -M1105* -M1106* -M1107* -M1108* -M1109* -M1110*)?fq=collection:SCORES OR itemtype:SCORECD]
M110

Other wind instrument and piano
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M270%20or%20M271?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M270 - M271

2 wind instruments and piano
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M315%20or%20M316%20or%20M317%20or%20M318%20or%20M319?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M315 - M319

3 wind instruments and piano
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M415%20or%20M416%20or%20M417%20or%20M418%20or%20M419?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M415 - M419

Woodwind trios
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/callnumber:M357.2*?fq=collection:SCORES OR itemtype:SCORECD]
M357.2

Woodwind quintets
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/callnumber:M557*?fq=collection:SCORES OR itemtype:SCORECD]
M557


Periodicals

Instrumentalist

International Musician
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/titles.asp?txtKeyword=International+Musician+&SF=Titles&id=8684&sid=76148354&LH=&lang.subject=&lang.menu=&cmdSearchSubmit=Search&optPages=1]

Journal of Band Research
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/titles.asp?txtKeyword=Journal+of+Band+Research+&SF=Titles&id=8684&sid=76148354&LH=&lang.subject=&lang.menu=&cmdSearchSubmit=Search&optPages=1]

Medical Problems of Performing Artists
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/titles.asp?txtKeyword=Medical+Problems+of+Performing+Artists+&SF=Titles&id=8684&sid=76148354&LH=&lang.subject=&lang.menu=&cmdSearchSubmit=Search&optPages=1]


Websites

How Do Woodwind Instruments Work? (The University of New South Wales)
[http://www.phys.unsw.edu.au/jw/woodwind.html]
Describes the acoustics behind woodwind instruments.

The Woodwind Fingering Guide
[http://www.wfg.woodwind.org/fing.html]
Provides fingering charts for a variety of traditional and non-traditional woodwind instruments.


Instrumentation Searching

Searching by Instrumentation
You can search the catalog for works of a particular instrumentation. Simply use the "Subject" and "Scores" limiters. See sample terms below.



Subject terms generally follows a pattern, regardless of the instrument. Below are some sample terms that could be used in your search. Just replace the listed instrument(s) with the instrument(s) you want
  • flute music [use this for a solo work, without any accompaniment]
  • sonatas flute
  • flute with piano [use this for solo work with accompaniment
  • flute and guitar music [use this for duets with different instruments]
  • flute music flutes 2 [use this for duets for the same instrument]
  • concertos flute
  • Wind quintets [includes woodwind and brass instruments]
  • Woodwind quintets [includes just woodwind instruments]
To determine other appropriate subject headings, look at the "related subjects" field in the catalog record for an an item with that instrumentation.


Omit all parentheses and dashes before searching. In the above example, you would search for Woodwind ensembles clarinets 12.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Woodwind Music