University of Hartford Libraries

Translations for Singers Subject Guide


Collections by Language

French Texts

French Opera Libretti
By Nico Castel. Allen Library Reference [REF ML48 F74]
Includes International Phonetic Alphabet transcriptions.

A French Song Companion
By Graham Johnson. Allen Library Reference [REF ML54.6 J64 F74]

The Interpretation of French Song
By Pierre Bernac. Allen Library [MT835 B51 G]

Masters of the French Art Song: Translations of the Complete Songs of Chausson, Debussy, Duparc, Fauré & Ravel
By Timothy LeVan. Allen Library Reference [REF ML54.6 M37 L4 F7]

Translations and Annotations of Choral Repertoire, v. 3
By Gordon Paine. Allen Library Reference [REF ML53.8 J44 T73 v.3]


German Texts

The Fischer-Dieskau Book of Lieder: The Original Texts of Over 750 Songs . . . with English Translations
By Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau. Allen Library Reference [REF ML54.6 F52]

German Lieder
By Philip Lieson Miller. Allen Library Reference [REF ML54.6 G475]

German Miscellaneous Opera Libretti
By Nico Castel. Allen Library Reference [REF ML48 G475]
Includes International Phonetic Alphabet transcriptions. Contents: Der fliegende Holländer / Wagner -- Lohengrin / Wagner -- Tannhäuser / Wagner -- Die lustigen Weiber von Windsor / Nicolai -- Fidelio / Beethoven -- Der Freischütz / von Weber -- Hänsel und Gretel / Humperdinck.

Lieder Line by Line and Word for Word
By Lois Phillips. Allen Library Reference [REF ML54.6 P52 L5]
Includes Beethoven, Brahms, Mahler, Schubert, Schumann, R. Strauss, Wagner, and Wolf.

The Penguin Book of Lieder
By S.S. Prawer. Allen Library [ML54.6 P91]

Ten Cycles of Lieder
By Marie Therese Paquin. Allen Library [ML54.6 D61]
Includes literal and poetic translations of select lieder by Beethoven, Brahms, Mahler, Schubert, and Schumann.

Translations and Annotations of Choral Repertoire, v. 2
By Ron Jeffers. Allen Library Reference [REF ML53.8 J44 T73]


Hebrew Texts

Translations and Annotations of Choral Repertoire, v. 4
By Ethan Nash and Joshua Jacobson. Allen Library Reference [REF ML53.8 J44 T73 v.4]


Italian Texts

Italian Art Song
By Ruth Lakeway. Allen Library [ML2533 L35 I82]

Italian Belcanto Opera Libretti
By Nico Castel. Allen Library Reference [REF ML48 I8 C3]
Includes International Phonetic Alphabet transcriptions.

Italian Song Texts from the 17th Century
By Martha Gerhart. Allen Library Reference [REF ML54.6 I82 G47]
Includes IPA, word-for-word, and idiomatic translations.

Masters of the Italian Art Song: Word-by-Word and Poetic Translations of the Complete Songs for Voice and Piano
By Timothy LeVan. Allen Library Reference [REF ML54.6 M37 L4 I8]
Includes Bellini, Donaudy, Donizetti, Puccini, Rossini, Tosti, and Verdi.

Translations and Annotations of Choral Repertoire, v. 3
By Gordon Paine. Allen Library Reference [REF ML53.8 J44 T73 v.3]

Verismo Opera Libretti
By Nico Castel. Allen Library Reference [REF ML48 I813]


Latin Texts

Translations and Annotations of Choral Repertoire, v. 1
By Ron Jeffers. Allen Library Reference [REF ML53.8 J44 T73]


Russian Texts

Libretti of Russian Operas
By Anton Blov et al. Allen Library Reference [REF ML48 R877 v.1]
With international phonetic alphabet transcriptions and word-for-word translations. Contents: Russlan and Ludmila / Nikolai Glinka. Boris Godunov / Modest Mussorgsky. Eugene Onegin ; The queen of spades / Piotr Tchaikovsky. Aleko / Sergey Rachmaninoff. The golden cockerel / Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov.

