University of Hartford Libraries

Science Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Black Holes
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781590189160&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Presents evidence and theories for these objects, discusses how they were first predicted, how they form, their physical properties, and how scientists detect them.

Career Opportunities in Biotechnology and Drug Development
Career Services Shelves TP248.2 .F737 2008

Comets and Asteroids
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781590189177&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Outlines evidence and theories about black holes and what constitutes them, discusses how they are detected, how scientists believe they form.

Animals and Science: A Guide to the Debates
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcanscie?tab=contents]
Examines the debates surrounding issues of animal rights, consciousness, and self awareness.

Encyclopedia of Earth
electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The Encyclopedia is a free, fully searchable collection of articles written by scholars, professionals, educators, and experts who collaborate and review each other's work.

The Evolution Wars: A Guide to the Debates
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcevolve?institutionId=4005]
Guide to the development of evolutionary thought throughout the past two and a half centuries.

Exploring Mars
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781590189191&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Discusses similarities (and differences) between Mars and Earth, failed and successful space missions, and future plans for exploration.

Field Guide to Rivers of North America
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/estrivers]
Describes North America's most significant rivers in a reader-friendly, concise format. The guide is organized by geographic regions - each section begins with a map showing the relationship of rivers within one territory and a summary of the region's most important elements

The Great Dinosaur Controversy: A Guide to the Debates
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcdinoe]
A guide to the most important scientific controversies surrounding dinosaur paleontology.

Guide to Gems
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/philipsgems]
Illustrated guide to the identification and use of gemstones.

Guide to Global Hazards
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/philipsglobalhaz]
Illustrated guide to the large-scale disasters that affect life on earth.

Guide to Minerals, Rocks and Fossils
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/philipsminerals]
Identification guide to minerals, rocks, and fossils of the world.

Guide to Seashells of the World
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/philipsseashells]
Identification guide to seashells of the world.

Guide to Stars and Planets
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/philipsstars]
Practical guide to the night sky.

Guide to the Oceans
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/philipsoceans]
Illustrated guide to the world's oceans and seas.

Handbook of Vegetable Pests
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/estvegpest?institutionId=4005]
Comprehensive survey to all vegetable pests encountered in North America.

Homosexuality and Science: A Guide to the Debates
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcbiohome?institutionId=4005]
Comprehensive resource exploring the role of science and scientific discovery in the nature versus pathology debate surrounding homosexuality.

Human Evolution: A Guide to the Debates
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcregale?institutionId=4005]
Wide-ranging look at the controversies surrounding the search for the origins of the human species.

International Critical Tables of Numeric Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology (National Research Council)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.knovel.com/knovel2/Toc.jsp?spaceID=10093&BookID=735]
Seven volumes of searchable data and tables on physical, thermodynamic, mechanical and other properties of materials. Searchable PDF of the full text of the book, with hyperlinked index and interactive tables. UofH users only.

Knovel Critical Tables
Tables of properties for over 13,000 commonly used chemical compounds. Regularly updated with new interactive tables. UofH users only.

Reader's Guide to the History of Science
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routbrithistory?institutionId=4005]
Guide to the individuals, institutions, disciplines, general themes, and central concepts of science.

Rivers of North America
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/estrivers]
Exploratory guide to the physical, chemical, biological, and environmental aspects of North America's rivers.

Scientific Exploration and Expeditions from the Age of Discovery to the Twenty-First Century
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sharpesci]
Details expeditions made in the quest for scientific knowledge from the fifteenth century to the present day. Concise and appealing articles focus on the goals and accomplishments of the explorers and expeditions, and how the sciences - from anthropology to zoology - benefited from these voyages of discovery.

Smithsonian Physical Tables
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.knovel.com/web/portal/basic_search/display?_EXT_KNOVEL_DISPLAY_bookid=736]
Fully searchable tables concentrating on a broad range of common physical and chemical data. Hyperlinked index. UofH users only.

Women's History as Scientists: A Guide to the Debates
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcwoscie?institutionId=4005]
Historical review of the debates surrounding women's contributions to science, with emphasis on access to education, training, and professional careers.


Atlases

Atlas of the Universe
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/philipsuniverse]
Comprehensive guide to astronomy and space exploration. Have older print edition in Mortensen Library Reference [QB44 .M5425 1970].


Biographies

The Cambridge Dictionary of Sciences
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/dicscientist]
One stop reference for the life and work of those who created science up to the present day.

Cambridge Dictionary of Scientists
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/dicscientist]
One-stop reference book for anyone wanting a brief and accurate account of the life and work of those who created science from its beginnings to the present day.

The Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/hdsb?institutionId=4005]
Dictionary of the lives, labours, and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science.


Dictionaries

Academic Press Dictionary of Science and Technology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/apdst]
Dictionary for Practicing Scientists and Professionals in all scientific fields.

The American Heritage Abbreviations Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/hmabbr?institutionId=4005]
Definition for abbreviations across disciplines.

The American Heritage Science Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/hmsciencedict]
Dictionary of all major concepts of science.

Collins Dictionary of Astronomy
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsastron]
Dictionary of all major concepts of astronomy.

Dictionary of Astronomy, Peter Collin Publishing
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/pcpdastr]
Comprehensive dictionary covering all aspects of astronomy.

Dictionary of Developmental Biology and Embryology, Wiley
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/wileydevbio]
Dictionary of terms, research, history, and notable people in the field of developmental biology and embryology.

Illustrated Dictionary of Science, Andromeda
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/andidsci]
Illustrated dictionary covering all the major scientific disciplines.

The Macquarie Dictionary of Trees & Shrubs
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/mdtrees]
Comprehensive listing of the plants found in Australian gardens.

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms
Terminology and keywords relating to science and technology. Mortensen Library Reference: Q123 .M15 2002

Penguin Dictionary of Biology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/penguinbio]
Dictionary of biological concepts and newest developments in the field.

The Penguin Dictionary of Science
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/penguinscience]
Comprehensive reference guide to all things science.

Philosophy of Science A-Z
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/edinburghps]
Concise, accurate and illuminating accounts of key positions, concepts, arguments and figures in the philosophy of science from A priori/a posteriori to Elie Zahar.


Encyclopedias

Astronomy Encyclopedia
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/philipsastronomy]
All encompassing encyclopedia of Astronomy.

Concise Encyclopedia of Plant Pathology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/routpp]
Full range of subject areas associated with plant pathology.

Encyclopedia of Dinosaurs
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/estdino?institutionId=4005]
Encyclopedia of dinosaurs and dinosaur science.

Encyclopedia of Insects
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/estinsects?institutionId=4005]
Comprehensive work devoted to all aspects of insects.

Encyclopedia of Paleontology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routpaleont?institutionId=4005]
Guide to vertebrate and invertebrate paleontology.

Encyclopedia of Science (Gale)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9781414428840&contentSegment=9781414428840]
Covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, as well as mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology.

Encyclopedia of Science and Religion
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028659114&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
A multidisciplinary approach that addresses all aspects of the dialogue between the sciences and the world's religions, reaching into the humanities as well as into the physical sciences and technology.

Encyclopedia of Science and Religion
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028659114&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
A multidisciplinary approach that addresses all aspects of the dialogue between the sciences and the world's religions, reaching into the humanities as well as into the physical sciences and technology.

Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028659916&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Considers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society.

Encyclopedia of the Solar System
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/estsolar?institutionId=4005]
Comprehensive guide to our solar system including history, evolution, and current discoveries.

Encyclopedia of Volcanoes
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/estvolcano?institutionId=4005]
Comprehensive source of information on geoscience-related aspects of volcanism

Encyclopedia of Water Science - UXL
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780787693985&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Topics covered include lakes and streams, oceans, aquatic animals, weather and climate, glaciers, wetlands, ecology, hydropower, commercial fishing, acid rain, recreation, pollution, economics, water conservation, international water law, global warming and much more.

Encyclopedia of Weather and Natural Disasters - UXL
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9781414418858&contentSegment=9781414418858]
Provides information on the scientific aspects of various types of disasters including: blizzards, earthquakes, flooding, tornadoes, volcanoes, and wildfires.

Science in the Ancient World: An Encyclopedia
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcsciaw]
Guide to the achievements and legacy of more tham four millennia of scientific thought in the ancient world.

Science in the Contemporary World: An Encyclopedia
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/vol/573]
Guide to key scientific trends, discoveries, and personalities in modern science.

Science in the Early Twentieth Century: An Encyclopedia
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcscieth]
Guide to key scientific trends, discoveries, and personalities in science from 1900 to 1950.

Science in the Enlightenment: An Encyclopedia
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcscienl]
Guide to key scientific trends, discoveries, and personalities in science from 1600 to 1820.


Statistics- International

OECD Factbook: Economic, Environmental and Social Statistics
[http://new.SourceOECD.org/factbook]
Access to statistics and graphs from the Organisation for Economic Co-ooperation and Development.


