University of Hartford Libraries

Theatre Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Acting with an Accent
By David Stern. Allen Library A/V [MX PE1712 S77]

Cambridge Guide to Theatre
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/cupthea?institutionId=4005]
Information on the history and present practice of theatre in all parts of the world. Also available in print: Mortensen Library Reference [PN2035 .C27 1995]

The Cambridge History of American Theatre. Ed. by Don B. Wilmeth and Christopher Bigsby. Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press, 1998-.
Mortensen Library Shelves [PN2221 C37 1998]

Continuum Companion to Twentieth Century Theatre
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&scope=site&db=nlebk&db=nlabk&AN=243055]
Coverage includes individuals--performers, playwrights, directors, designers, choreographers, composers--theater companies, countries, trends and genres.

Dictionary of Shakespeare
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/pcpdshakes]
A comprehensive dictionary that covers the plays, poems, characters and background to Shakespeare's works.

Humanities Index. [New York:] H.W.Wilson Co., 1974-. v.1-.
Mortensen Library Reference [Index/Absts.] AI3 .H8 (1974 - 2009)

Regional Theatre Directory
By Jill Charles. Allen Library Reference [REF PN2289 R44 2001]

Shakespeare for Students
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9781414429373&contentSegment=9781414429373]
Each entry includes an introduction; a plot synopsis; a character list; a discussion of the work's principal themes; information about the style and literary devices used; a conversation about the work's historical context; and a critical overview.


Biographies

African American Women Playwrights: A Research Guide
Mortensen Library Reference [PS153.N5 G29 1999]

Ancient Writers: Greece and Rome. T. James Luce, editor-in-chief. 2 vols. New York: Scribners, 1982.
Mortensen Library Reference [REF PA3002 A5 1982]

Performing Arts Biography Master Index
By Barbara McNeil and Miranda C. Herbert. Allen Library Reference [REF PN1583 M37 1981]


Career Help

Career Opportunities in the Fashion Industry
Career Services Shelves [TT507 .V63 2007] and Mortensen Library Reference [TT507 .V63 2002]

Career Opportunities in the Film Industry
Career Services Shelves [PN1995.9.P75 Y34 2009]

Creative Careers in Fashion: 30 Ways to Make a Living in the World of Couture
Career Services Shelves [TT507 .H243 2007]

Great Jobs for Theater Majors
Mortensen Library Reference [PN2074 .G66 2005]

Resumes for Performing Arts Careers
Career Services Shelves [PN1580 .R47 2004]


Costume Resources

Contemporary Fashion, ed. Richard Martin. New York: St. James Press, 1995.
Mortensen Library Reference [REF TT505 A1 C66 1995]

Costume Design: Techniques of Modern Masters
Mortensen Library Shelves [TT507 .P39 1999]

Costume Index: a Subject Index to Plates and to Illustrated Text
Allen Library Reference [Z5691 M75]

Costumes for the Stage: a Complete Handbook for Every Kind of Play
Mortensen Library Shelves [PN2067 .J28 2001]

Handbook of Stage Costume
Mortensen Library Shelves [PN2067 .B53 2006]

A Pictorial History of Costume: a Survey of Costume of all Periods and Peoples from Antiquity to Modern Times Including National Costume in Europe and Non-European Countries
Mortensen Library Reference [GT513 .B763 1973]

The Visual History of Costume Accessories
Mortensen Library Shelves [GT2050 .C86 1998]

What People Wore: a Visual History of Dress from Ancient Times to Twentieth-century America
Mortensen Library Oversized [GT513 .G6]


Criticism and Reviews

Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism. Detroit: Gale Research Co., c1988-.
Now online in the Literature Resource Center. Also available in print: Mortensen Library Reference [REF PN610 C53 v.1-107]

Contemporary Literature Criticism. Detroit: Gale Research Co., 1973-.
Now online in the Literature Criticism Online database. Also available in print: Mortensen Library Reference [REF PN771 R53 v.1-178]

Rollyson, Carl, ed. Critical Survey of Drama. 2nd rev. ed. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, c2003.
Mortensen Library Reference [REF PN 1625 C68 2003]

Literary Criticism from 1400 to 1800. Detroit: Gale Research Co., c1984-.
Now online in the Literature Criticism Online database. Also available in print: Mortensen Library Reference [REF PN86 L53 v.1-159]

Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism. Detroit: Gale Research Co., 1978-.
Now online in the Literature Criticism Online database. Also available in print: Mortensen Library Reference [REF PN771 G27 v.1-213]


Dictionaries

The American Heritage Abbreviations Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/hmabbr?institutionId=4005]
Definition for abbreviations across disciplines.

