University of Hartford Libraries

Web Search Tools Subject Guide


Databases

Google Book Search (beta)
[http://books.google.com/bkshp?hl=en&tab=sp]
Search full text of books. Display page images of those in the public domain or provided by publishers; summaries of those covered by copyright. Books of interest may also be borrowed by UH students, faculty or staff through InterLibrary Loan.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

PRIMO - Peer Reviewed Instructional Materials Online
[http://acrl.ala.org/IS/instruction-tools-resources-2/pedagogy/primo-peer-reviewed-instruction-materials-online/]
Promotes and shares peer-reviewed instructional materials created by librarians to teach people about discovering, accessing and evaluating information in networked environments.


Websites

Academic Info
[http://www.academicinfo.net/]
Search or browse directory of resources tailored to a college audience.

Alta Vista
[http://altavista.com/]
Far reaching search engine. Select Advanced for powerful search options. Note that you may see up to two "Paid links" at top of search results. These are advertising and may not be the best links.

Ask.com
[http://www.ask.com/]
Ask a question in plain English and be guided toward sources of the answer.

Bare Bones 101 (University of South Carolina, Beaufort)
[http://www.sc.edu/beaufort/library/pages/bones/bones.shtml]
Series of short lessons that provide an excellent tutorial on effective use of search engines.

Beaucoup Search Engines
[http://www.beaucoup.com/]
Links to hundreds of search engines, indexes and directories. Including not only general engines, but search engines focused on subject areas or geographic regions.

Dogpile
[http://www.dogpile.com/]
Huge, meta-search engine that searches the Web via more than a dozen engines. Also can search Usenet and FTP. Provides links to weather, stock quotes, business and other news.

Evaluating Information Found on the Internet (Johns Hopkins University)
[http://guides.library.jhu.edu/c.php?g=202581&p=1334997]
Detailed discussion of issues. Includes links to many related pages.

Excite
[http://www.excite.com]
Offers both the concept-based and keyword-based search.

Finding and Evaluating Websites (University of Hartford Research Tutorial Part 5)
[http://library.hartford.edu/research-tutorial/part-5.aspx]
Part of the University of Hartford Research Tutorial. Brief outline with links to additional sources.

Finding Data on the Internet: A Journalist's Guide
[http://nilesonline.com/data/]
Annotated links to carefully selected sites. Arranged by subject. For journalists, but for anyone seeking a broad range of information.

Finding Information on the Internet: A Tutorial
[http://www.commonspaces.eu/en/oer/finding-information-on-the-internet-a-tutorial-uc/]
What it is, what's there, how to find it, how to evaluate it.

Google
[http://www.google.com/]
Very large, fast search engine with minimal graphics and clearly identified advertising. Relevancy ranking. Note that the system puts an 'and' between words. Phrases must be included in quotation marks.

Google Groups
[https://groups.google.com/forum/#!overview]
Search usenet postings, find groups to post to. Be sure to check facts from postings. Also links to peer ratings of products, shopping, etc.

HotBot
[http://www.hotbot.com]
Search can be limited to provide enhanced precision.

How to evaluate information - Checklist
[http://virtualchase.justia.com/how-evaluate-information-checklist]
Checklist designed for legal professional but useful for anyone. Includes links to useful sites and to examples. Part of The Virtual Chase.

Librarians' Index to the Internet
[http://lii.org]
Search or browse by category through web sites selected by public librarians for quality and accuracy.

Mamma
[http://www.mamma.com/]
Search up to seven search engines simultaneously. Results ranked for relevancy.

Maporama
[http://www.maporama.com/share/]
Street level maps for fifteen European nations as well as the US and most of Canada. Put in an address and go.

Mapquest
[http://www.mapquest.com/]
Maps, driving directions, trip planning, etc.

Open Directory Project
[http://dmoz.org//]
Unique search engine uses volunteers to find, annotate, and categorize web sites. Provides both search and browse features.

Search Engine Showdown
[http://www.searchengineshowdown.com/]
Frequently updated source of news, information, and evaluation of web search engines. See especially the Features Chart, which summarizes features of the major engines and links to reviews.

Searching and Researching on the Internet and the World Wide Web
[http://www.webliminal.com/search/index.html]
Tutorials on finding specific kinds of information online, as well as links to selected sources.

Security Response: Hoaxes (Symantec)
[http://www.symantec.com/avcenter/hoax.html]
Information about Internet hoaxes, most of which are spread as e-mail. Continuously updated alphabetical list.

The Spire Project
[http://spireproject.com/]
Guide to doing research using both the Internet and more traditional tools. "Articles" include links to sources.

Top of the Web: Quick Access
[http://www.december.com/web/top/]
Selected, annotated links to Web sites, arranged in broad categories.

Yahoo
[http://www.yahoo.com/]
Access via keyword searches, or browse by category.

Yippy
[http://yippy.com]
Meta search engine that organizes results into "clusters" which group similar items together.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Web Search Tools