University of Hartford Libraries

Vocal Music Subject Guide


Art Songs

Books

Art Song in the United States, 1759 -1999: An Annotated Bibliography
By Judith E. Carman. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 S6 C28 2001]

The Art Song: a Research and Information Guide
By Douglass Seaton. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 S6 S47]

Chamber Music for Solo Voice and Instruments, 1960 -1989
By Kenneth S. Klaus. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 S6 K53]

Classical Vocal Music in Print
By Thomas R. Nardone and Gary S. Eslinger. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 S6 N & Suppls.]

The Comprehensive Catalogue of Duet Literature for Female Voices
By Marilyn Newman. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 V8 N53]

German Poetry in Song: an Index of Lieder
By Lawrence D. Snyder. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 S6 S57 & Suppl]

Songs in Collections
By Desiree De Charms and Paul Breed. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 S6 D2]

Vocal Chamber Music: a Performer's Guide
By Kay Dunlap. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 V8 D]


Call Numbers

M1528 - M1529.5
Duets, Trios, etc.

M1611 - M1626
Music for solo voice


Subject Headings

Songs

Songs high voice [for soprano and tenor]

Songs low voice [for alto and bass]

Songs medium voice [for alto mezzo and baritone]

Songs with . . .

Songs, english; songs, dutch; etc.


Websites

The LiederNet Archive
[http://www.lieder.net/lieder/]
This page has complete texts for many works and English translations for most of the standard art song repertoire.

UTK Song Index
[http://www.lib.utk.edu/databases/songdb/]
Database providing access to citations for about 50,000 songs in more than 1500 published song anthologies. published song anthologies owned by the George F. DeVine Music Library at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville.

Women Song Composers
[http://n2t.net/ark:/13030/m5br8stc]
A searchable database that contains 5116 songs by 515 women composers published in the United States and England, ca. 1890-1930, includes titles, poets, publishers, dates, and historical information.


Choral Music

Books

American Choral Music Since 1920
By David P. DeVenney. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 C5 D48 A4]

Catalogue of Choral Music Arranged in Biblical Order
By James Laster. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 C5 L3]

Choral Music in the Twentieth Century
By Nick Strimple. Allen Library Stacks [ML1506 S76 C46]

Nineteenth -century American Choral Music
By David P. DeVenney. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 C5 D48 N5]

Secular Choral Music in Print. Supplements and Indexes.
By Mark F. Daugherty, Susan H. Simon, and Thomas R. Nardone. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 C5 D3 & Suppl. & Index]


Call Numbers

[REF] ML128 C5
Indexes - Choral music

M1530 - M1546.5
Choruses with orchestra or other ensemble

M1547 - M1600
Choruses, Part-songs, etc., with keyboard or other solo instrument, or unaccompanied

M1610
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1610?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Cantatas

M2000 - M2007
Oratorios

M2010 - M2014
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M2010%20or%20M2011%20or%20M2012%20or%20M2013%20or%20M2014?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Masses, Requiems

M2010 - M2017.7
Services

M2020 - M2036
Choruses, Cantatas, etc., with orchestra or other ensemble

M2060 - M2101.5
Choruses, Part-songs, etc., with keyboard or other solo instrument, or unaccompanied


Periodicals

American Choral Review

Choral Journal

Voice of Chorus America


Subject Headings

Cantatas

Choruses

Oratorios


Websites

American Choral Directors Association
[http://acda.org/]
Includes festival list, conventions, forums, repertoire and standards, division and chapter information, and publications.

Choral Public Domain Library
[http://www.cpdl.org/wiki/index.php/Main_Page]
Database of 3,550 choral scores, mostly in the public domain, including some translations.

Musica Virtual Choral Library
[http://www.musicanet.org/en/]
A multilingual database of 135,000 entries which can be searched by composer, publisher, author of text, etc.


Diction

Databases

IPA Source
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.ipasource.com/home]
IPA Source is the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. It currently includes about 6000 texts.


Books

German for Singers: A Textbook of Diction and Phonetics
By William Odom and Benno Schollum. Allen Library Reference [REF MT883 O35 G4]

IPA for Singers: A Manual for English and Foreign Language Diction
By Joan Wall. Allen Library Reference [REF MT883 W36 I58]

Russian Songs and Arias: Phonetic Readings, Word-by-Word Translations, and a Concise Guide to Russian Diction
By Jean Piatek. Allen library Reference [REF MT883 P53]

The Singer's Manual of English Diction
By Madeleine Forell Marshall. Allen Library Reference [REF MT883 M36]

The Singer's Manual of German and French Diction
By Richard Garner Cox. Allen Library Reference [REF MT883 C68 S5]

Singers' Italian: a Manual of Diction and Phonetics
By Evelina Colorni. Allen Library Reference [REF MT883 C673]

Singing in Latin: Or Pronunciation Explor'd
By Harold Copeman. Allen Library Stacks [MT883 C66 S55]


Call Numbers

MT883
Diction


Websites

Diction Domain
[http://www.dictiondomain.com]
Candace Magner and Yvonne Dechance provide links to various sources related to all aspects of language and diction for singers. Covers more than a dozen languages.