Consumer's Dictionary of Cosmetic Ingredients: Complete Information About the Harmful and Desirable Ingredients Found in Cosmetics and Cosmeceuticals
Mortensen Library Reference [TP983.A55 W57 2005]

Costume Language: a Dictionary of Dress Terms
Mortensen Library Reference [GT507 .D38 1994]

Fashion, Costume and Culture, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear Through the Ages
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3425599999&q=a23uh]
Provides a broad overview of costume traditions of diverse cultures from prehistoric times to the present day.

OED Online (Oxford English Dictionary)
Search the definitive dictionary of the English language, complete and continuously updated. Provides definitions, etymology, and history of usage with examples over time. UofH users only. Full text. Click "Check Status" for access.

Shakespeare's Theatre: A Dictionary of His Stage Context
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/contst?institutionId=4005]
Coverage includes the practices of Elizabethan actors and script writers: methods of characterization; gesture, blocking and choreography, including music, dance and fighting; actors' rhetorical interaction with audiences; and use of costumes, stage props, and make-up.


Encyclopedias

Canadian Theatre Encyclopedia
[http://www.canadiantheatre.com/]
Information on plays, playwrights and theatre practitioners.

Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?sol=0684314517&locID=a23uh&ci1=TI&cb2=AND&ste=3&n=10&cb1=AND&ci3=FT&ci2=KE]
Design and style of fashion and clothing throughout history.

Encyclopedia of Postmodernism
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routpostm?institutionId=4005]
Comprehensive and authoritative coverage of academic disciplines, critical terms and central figures relating to the vast field of postmodern studies.

Briggs, Jody. Encyclopedia of Stage Lighting. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Co., 2003.
Mortensen Library Reference [REF PN2091 E4 B66 2003]

Yarwood, Doreen. The Encyclopedia of World Costume. New York: Scribner, 1978.
Mortensen Library Reference [GT507 Y37]

McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama. Stanley Hochman, ed. New York: McGraw Hill, c1984.
Mortensen Library Reference [REF PN1625 M3 1984]

Bordman, Gerald Martin. The Oxford Companion to American Theatre. 2d ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1992.
Mortensen Library Shelves [PN2220 B6 1992]


Indexes to Plays

Heniford, Lewis W. 1/2/3/4 for the Show: a guide to small-cast one-act plays. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 1995-1999.
Mortensen Library Shelves [Z5781 H46 1995]

Ottemiller, John H. Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections. Rev. by Billie M. Connor and Helene G. Mochedlover. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, c1988.
Mortensen Library Reference [REF Z5781 O8 1988]

Play Index. New York: H. W. Wilson Co., 1949/52 2002.
Mortensen Library Reference [REF Z5781 P72]


Plot Outlines and Characters

Shank, Theodore, ed. A Digest of 500 Plays; plot outlines and production notes. New York: Collier Books [1966, c1963].
Mortensen Library Reference [REF PN6112.5 S52 1966]

Drury, Francis K. W. Drury's Guide to Best Plays. 3d ed. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1978.
Mortensen Library Shelves [Z5781 D8 1978]

Magill, Frank N. Masterplots. New York & Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 1971.
Mortensen Library Reference [REF PN44 M33 1971 v.1-18]


Call Numbers

General Resources

PA
Classical Languages and Literatures

PJ
Oriental Philology

PN
General Literature

PQ
Romance Literatures

PR, PS
English and American Literature

PT
Germanic Literatures


Specific Topics

PN2091 .E4
Stage Lighting

PN2091 .M3
Stage Rigging


Databases

General Resources

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://find.galegroup.com/gvrl/start.do?prodID=GVRL&userGroupName=a23uh]
Search the tables of contents or full text of selected reference books in business, education, the environment, medicine biology, and the social sciences.

Humanities Abstracts
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=hma]
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology

JSTOR Arts and Sciences
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.jstor.org]
Searchable full text of articles from selected scholarly journals in fields including area studies, anthropology, ecology, economics, education, history, language and literature, mathematics, philosophy, political sciences, sociology and statistics. No current issues available. Historical coverage varies, but database includes some titles from before 1950.

OED Online (Oxford English Dictionary)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oed.com]
Search the definitive dictionary of the English language, complete and continuously updated. Provides definitions, etymology, and history of usage with examples over time. UofH users only. Full text.


Film Resources

FedFlix (US Government produced Film Database)
[http://www.archive.org/details/FedFlix]
Featuring the best movies of the United States Government, from training films to history, from our national parks to the U.S. Fire Academy and the Postal Inspectors, all of these fine films are available for reuse without any restrictions whatsoever.

