University of Hartford Libraries

Video Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

African Americans in the Visual Arts
Mortensen Library Reference N6538.N5 O86 2003

Career Opportunities in Art
Mortensen Library Reference N6505 .H35 2001

Career Opportunities in the Film Industry
Career Services Shelves [PN1995.9.P75 Y34 2009]

Myths & Legends
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ngmyths]
Myths and legends, with their fantastical settings and parade of exotic creatures and beautiful immortals, have inspired some of the most popular works in the National Gallery Collection.

National Directory of Arts Internships
Allen Library Permanent Reserves [NX280 N3 2008]


Dictionaries

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art (Part of Oxford Art Online)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.oxfordartonline.com/subscriber]
Search Oxford Art Online or check box for Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and search Dictionary only

The Dictionary of Art
Mortensen Library Reference N31 .D5 1996

A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art
Formerly Dictionary of Twentieth Century Art in Mortensen Library Reference N6490 .C5317 2009

A Dictionary of Modern Design
Mortensen Library Reference NK1165 .W66 2004

The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/that]
Covers painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, the decorative, applied and graphic arts from all periods throughout the world up to the present day.


Encyclopedias

The Design Encyclopedia
Mortensen Library Reference NK1370 .B93 1994

The Thames and Hudson Encyclopaedia of 20th Century Design and Designers
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/thdesign]
A comprehensive guide to international developments in graphic design.

The Thames and Hudson Encyclopaedia of Graphic Design and Designers
Mortensen Library Reference NC997 .L54 1998


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Art Index and the Art Index Retrospective
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aai,air]
Years Covered: 1929-
Indexing of articles from over 270 international art publications. Provides users with Art Literature, covering fine, decorative and commercial art. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.

ArtBibliographies Modern
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/artbibliographies/advanced?accountid=11308]
Years Covered: 1960-Present
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.

ARTstor
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://library.artstor.org/]
Searchable database of over 300,000 images from museums around the world, and covering a wide range of cultures and time periods. New material added frequently. Requires Java and Flash. Cookies and popups must be enabled. See Quick Start Guide for technical information and basic searching guidance. Disable Pop Up Blocker before opening. Mac users must have OS 10.3 and use Firefox browser.

FedFlix (US Government produced Film Database)
[http://www.archive.org/details/FedFlix]
Featuring the best movies of the United States Government, from training films to history, from our national parks to the U.S. Fire Academy and the Postal Inspectors, all of these fine films are available for reuse without any restrictions whatsoever.

Film & Television Literature Index
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=fah]
Bibliographic database covering all aspects of film and television theory, preservation, writing, production, technical aspects, and reviews. Abstracts with selected full text.

Film Literature Index
[http://webapp1.dlib.indiana.edu/fli/advancedSearch.jsp]
Years Covered: 1976-2001
Annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television (coverage from 1976-2001).

Google Art Project
[http://www.googleartproject.com/]
Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

GroveArt (Now Oxford Art Online)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.oxfordartonline.com]
Artists' biographies, essays on all cultures, civilizations, and art movements; articles on conservation and theory. A 720,000 item index includes all the visual arts with the exception of film. Links to related web resources and images. Full text available.

Humanities Abstracts
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=hma]
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology

Oxford Art Online
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.oxfordartonline.com]
Artists' biographies, essays on all cultures, civilizations, and art movements; articles on conservation and theory. A 720,000 item index includes all the visual arts with the exception of film. Links to related web resources and images. Full text available.


Websites

American Memory Collections: Motion Pictures (Library of Congress)
[https://www.loc.gov/rr/mopic/ndlmps.html]
Background information, essays, stills, biographies and bibliographies for each. Plug-in needed to view full movie.

Designinform Research Guides
[http://www.designinform.co.uk/researchguides.htm]
Links to websites in all types of design, architecture and art forms.

Fifty Years of Coca-Cola Television Advertisements
[http://www.loc.gov/teachers/classroommaterials/connections/cocacola-ads/]
Highlights of a collection donated to the Library of Congress. Representative ads from the 1950s through 1990s including international.

The Online Communicator
[http://www.online-communicator.com/toppage.html]
Annotated collections of links to practical information on film, video, audio, multimedia, writing for the media,etc.

PhotoDisc: Royalty Free Stock Photography
[http://creative.gettyimages.com/source/frontdoor/DefaultRFImages.aspx?brandID=2]
Image database. Basic or Power (Boolean or natural language) search by keyword or concepts. Thumbnail images can be saved, enlarged, purchased. Uses Virage technology to find visual matches by color, composition, texture, etc.

Television Production: A Comprehensive On-line Cybertext in Studio and Field Production
[http://www.cybercollege.com/tvp_ind.htm]
Online textbook of over 70 modules covering all aspects of television production.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Video