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Agricola
[http://agricola.nal.usda.gov/]
One of the world's largest and most accessible agricultural information collections and serves as the nexus for a national network of state land-grant and U.S. Department of Agriculture field libraries.

American Chemical Society Publications: Journals Search
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://pubs.acs.org/search/advanced]
Search the authors, titles, or text of articles from publications of the ACS. Search a single journal from the list, or the entire collection. Selected titles available back to 1879 in Archives. Full text articles are available.

Applied Science and Technology Index
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=asi]
Indexing of articles from over 400 English language journals covering technical fields, including engineering, computer science, mathematics, chemistry, physics, etc. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.

ArXiv e-print Archive
[http://xxx.lanl.gov/]
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. This site is maintained and operated by Cornell University. Papers are submitted by the author's and are subject to edits at any time. Full text available.

Bibliography on Cold Regions Science and Technology
[http://www.coldregions.org/vufind/]
Includes references to scientific and engineering research related to material and operations in a winter battlefield, the nature and impact of cold on facilities and activities, cold-related environmental problems, and the impact of human activity on cold environments.

Coldregions Bibliography
[http://www.coldregions.org/vufind/Search/Advanced]
Covers all disciplines related to the region including biological and geological sciences, medical sciences, meteorology, oceanography, atmospheric and terrestrial physics, expeditions, logistics equipment and supplies, and tourism.

CQ Researcher
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/#.UmkuiL7D_cs]
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis of issues in the news. Published 44 times each year, with each report covering a single issue in depth. Reports consist of background and chronology, assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements, and bibliographies of key resources. Html and pdf versions available. with reports published since 2001 in color. Includes full text.

Energy Citations Database
[http://www.osti.gov/energycitations/]
Searchable database of information on research sponsored by the US Department of Energy and its predecessors. Some full text online, ordering information for those not online.

E-Print Network
[http://www.osti.gov/home/scienceinfo]
Searchable gateway to documents in scientific and technical fields of concern to the US Department of Energy. Full text available.

FAOSTAT (Food and Agricultural Organization statistics)
[http://faostat.fao.org]
Years Covered: 1961-present
free and easy access to data for 245 countries and 35 regional areas from 1961 through the most recent year available.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://find.galegroup.com/gvrl/start.do?prodID=GVRL&userGroupName=a23uh]
Search the tables of contents or full text of selected reference books in business, education, the environment, medicine biology, and the social sciences.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

GREENfile
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=8gh]
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

Health & Environmental Research Online (HERO)
[http://cfpub.epa.gov/ncea/hero/]
Sources dealing with risk assessment of humans and ecosystems deemed important by the EPA's National Center for Environmental Assessment.

HighWire Press
[http://highwire.stanford.edu]
Database of articles primarily in the sciences, including from Medline. Includes both freely accessible and subscription only titles. UofH does not subscribe.

http://isihighlycited.com/
[http://www.isihighlycited.com/]
Search for the most influential researchers by name or institution. Biographical and bibliographical information. Currently covers chemistry, physics, engineering and neurosciences.

JSTOR Arts and Sciences
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.jstor.org]
Searchable full text of articles from selected scholarly journals in fields including area studies, anthropology, ecology, economics, education, history, language and literature, mathematics, philosophy, political sciences, sociology and statistics. No current issues available. Historical coverage varies, but database includes some titles from before 1950.

JSTOR Life Sciences Collection
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.jstor.org]
Searchable full text of articles from selected scholarly journals in life sciences. No current issues available. Historical coverage varies, but database includes some titles from before 1950. Access to this database is made possible by Elisabeth R. Swain, PhD Endowment. Once you are in JSTOR, you are searching all of the University of Hartford owned JSTOR products.

MEDLINE
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=cmedm]
Years Covered: 1840-Present
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available.

NDLTD: Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
[http://www.ndltd.org/resources/find-etds]
NDLTD Union Catalog contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations and includes links to other databases of electronic theses and dissertations.

PolySearch Energy
[http://www2.hawaii.edu/~jacso/extra/egyeb/poly-energy.htm]
Search for abstracts (and occasional full text of articles) across up to 15 databases related to energy science. Results from each database display in a separate window.

PrimateLit
[http://primatelit.library.wisc.edu]
Research in primatology, covering ecology, biology, psychology, health sciences and other fields. Citations of articles in journals dating since 1940. Managed by the Wisconsin Primate Research Center, with funding from the National Institutes of Health. Bibliography.

