University of Hartford Libraries

Women in Music Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Cecilia Reclaimed: Feminist Perspectives on Gender and Music
Edited by Susan C. Cook and Judy S. Tsou. Allen Library Stacks [ML82 C660 C]

Cultivating Music in America: Women Patrons and Activists since 1860
Edited by Ralph P. Locke and Cyrilla Barr. Allen Library Stacks [ML82 C85]

Feminine Endings: Music, Gender and Sexuality
By Susan McClary. Allen Library Stacks [ML82 M36 F46]

International Encyclopedia of Women Composers
By Aaron I. Cohen. Allen Library Reference [REF ML105 W87 C 1987]

Keyboard Music by Women Composers
By Joan Meggett. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 P5 M4]

Musical Woman: An International Perspective
By Judith Lang Zaimont. Allen Library Stacks [ML82 M98 Z]

Norton/Grove Dictionary of Women Composers
Edited by Julie Anne Sadie and Rhian Samuels. Allen Library Reference [REF ML105 N67W]

Say Can You Deny Me: A Guide to Surviving Music by Women from the 16th through the 18th Centuries
By Barbara Garvey Jackson. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 W8 J]

She's a Rebel: The History of Women in Rock and Roll
By Gillian G. Gaar. Allen Library Stacks [ML394 G28 S]

Stormy Weather: The Music and Lives of a Century of Jazz Women
By Linda Dahl. Allen Library Stacks [ML82 D13 1989]

Women and Music in Cross-Cultural Perspective
Edited by Ellen Koskoff. Allen Library Stacks [ML82 K67 W65]


Anthologies

Black Women Composers: A Century of Piano Music
Edited by Helen Walker -Hill. Allen Library Stacks [M21 B61]

Contemporary Anthology of Music by Women
Edited by James R. Briscoe. Allen Library Stacks [M1 C65 1997]

New Historical Anthology of Music by Women
Edited by James R. Briscoe. Allen Library Stacks [M2 H57 2004]

Women Composers: Music Through the Ages.
Edited by Martha Furman Schleifer and Sylvia Glickman. Allen Library Stacks [M2 W6 1996]

Women in Music: An Anthology of Source Readings from the Middle Ages to the Present
Edited by Carol Neuls -Bates. Allen Library Stacks [ML82 N48 W]


Bibliographies

Music by Black Women Composers: A Bibliography of Available Scores
By Helen Walker -Hill. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 W8 W35]

Women and Music: A Selective Annotated Bibliography on Women and Gender Issues in Music, 1987 -1992
By Margaret D. Ericson. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 W8 E75]

Women in American Music: a Bibliography of Music and Literature
By Adrienne Fried Block. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 W8 B]

Women in Music: An Encyclopedic Biobibliography
By Donald L. Hixon. Allen Library Reference [REF ML105 W87 H 1993]


Call Numbers

[REF] ML128 W8
Bibliography

ML82
Women musicians

NX180 F4
Feminism and the arts


Periodicals

IAWM Journal (International Alliance for Women in Music)

Women and Music

Women of Note Quarterly


Subject Headings

Feminism and the arts
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:Feminism+and+the+arts]

Feminism and music
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:Feminism+and+music]

Music and society
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:Music+and+society]

Women college teachers
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:Women+college+teachers]

Women composers
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:Women+composers+?fq=collection:BOOK&sort=pubyear%20desc]

Women in music
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:Women+in+music]

Women jazz musicians
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:Women+jazz+musicians]

Women musicians
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:Women+musicians]

Women rock musicians
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:Women+rock+musicians]

Women singers
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:Women+singers]


Websites

General Resources

Arsis Press: Concert Music by Women Composers
[http://www.instantweb.com/~arsis/]
Lists publications and biographical information about many women composers. Includes links to other sites useful to women in music.

Furore
[http://www.furore-verlag.de/]
Catalog of music by women composers. Includes printed music, CDs, books, and news.

Ladyslipper Music
[http://www.ladyslipper.org/]
This site has a comprehensive annotated Catalog & Resource Guide of Music by Women with information about a variety of female musicians, writers, performers, and composers.

Music Theory Examples By Women
[http://www.musictheoryexamplesbywomen.com/]
Database of music by women composers, categorized by theoretical concept. The examples, either excerpts or full works, include the score and a recording.

Women Song Composers
[http://n2t.net/ark:/13030/m5br8stc]
A searchable database that contains 5116 songs by 515 women composers published in the United States and England, ca. 1890-1930, includes titles, poets, publishers, dates, and historical information.


Individual Composers

Clara `96
[http://www.geneva.edu/~dksmith/clara/schumann.html]
Home page for Clara Wieck Schumann. Includes newsletter, biographical information, and list of works.

Hildegard von Bingen
[http://www.hildegard.org/]
Contains online documents of Hildegard von Bingen, including discography, music, and information about Bingen, Germany.


Organizations

International Alliance for Women in Music
[http://www.iawm.org]
Located at Abilene Christian University, this site includes bibliographies, discographies, composer information, concerts, organizations, and other resources about women in music.

Women in Music National Network
[http://www.womeninmusic.org/]
Information about careers, news, events, and professional resources presented by a non-profit organization devoted to recognizing and promoting women in the music industry.


Publishers

ClarNan Editions
[http://www.clarnan.com]
Publisher of historic music by women composers since 1984. Includes CDs.

Hildegard Publishing Company
[http://www.hildegard.com]
Publisher founded in 1988 to promote and preserve the music of women composers of the past and present.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Women in Music