University of Hartford Libraries

Spanish Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Companion to Hispanic Studies
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/hodderchs]
Provides all the necessary introductory information on the subject and will be especially useful for students who have already started courses in Spanish / Hispanic Studies, or who are considering doing so in the future.

Companion to Latin American Studies
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/hodderlas]
Covering all the possible topics, from colonial cultures and identity to US Latino culture and issues of race, gender and sexuality, this book situates Latin America in its historical, linguistic and cultural context.

Opportunities in Overseas Careers
Mortensen Library Shelves HF5549.5.E45 C32 2005


Dictionaries

bab.la (Multi-Language Dictionary)
[http://en.bab.la/dictionary/]
Free online platform for language lovers with 40 dictionaries for 28 languages, a language forum, vocabulary lessons, language games, quizzes, verb conjugation for 12 languages, phrase books for university, business or travel, an internship platform and many other language-related products.

Business Spanish Dictionary, Peter Collin Publishing
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/pcpdbusspa]
Provides a specialist business vocabulary for translators, business people, secretaries, and students. Includes many entries providing comprehensive coverage of all aspects of general business, such as invoicing, insurance, and computing.

Collins Spanish Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/collinsspan]
Complete and up-to-date coverage of all the words and phrases you need in Spanish. Also have print edition in Mortensen Library Shelves [PC4640 .C64 2010].

Dictionary of Spanish Law
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/pcpdspalaw]
Provides coverage of British, American, and Spanish law, including criminal, civil, commercial, and international law.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of American Education
Mortensen Library Reference LB17 .U54 2001

Encyclopedia of Learning and Memory
Mortensen Library Reference BF318 .E53 1992

Worldwide Education Encyclopedia: a Survey of Educational Systems Worldwide
Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .W87 2002


Databases

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

MLA Bibliography
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/mlaib?accountid=11308]
International index of books and journals. Covers modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. For information about the periodicals included, consult the MLA Directory of Periodicals.


Websites

General Resources

Cervantes Project (Texas A & M University)
[http://cervantes.tamu.edu/V2/CPI/index.html]
Electronic texts of Cervantes' works in English and Spanish as well as an impressive array of bibliographical and cultural links.

Don Quixote de la Mancha (Johns Hopkins University)
[http://quixote.mse.jhu.edu/]
Virtual tour, with detailed commentary, on Cervantes and his masterpiece, Don Quixote. Good supporting links.

Internet Resources for Spanish (University of Sussex, UK)
[http://www.sussex.ac.uk/languages/resources/spanish]
Spanish and English language links to news and journals online, teaching resources, travel information, and Spanish culture and history.

La Pagina del Idioma Espanol
[http://www.elcastellano.org/]
Site for idiomatic Spanish, with links to Spanish and Latin American literature, dictionaries, cultural resources.

Spanish Language News and Magazines (MIT Libraries)
[http://libguides.mit.edu/content.php?pid=146063&sid=1247903]
Links to a wide variety of Spanish, Latin American, and United States Spanish language magazines and newspapers.

Voice of the Shuttle: Spanish and Portuguese (University of California, Santa Barbara)
[http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=2420]
Wide-ranging collection of Spanish language and literature links with emphasis on modern Spanish and Latin American authors.


Dictionaries

WordReference.com
[http://www.wordreference.com/]
Collins Dictionaries from HarperCollins, including English and bilingual.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Spanish