University of Hartford Libraries

Secondary Education- Curriculum Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Dictionary of Education (Greenwood)
Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .G68 2011

Key Concepts in Education
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageuked]
Contains essential themes, topics and expressions that Education students are likely to encounter, both during their courses and beyond in professional practice.

Springer International Handbooks of Education: International Handbook of Educational Evaluation
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/spredev]
An invaluable and unique reference work for evaluation scholars and specialists, educators, policymakers, graduate students in evaluation and education, administrators and other school personnel, as well as personnel in funding organizations.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of American Education
Mortensen Library Reference LB17 .U54 2001

Encyclopedia of Education
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3403299999&q=a23uh]
Edited by James W.Guthrie, this 2003 edition includes bibliographical references and index.

Encyclopedia of Education (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3403299999&q=a23uh]
Search the full eight volumes of the 2nd edition (2002) Encyclopedia, intended to provide comprehensive information on education in the US and around the world. UofH only.

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?source=&etocId=GALE|CX3045399001&inPS=true&prodId=GVRL&userGroupName=a23uh&tabID=&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchId=&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE|9780028661179&contentSegment=9780028661179&isDownLoadOptionDisabled=true]
Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.

Worldwide Education Encyclopedia: a Survey of Educational Systems Worldwide
Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .W87 2002


United States - Statistics

Almanac of American Education
Mortensen Library Reference LA217.2 .A45 2011


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

ERIC (Proquest)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/eric/advanced?accountid=11308]
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database has abstracts of articles from over 775 journals. ERIC also indexes education research in books and contains a massive collection of ERIC documents, with full text online or in microfiche. (Univ. of Hartford has micro going back to 1980).

Film & Television Literature Index
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=fah]
Bibliographic database covering all aspects of film and television theory, preservation, writing, production, technical aspects, and reviews. Abstracts with selected full text.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

ProQuest Education Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/education?accountid=11308]
Search the leading full-text journals in education and related fields. ProQuest® Education Journals gives users access to over 760 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text.

Teacher Reference Center
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=trh]
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.


Periodicals

Meridian: A Middle School Computer Technologies Journal
[http://www.ncsu.edu/meridian/]
This ejournal is intended to demonstrate to middle school teachers the best ways of applying computer technologies to classroom teaching and learning. Publication may be infrequent.


Websites

Blank Slate: The Story of a Charter School's First Year
[http://www.nytimes.com/learning/general/specials/bronxprep/]
This website posts articles from the New York Times' ongoing series on a charter school established in the Bronx.

Common Core State Standards in Connecticut
[http://www.sde.ct.gov/sde/cwp/view.asp?a=2618&q=322592]
Provided by the Connecticut State Department of Education, this website has links to the Academic Office Newsletter as well as state standards for Common Core changes in mathematics and English language arts for grades K-12. It also includes classroom resources and rubrics for the Tri-State Collaborative (Massachusetts, New York, and Rhode Island) and a grade-by-grade guide for parents.

Connexions: Sharing Knowledge and Building Communities
[http://cnx.org/]
Connexions is an environment for collaboratively developing, freely sharing, and rapidly publishing scholarly content on the Web. Our Content Commons contains educational materials for everyone — from children to college students to professionals — organized in small modules that are easily connected into larger collections or courses. All content is free to use and reuse under the Creative Commons "attribution" license.

Homeschool World
[http://www.homeschool.com/]
Oriented in eight major sections, this site is an effective, easy to navigate first stop for anyone wanting an initial look at home schooling with religious orientations.

Jon's Homeschool Resource
[http://www.midnightbeach.com/hs/index.html]
Presented by a home schooler, this site includes internet resources that support parents who choose to home school their children. A valuable resource is the list of local support groups for 45 US states. Support pages also point to state laws.

National Center for History in the Schools
[http://www.nchs.ucla.edu/]
The UCLA Department of History hosts the National Center for History in the Schools, a site that host standards for the teaching of history. From the NCHS: 'The Center’s first projects were the National History Standards for History for grades 5-12 and a second set of standards for kindergarten through 4th grade. More recently, NCHS has developed materials for World History including World History for Us All: The Big Eras: A Compact History of Humankind for Teachers and Students. In addition the Center has published over 80 teaching units in U.S. and World History that draw on historical primary sources and link lessons to history standards.'

National Charter School Research Guide
[http://www.charterschoolcenter.org/]
Details the process of creating a charter school and discusses the charter school concept, a current education trend.

Secrets of the SAT (Frontline)
[http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/teach/diversity/sat/sat.html]
An explanation of the Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT) and how it could affect students' academic futures.

The Teachers Page (Library of Congress)
[http://www.loc.gov/teachers/]
Classroom materials and ideas for teachers, resources to help teachers use primary sources, and links to help with professional development.

TED-Ed: Lessons Worth Sharing
[http://ed.ted.com/]
This offshoot of TED.com showcases lessons for education. The primary focus is on high school and college level learners, and the YouTube videos include quizzes, additional resources and discussion points. Lessons can be customized for assignments.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Secondary Education- Curriculum