Film & Television Literature Index
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=fah]
Bibliographic database covering all aspects of film and television theory, preservation, writing, production, technical aspects, and reviews. Abstracts with selected full text.

Film Literature Index
[http://webapp1.dlib.indiana.edu/fli/advancedSearch.jsp]
Years Covered: 1976-2001
Annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television (coverage from 1976-2001).


Literature Resources

Dictionary of Literary Biography
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/dispBasicSearch.do?prodId=DLBC&userGroupName=a23uh]
Lengthy, full text biographical and critical essays on world literary figures from all eras and genres. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to close when finished searching.

Essay & General Literature Index with Retrospective
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=egr,egi]
Years Covered: 1900-
Essay & General Literature offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.

Literature Criticism Online
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/LitCrit?locID=a23uh]
Extensive compilation of literary commentary available.

Literature Resource Center
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/a23uh?db=LitRC]
Biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of more than 90,000 authors, poets, journalists and other writers. Search by name, title, genre, literary movement or literary theme. Provides access to essays in the literary themes. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Selected full text available.

MLA Bibliography
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/mlaib?accountid=11308]
International index of books and journals. Covers modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. For information about the periodicals included, consult the MLA Directory of Periodicals.

World Shakespeare Bibliography
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.worldshakesbib.org/]
Annotated bibliography of scholarly and popular materials on Shakespeare.


Music Resources

Classical Music Library
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.alexanderstreet.com/clmu]
Listen online in this audio database that contains over 4,000 albums of classical music from medieval to contemporary music. UH access only.

DRAM
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://proxy.dramonline.org]
Listen online in this audio database that contains over 2,000 albums by American composers and artists, from folk to opera, Native American to jazz, nineteenth-century classical to early rock, music theater, and contemporary music. It includes the complete catalog of New World Records; repertoire from CRI , Albany Records, Innova Recordings; and liner notes and essays from these labels. UH access only.

Music Index Online
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=mah]
Years Covered: 1973-Present
Identifies articles in over 700 music journals. Covers classical, jazz, popular, folk, and world music, including musicology, ethnomusicology, theory, applied and professional topics, music education, music industry, and reviews. Allen Library also has printed volumes: 1949-1998, [Ref] ML113 M9. UH access only.

RILM
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=rih]
Years Covered: 1967-Present
RILM (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale) describes scholarly writings on music and related disciplines, including dance. Includes citations and abstracts for journal articles, essays, Festschriften, dissertations, books, scholarly reviews, etc. International coverage, including non-English languages. The Allen Library also has printed volumes from 1967-1994.


Newspapers

Historical New York Times
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/hnpnewyorktimes/news/fromDatabasesLayer?accountid=11308]
Full images of the complete New York Times from 1851 to 2002. Search by keyword, by date, etc. Images of specific articles or full pages available..

ProQuest Newspapers
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/news/advanced?accountid=11308]
Search the text of major newspapers including the Boston Globe (1980- ), Christian Science Monitor (1990- ), Hartford Courant (1992- ), Los Angeles Times (1985- ), New York Times (1999- ), including the Book Review and Magazine), Wall Street Journal Eastern Edition (1984- ), and Washington Post (1987- ). Full text available.


Periodicals

Aisle Say

American Drama
[http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?issn=1061-0057&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=JIourl&p=LitRC&sw=w&authCount=1]
Online (2002-2007)

American Theatre
[http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?issn=8750-3255&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=JIourl&p=LitRC&sw=w]
Online (1992-present); Mortensen Library Periodicals PN2000 .A437 (1985-1996)

Applied Theatre Researcher

Back Stage
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&bquery=(back+AND+stage)&type=44&site=pfi-live]

Canadian Theatre Review

Comparative Drama

CurtainUp

Drama

Dramatics

International Journal of Arts Management
Online | Print:

Modern Drama

Modern International Drama

New Theatre Quarterly

New York Times Theater Reviews

Performing Arts Journal (print)

Performing Arts Review

Playbill Online

Renaissance Drama

Shakespeare Quarterly

TDR: The Drama Review

Theatre (Yale School of Drama)

Theatre History Studies

Theatre Journal

Theatre Research International

Theatre Topics

Variety
Online | Print:


Subject Headings

Acting
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:Acting]

Ballet
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:Ballet]

Clothing and dress
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:Clothing+and+dress]

Comedy
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:Comedy]

Costume
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:Costume]

Dialogue
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:Dialogue]

Drama
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:Drama]

English [French, etc.] drama

Fashion
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:Fashion]

Make-up
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:Make-up]

Method acting
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:method+acting]

Monologue
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:Monologue]

Movement acting
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:movement+acting]

One-act plays
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:one-act+plays]

Performing arts
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:performing+arts]

Stage
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:Stage]

Stage lighting
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:stage+lighting]

Stage management
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:stage+management]

Theater
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:Theater]

Theaters
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:Theaters]


Websites

General Resources

Arts Management & Technology Laboratory (AMT Lab @ CMU)
[http://amt-lab.org/]
Information on the use of technology in arts management. Formerly called Technology in the Arts.