Russian Songs & Arias: Phonetic Readings, Word-by-Word Translations, and a Concise Guide to Russian Diction
By Jean Piatak. Allen Library Reference [REF MT883 P53]


Spanish Texts

Spanish Song Companion
By Jacqueline Cockburn and Richard Stokes. Allen Library Reference [REF ML54.6 S76]


Texts in Various Languages

Books

An Interpretive Guide To Operatic Arias
By Martial Singher. Allen Library [ML102 O6 A5]
Contains translations of many standard arias.

Phonetic Readings of Songs and Arias
By Berton Coffin. Allen Library Reference [REF MT883 C67]
Includes texts for over four hundred songs in Italian, German, and French, with International Phonetic Alphabet transcriptions.

The Ring of Words: An Anthology of Song Texts
By Philip L. Miller. Allen Library [ML54.6 M64]
German, French, Italian, Russian, Scandinavian, and Spanish texts. Over 200 composers.

Word-by-Word Translations of Songs and Arias
By Berton Coffin. Allen Library Reference [REF ML54.6 W92]
Vol. 1 covers selected German and French texts, including works by Bach, Beethoven, Bizet, Brahms, Charpentier, Chausson, Debussy, Delibes, Duparc, Faure, Franck, Gounod, Grieg, Handel, Liszt, Mahler, Massenet, Mendelssohn, Mozart, Schubert, Schumann, R.Strauss, Wagner, Wolf, and many others.

Vol. 2 includes Italian texts used by Bach, Beethoven, Bellini, Caccini, Cherubini, Donizetti, Gluck, Handel, Haydn, Monteverdi, Mozart, Pergolesi, Puccini, Rossini, Scarlatti, Schubert, Verdi, Vivaldi, and many others.


Databases

IPA Source
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.ipasource.com/home]
IPA Source is the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. It currently includes about 6000 texts.


Websites

The Aria Database
[http://www.aria-database.com]
Provides translations for arias, as well as range, tessitura, setting, synopsis, and more.

The LiederNet Archive
[http://www.lieder.net/lieder/]
Archive of over 140,000 texts used in lieder and other classical art songs as well as in choral works and other types of classical vocal works. Search by composer, poet, first line, title, or year.


Single Composer Texts

Bach, J.S.

The Bach Chorale Texts in English Translation, with annotations showing the use of the melodies elsewhere by Bach in his vocal and organ works, and a musical index to the melodies
By Henry S. Drinker. Allen Library [ML53.8 B11 D7]

Handbook to Bach's Sacred Cantata Texts: An Interlinear Translation with Reference Guide to Biblical Quotations and Allusions
By Melvin Unger. Allen Library Reference [REF ML54 B11 H35]

Texts of the Choral Works of Johann Sebastian Bach in English translation
By Henry S. Drinker. Allen Library [ML53.8 B11 D7 T4]

The Texts to Johann Sebastian Bach's Church Cantatas
By Z. Philip Ambrose. Allen Library Reference [ML54 B11]


Brahms

Brahms' Complete Song Texts. . . Containing Solo Songs, Duets, Liebeslieder waltzes (both sets), the Alto Rhapsody, Folk Song Arrangements
By Beaumont Glass. Allen Library Reference [REF ML54.6 B81 G5]

Brahms's Vocal Duets and Quartets with Piano: A Guide with Full Texts and Translations
By Lucien Stark. Allen Library [MT115 B81 S7]

A Guide to the Solo Songs of Johannes Brahms
By Lucien Stark. Allen Library [MT115 B81 S]

Texts of the Vocal Works of Johannes Brahms in English Translation
By Henry S. Drinker. Allen Library [ML54.6 B81 D7]


Debussy

The Poetic Debussy: A Collection of His Song Texts and Selected Letters
By Margaret G. Cobb. Allen Library [ML410 D28 C]


Faure

Interpreting the Songs of Gabriel Faure
By Robert Gartside. Allen Library [MT120 F26 G3]
Includes translations, phonetic readings, and comments on style.


