University of Hartford Libraries

Sculpture Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Career Opportunities in Art
Mortensen Library Reference N6505 .H35 2001

Looking at Greek and Roman Sculptures in Stone: a Guide to Terms, Styles, and Technique
Mortensen Library Reference NB85 .G76 2003

Myths & Legends
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ngmyths]
Myths and legends, with their fantastical settings and parade of exotic creatures and beautiful immortals, have inspired some of the most popular works in the National Gallery Collection.

National Directory of Arts Internships
Allen Library Permanent Reserves [NX280 N3 2008]


Dictionaries

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art (Part of Oxford Art Online)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.oxfordartonline.com/subscriber]
Search Oxford Art Online or check box for Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and search Dictionary only

The Dictionary of Art
Mortensen Library Reference N31 .D5 1996

A Dictionary of Art Terms: Painting, Sculpture, Architecture, Engraving and Etching, Lithography and Other Art Processes, Heraldry
Mortensen Library Reference N33.H14

A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art
Formerly Dictionary of Twentieth Century Art in Mortensen Library Reference N6490 .C5317 2009

The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/that]
Covers painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, the decorative, applied and graphic arts from all periods throughout the world up to the present day.


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Art Index and the Art Index Retrospective
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aai,air]
Years Covered: 1929-
Indexing of articles from over 270 international art publications. Provides users with Art Literature, covering fine, decorative and commercial art. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.

Art Index Retrospective
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=air ]
Years Covered: 1929-1984
Provides users with Art Literature, covering fine, decorative and commercial art.

ArtBibliographies Modern
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/artbibliographies/advanced?accountid=11308]
Years Covered: 1960-Present
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.

ARTstor
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://library.artstor.org/]
Searchable database of over 300,000 images from museums around the world, and covering a wide range of cultures and time periods. New material added frequently. Requires Java and Flash. Cookies and popups must be enabled. See Quick Start Guide for technical information and basic searching guidance. Disable Pop Up Blocker before opening. Mac users must have OS 10.3 and use Firefox browser.

BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art/International Bibliography of Art)
[http://primo.getty.edu/primo_library/libweb/action/search.do?vid=BHA]
This online resource provided free of charge from the Getty Museum is the complete index from 1991 to 2009. Mortensen Reference owns print from to 1991-1999 in Indexes and Abstracts Z5967 .B53

Google Art Project
[http://www.googleartproject.com/]
Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

GroveArt (Now Oxford Art Online)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.oxfordartonline.com]
Artists' biographies, essays on all cultures, civilizations, and art movements; articles on conservation and theory. A 720,000 item index includes all the visual arts with the exception of film. Links to related web resources and images. Full text available.

Humanities Abstracts
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=hma]
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology

National Gallery Collection (London)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ng]
The National Gallery Collection is comprised of high definition images from the National Gallery, London. Each entry includes a description of the work along with its artist, medium, dimensions, acquisition credit, and date made

Oxford Art Online
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.oxfordartonline.com]
Artists' biographies, essays on all cultures, civilizations, and art movements; articles on conservation and theory. A 720,000 item index includes all the visual arts with the exception of film. Links to related web resources and images. Full text available.


Periodicals

Nineteenth-Century Art Worldwide
[http://www.19thc-artworldwide.org/about-the-journal]
An electronic journal of 19th century visual culture.


Websites

1200 anni di scultura italiana (1200 Years of Italian Sculpture)
[http://www.thais.it/scultura/default.htm]
An index of Italian sculptors from medieval to modern times. Search by period, artist, or location. The excellent images can be greatly enlarged. (If a warning appears on the screen, override it by clicking on X) Sometimes slow.

Art Inventories Catalog (Smithsonian Institution)
[http://www.siris.si.edu/#ari]
Provides access to SIRIS, The Smithsonian Institution Research Information System, which includes a 300,000 record database maintained by the National Museum of American Art describing American paintings and sculptures.

Asian Arts
[http://www.asianart.com/]
Exhibits, articles, and galleries for the study and exhibition of the arts of Asia.

Chartres: Cathedral of Notre-Dame
[http://images.library.pitt.edu/cgi-bin/i/image/image-idx?c=chartres]
The most comprehensive collection of images and descriptions of Chartres Cathedral. Over 3000 high resolution images detailing architecture, sculpture, stained glass windows, wall paintings and manuscript illuminations.

Designinform Research Guides
[http://www.designinform.co.uk/researchguides.htm]
Links to websites in all types of design, architecture and art forms.

The Huntington Art Collections
[http://www.huntington.org/WebAssets/Templates/content.aspx?id=202]
One of the most important specialized art collections in the country, devoted primarily to British art of the 18th and early 19th century. Excellent images. Searchable.

Le Louvre
[http://www.louvre.fr/]
View permanent and temporary exhibits, take a tour, find information about publications, etc. Some information available only in French

The Metropolitan Museum of Art
[http://www.metmuseum.org/]
In addition to information on exhibitions, program calendars, publications and holdings, this site offers access to the online catalogs for the museum's libraries and a selection of art links and access to over 400,000 high resolution images of their collection online for public use. In addition to keyword search, users may browse the collection by artist, method, geographic location, and date/era.

Web Gallery of Art
[http://www.wga.hu/]
A virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture between the years 1150 and 1800. Artists Index, biographies, guided tours.

WebMuseum, Paris
[http://www.ibiblio.org/wm/]
Extensive image-based resources with rotating special exhibits available exclusively at the WebMuseum.

World Art Treasures
[http://www.bergerfoundation.ch/]
The J.-E. Berger Foundation extensive slide database currently devoted to the art of J. Vermeer, Renaissance Gardens, S. Botticelli, Roman portraits from Egypt and much more.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Sculpture