American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
[https://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html]
Superb collection of American historical links, plus prints, photographic images, and other excellent graphics.

Broadway.com (formerly Broadway Theater Online)
[http://www.broadway.com/]
Lists current productions on and off Broadway as well as a history of Broadway.

Costume Page
[http://www.costumepage.org/]
A comprehensive index of costume and costuming-related links. There are well over 2,000 unique links listed on these pages.

Fashion-Era
[http://www.fashion-era.com/]
Contains 750 content rich, illustrated pages of Fashion History, Costume History, Clothing, Fashions and Social History.

Internet Broadway Database
[http://www.ibdb.com/]
This site provides information about past and current Broadway shows, including cast listings for multiple productions of the same show. Based primarily on theater programs as well as media reports and interviews.

Labyrinth (Georgetown University)
[http://labyrinth.georgetown.edu/]
Indispensable guide to the Medieval world online, with extensive links to texts, images, and archival databases. A truly extraordinary resource.

Literary Resources on the Net (Rutgers University)
[http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/%7Ejlynch/Lit/]
All periods and genres of English and American literature; links to texts, bibliographies, scholarly articles and more.

Music Theatre International
[http://www.mtishows.com/]
Website of a major licensing company which provides information and links to many theatrical resources: licensing and production information, study guides, scores, musicals database, etc.

The Online Communicator
[http://www.online-communicator.com/toppage.html]
Annotated collections of links to practical information on film, video, audio, multimedia, writing for the media,etc.

WWW Virtual Library for Theatre and Drama
[http://vl-theatre.com/]
From the World Wide Web Virtual Library, this site includes links to theatre companies and festivals, image collections, studies, and archival texts.


Career Guides

Career Guides
[http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guide.asp?subject=Career%20Exploration]
This lengthy list of web sites includes those with information about searching for a job and sites listing available jobs in all fields. Maintained by Mortensen Library.

Current Jobs for Graduates
[http://www.graduatejobs.com/]
National employment bulletin. Updated monthly. UH access only.

Current Jobs in Performing Arts
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.graduatejobs.com]
National employment bulletin for the performing arts professions. Updated monthly. UH access only.

NYFA Classifieds
[https://www.nyfa.org/Classifieds]
This New York Foundation for the Arts site lists Jobs in the Arts and Opportunities for Artists.

WESTAF ArtJob
[http://www.artjob.com/]
A fee-for-service of the Western States Arts Federation, ArtJob lists full- and part-time employment, internships, grants, public art projects, residencies which can be searched by region, art discipline, type of organization, etc.


Comprehensive Sites

Alliance of Artists Community
[http://www.artistcommunities.org/]
Service organization for the field of artists' communities. Lists residences in the performing and media arts and opportunities for interdisciplinary collaboration; offers workshops, research, financial resources, and advocacy.

A Brief Guide to Internet Resources in Theatre and Performance Studies
[http://www2.stetson.edu/csata/thr_guid.html]
This is an extensive site of general and theater resources.

Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts
[http://www.lincolncenter.org/]
Comprehensive site that includes information about resident companies, festivals, broadcasts, programs, box office, etc.

New York Public Library: CATNYP
[http://catalog.nypl.org/]
Search the Research Libraries Online Catalog.

Theatre History on the Web
[http://www.videoccasions-nw.com/history/jack.html]
This site contains directories of scholarly sites, categorized by era and type.


Encyclopedias

Performing Arts Encyclopedia
[http://loc.gov/performingarts/encyclopedia]
Guide to musical, theatrical, and dance collections available at the Library of Congress. Includes collections, databases, online presentations, exhibits, and finding aids.


Funding

Alliance of Artists Community
[http://www.artistcommunities.org/residencies]
Lists residences in the performing and media arts.

National Assembly of State Arts Agencies
[http://www.nasaa-arts.org/]

National Endowment for the Arts
[https://www.arts.gov/]

New England Foundation for the Arts
[http://www.nefa.org/]
News and information on grants, job opportunities, and the arts in New England.