Handel

Handel opera libretti
By Nico Castel. Allen Library Reference [REF ML49 H23 C6]
Includes International Phonetic Alphabet transcriptions. Rodelinda, Alcina, Agrippina, Giulio Cesare, Rinaldo, and Ottone.


Mozart

The Libretti of Mozart's Completed Operas (in two volumes)
By Nico Castel. Allen Library Reference [REF ML49 M93 C6]
Includes International Phonetic Alphabet transcriptions.

The Libretti of Mozart's Completed Operas (in two volumes)
By Nico Castel. Allen Library Reference [REF ML49 M93 C6]
Includes International Phonetic Alphabet transcriptions.


Mussorgsky

English Texts for the Songs of Modeste Moussorgsky
By Henry S. Drinker. Allen Library [ML49 M98]


Pfitzner

The Songs of Hans Pfitzner
By Richard Mercier. Allen Library [ML410 P52 M4]


Puccini

The Complete Puccini Libretti
By Nico Castel. Allen Library Reference [REF ML49 P97 C6]
Includes International Phonetic Alphabet transcriptions.


Rachmaninoff

Rachmaninov's complete song texts : Russian texts of the complete songs of Sergei Vasilyevich Rachmaninov /
By Laurence R. Richter. Allen Library Reference [REF ML54.6 R11 R11]


Ravel

Interpreting the songs of Maurice Ravel
By Robert Gartside. Allen Library [MT120 R25 G3]


Rodrigo

A singer's guide to the songs of Joaquín Rodrigo
By Suzanne R. Draayer. Allen Library Reference [REF ML54.6 R69 D73]
Includes International Phonetic Alphabet transcriptions.


Schubert

A companion to Schubert's Schwanengesang : history, poets, analysis, performance
By Martin Chusid. Allen Library [ML410 S38 C48]

The Schubert Song Companion
By John Reed. Allen Library Reference [REF ML134 S38 R]

Schubert: The Complete Song Texts. Texts of the Lieder and Italian Songs with English Translations
By Richard Wigmore. Allen Library [ML54.6 S38 S6]

Schubert's Complete Song Texts: With International Phonetic Alphabet Transcriptions, Word for Word Translations and Commentary
By Beaumont Glass. Allen Library Reference [REF ML54.6 S38 G5]

Texts of the Solo Songs of Franz Schubert in English Translation
By Henry S. Drinker. Allen Library [ML54.6 S38 D7]
Vol. 2 includes songs in the Breitkopf and Hartel, and not in the Peters Edition and part songs.


Schumann

Schumann's Complete Song Texts
By Beaumont Glass. Allen Library Reference [REF ML54.6 S39 S66]
Includes those not published during the composer's lifetime, duets, trios, quartets

The Songs of Robert Schumann
By Eric Sams. Allen Library [MT121 S39 S1 1993]
Date, translation, commentary, and notes for 246 songs (Peters edition), arranged in order of composition.


Strauss, R.

Four Strauss Opera Libretti
By Nico Castel. Allen Library Reference [REF ML49 S912 F6]
Includes International Phonetic Alphabet transcriptions. Der Rosenkavalier, Elektra, Salome, and Ariadne auf Naxos.

Richard Strauss' Complete Song Texts
By Beaumont Glass. Allen Library Reference [REF ML54.6 S912 G4]


Tchaikovsky

Tchaikovsky's Complete Songs: A Companion with Texts and Translations
By Richard D. Sylvester. Allen Library Reference [REF ML54.6 C43 S66]


Verdi

The Complete Verdi Libretti
By Nico Castel. Allen Library Reference [REF ML49 V48 C3]
Includes International Phonetic Alphabet transcriptions.


Wolf

Hugo Wolf's Complete Song Texts
By Beaumont Glass. Allen Library Reference [REF ML54.6 W85 G53]


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Translations for Singers