International Phonetic Association
[https://www.internationalphoneticassociation.org/]
Includes a chart of the International Phonetic Alphabet; downloadable audio files; information about examinations, conferences, and news; and links to related sites.


General Resources

Periodicals

Classical Singer

International Musician
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/titles.asp?txtKeyword=International+Musician+&SF=Titles&id=8684&sid=76148354&LH=&lang.subject=&lang.menu=&cmdSearchSubmit=Search&optPages=1]

Journal of Singing

Performance Practice Review

Sing Out!


Subject Headings

Vocal music

Voice


Websites

Classical Vocal Repertoire
[http://www.classicalvocalreprints.com/index.php]
Music vendor specializing in vocal music.

Stage Agent
[http://www.stageagent.com/]
This site offers national coverage for show synopses and castings, current production listings, audition and callback announcements, classified ads, and a bulletin board.


Opera

Books

A Dictionary of Opera and Song Themes
By Harold Barlow and Sam Morgenstern. Allen Library Reference [REF ML110 B25 O]

Guide to Operatic Roles and Arias
By Richard Boldrey. Allen Library Reference [REF ML102 O6 B650 1994]

New Grove Dictionary of Opera. 4 vols.
By Stanley Sadie. Allen Library Reserves [PERM RES ML102 O6 N] Also available online.

New Kobbes Complete Opera Book
By Gustav Kobbé and George Henry Hubert Lascelles, Earl of Harwood. Allen Library Reference [ML102 O6 K 1976]

Operas in One Act: a Production Guide
By W. Franklin Summers. Allen Library Reference [REF MT955 S86 O6]

Simon and Schuster Book of the Opera
By Riccardo Mezzanotte. Allen Library Reference [REF ML102 O6 S]


Call Numbers

[REF] ML102 O6
Opera dictionaries

[REF] ML128 O61 S6 V8
Indexes - Opera arias and Songs

M1500
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1500?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
With original accompaniment

M1503
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1503?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
With arranged accompaniment, e.g., Vocal scores

ML1700
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/ML1700?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
History of opera

MT95 - MT100
Stories and Plots, etc.


Libretti Online

EMI Classics: Home of the Opera
This site is down as of August 2015. Warner Classics absorbed EMI Classics and may not be maintaining this site. Libretti online (PDF) in the original language and (the majority) in English translation. Register your name and email first.

Libretti online at the Internet Archive
[http://archive.org/details/texts]
Search for the desired composer and/or opera and find digitized versions of pre-1923 libretti from the Met, etc.

Public-Domain Opera Libretti and Other Vocal Texts
[http://opera.stanford.edu/iu/librettim.html]
In the original language only.


Periodicals

NY Opera Newsletter

Opera News

Opera Quarterly

Opera Today


Subject Headings

Opera (use for books)

Operas (use for scores and recordings)


Websites

Aria Database
[http://www.aria-database.com/]
Designed for singers and nonsingers alike, the database includes translations and texts of over 1000 arias and a collection of MIDI files of operatic arias.

New York City Opera Company
[http://www.nycopera.com/]
The home page for the New York City Opera consists of synopses of current productions, information on composers, links to other opera and the performing arts sites, and performance schedules.

Opera America
[http://www.operaamerica.org/]
A resource for singers who wish to pursue a career in opera that includes performance schedules; conference, competition, and fellowship information; advocacy programs; etc.

Operabase
[http://www.operabase.com/index.cgi?lang=en]
Operabase is a searchable database that provides monthly performance data on 500 international opera houses as well as full text reviews and TV/radio broadcast schedules.

OperaGlass
[http://opera.stanford.edu/]
Contains several links to opera pages with information about composers, librettists, operas, opera companies, reviews, and calendars.


Sacred Music

Books

Sacred Choral Music in Print. Supplements and Indexes.
By Gary S. Eslinger and Mark F. Daugherty. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 C5 E & Suppl. & Index]


Call Numbers

M2018 - M2019.5
Duets, Trios, etc.

M2102 - M2114.8
Music for solo voice

M2115 - M2146
Hymnals


Subject Headings

Church music

Sacred vocal music

Synagogue music


Vocal Training

Books

Everyday Voice Care: The Lifestyle Guide for Singers and Talkers
By Joanna Cazden. Allen Library Stacks [MT821 C38]

Library Resources for Singers, Coaches, and Accompanists
By Ruthann Bowles McTyre. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 V7 M45 1998]

Singing in Style: a Guide to Vocal Performance Practices
By Marsha Elliott. Allen Library Stacks [MT892 E44 S5]


Websites

National Association of Teachers of Singing
[http://www.nats.org/]
The home page for NATS with information about the organization, workshops, conventions, publications, and links to music sites.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Vocal Music