Medicine & Health

Alexander Technique
[http://www.life.uiuc.edu/jeff/alextech.html]
Includes a full description of the technique, recommended publications, and links to societies.

Performing Arts Medicine Association
[http://www.artsmed.org]
Official website of PAMA. Follow the link under the Education tab for a good list of related websites.

Performing Arts Medicine at Ithaca College
[http://www.ithaca.edu/hshp/depts/pt/facstaff/nquarrie/performingartsmed/]
Developed by Ithaca College's School of Health Science and Human Performance and the School of Music, this site has links to various topics of interest.


Monologues

Actorama
[http://www.actorama.com/]
A searchable database of over 500 monologues.

Colin's Movie Monologue Page
[http://www.whysanity.net/monos/]

Monologue Archives
[http://www.monologuearchive.com/]
Monologues from classic plays.

Monologue Directory
[http://www.actorpoint.com/monologue.html]
From Actorpoint.

Shakespeare's Monologues
[http://www.shakespeare-monologues.org/]


News

Aisle Say
[http://www.aislesay.com/]
"The Internet Magazine of Stage Reviews and Opinion."

Curtain Up
[http://www.curtainup.com/]
Internet theatre magazine.


Plays & Scripts

Complete Works of William Shakespeare
[http://shakespeare.mit.edu/]
The web's first edition of the Complete Works of William Shakespeare, including internet resources, a discussion area, quotations, and a glossary.

Drama Book Shop
[http://dramabookshop.com/]
Searchable database of scripts in stock at The Drama Book Shop.

Dramatists Play Service, Inc.
[http://www.dramatists.com/]
This site is handy for identifying and purchasing specific plays. Users can apply for licenses online. Search by cast size, gender, length, keyword, author, title. Includes links to relevant theatre sites.

Internet Classics Archive
[http://classics.mit.edu//]
This site is an award-winning, searchable collection of over 400 classical Greek and Latin texts (in English translation) with user-provided commentary and trivia sections.

Inter-play
[http://library.pdx.edu/interplay/]
An on-line index to plays in collections, anthologies and periodicals.

Samuel French, Inc.
[http://www.samuelfrench.com/]
Published scripts, ranging from Broadway and England's West End to unsolicited scripts submitted by unpublished authors. Sales catalogue includes all genres of drama as well as theatre educational materials.


Specialized Sites

Awards
Playbill.com is no longer making Theatre Central available, as of March 2016. Available via Theatre Central on the Playbill Online site, this page includes links to the Connecticut Critics Circle, Drama Desk, Obie, Outer Critics, Olivier, Pulitzer, Tony, and other awards.

BBC Voices
[http://sounds.bl.uk/Accents-and-dialects/BBC-Voices]
Contains recordings of accents and dialects in both English and Scots from over 303 locations across the UK, Channel Islands, and the Isle of Man.

CastingAudition.com
[http://www.castingaudition.com/]
Free online database.

Didaskalia: ancient theater today
[http://www.didaskalia.net]
Contains information about the roots and the modern uses of ancient drama and theatre, providing links to ancient production techniques; digitalized reconstructions of ancient theaters; schedules, articles, and reviews of modern productions of classic texts; and conferences.

Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet
This site is down as of 16-Jan-2017. A comprehensive site that provides links to scholarly resources as well as new Shakespeare materials such as a genealogy, a time line, information about the Shakespeare canon, and a biography quiz.

New Deal Stage: Selections from the Federal Theatre Project, 1935-1939
[http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/fedtp/fthome.html]
This online presentation includes over 3,000 images of items such as stage and costume designs, still photographs, posters, and scripts for productions of Macbeth and The Tragical History of Dr. Faustus as staged by Orson Welles. Additional documents from the collection will be added.

Stage Agent
[http://www.stageagent.com/]
This site offers national coverage for show synopses and castings, current production listings, audition and callback announcements, classified ads, and a bulletin board.

UK Theatre Web
[http://www.uktw.co.uk/]
The UK Theatre Web has current and comprehensive coverage of theatre in Britain. Includes links to ticketing, competitions, festivals, agents, jobs, gossip, consultants, supplies, etc.

vasta.org
[http://www.vasta.org/]
Website of the Voice and Speech Trainers Association, Inc. includes information about conferences, vocal coaches, and publications.


Theatrical Design

New York Public Library Picture Collection Online
[http://digital.nypl.org/mmpco/]
A collection of 30,000 digitized images from books, magazines, and newspapers as well as original photographs, prints, and postcards, mostly created before 1923.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Theatre