ProQuest Biology Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/biologyjournals?accountid=11308]
The database includes over 300 biology titles, with more than 265 available in full text. ProQuest Biology Journals includes some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government, and public research environments.

Proquest Science Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/sciencejournals?accountid=11308]
Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation. ProQuest Science Journals features over 620 titles - with more than 500 available in full text.

Public Library of Science
[http://www.plos.org/]
A nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource.

PubMed (MEDLINE)
[http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/PubMed/]
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available with limited full text.

PubMed Central
[http://www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov]
Free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journals, maintained by the US National Institutes of Health. Some journals do not include current issues. Digitization program underway to build complete back files. Full text available.

RITA (Research and Innovation Technology Administration) National Transportation Library
[http://ntlsearch.bts.gov/repository/index.do]
The Research and Innovative Technology Administration (RITA) coordinates the U.S. Department of Transportation's (DOT) research programs and is charged with advancing the deployment of cross-cutting technologies to improve our Nation’s transportation system.

ScienceResearch.com
[http://www.scienceresearch.com]
This site is a free, publicly available web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases. Search for materials in the topics of astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, environmental sciences, engineering, health and medicine, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social sciences. Full text. Also includes links to related sites.

SciFinder
[https://scifinder.cas.org/scifinder]
SciFinder Scholar is an application that provides access to the CAS databases, Chemical Abstracts and Registry. You must use your University email account to register (example: name@hartford.edu). Registration and use must occur on campus. Click this PDF for more detailed instructions:
SciFinder Instructions (PDF)

Link for registration: SciFinder Registration

Scitation (AIP) and SPIN - formerly Online Journal Publishing Service
[http://scitation.aip.org/]
Free access to this index (some full text or abstracts) of more than 40 professional journals and 1 million articles in physics, engineering and computer science including full text for Physical Review & Physical Review Letters. SPIN contains 1.5 million articles from leading Physics publications. You may search Scitation and SPIN in one search or separately.

SIMBAD Astronomical Database
[http://simbad.harvard.edu/simbad/]
Provides basic data, cross-identifications, bibliography and measurements for astronomical objects outside the solar system.

TRID - The TRIS and ITRD Database
[http://trid.trb.org/]
The TRIS/ITRD Online database contains over half a million records of published transportation research including technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles. Currently there are almost 24,000 TRIS records with links to electronic copies of the full-text. The time span covers literature from the 1960s to the present, with some coverage of prior years. Highway Research Board publications are covered back to 1923. TRIS/ITRD coverage includes the disciplines of planning, finance, design and construction, materials, environmental issues, safety and human factors and operations for the modes of highways, transit, railroads, maritime and aviation. TRIS does not contain information on vehicle standards and specifications, patent information, market research, military transport or news articles.

WorldwideScience.org
[http://worldwidescience.org/]
Global science gateway—accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.


Websites

General Resources

AIP - Author Resource Center with AIP Style Manual (American Institute of Physics)
[http://publishing.aip.org/authors]
Full text (pdf) of the 4th edition of the official physics style manual.

Albert Einstein Online
[http://www.westegg.com/einstein/]
Collection of Einstein's theories, work, biography.

American Environmental Photographs, 1891-1936
[http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/award97/icuhtml/]
Photographs documenting natural environments in the US at the end of the nineteenth and beginning of the twentieth century.

Annual Reviews
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.annualreviews.org/]
Search engine for all 26 of Annual Reviews' products with table of contents and abstracts.

C&EN-OBS
[http://chemistryjobs.acs.org/]
Job postings, company information, job hunting tips for chemistry and chemical engineering. Sponsored by the American Chemical Society. Optional account set-up.

CAS Science Spotlight
[http://www.cas.org/spotlight/index.html]
Bibliographic information about the most frequently requested, "most intriguing," and most cited documents in chemistry and related fields. Includes journals articles and patents.

CiteSeerX
[http://citeseerx.ist.psu.edu/]
Search engine and digital library in computer and information science. Creates citation index for literature search and evaluation, with hyperlinks between cites and citations shown in context. Created by NEC and hosted at Penn State.

Digital Ditch Unit Converter
[http://www.digitaldutch.com/unitconverter/]
Automatically calculates equivalent units of measure for area, density, force, mass, etc.

e! Science News
[http://esciencenews.com/]
Provides access to the very latest and popular science breakthroughs.

The Galileo Project (Rice University)
[http://galileo.rice.edu/]
Information on the life and work of Galileo and the science of his time. "Resources" includes a searchable database of 16th and 17th century scientists, a bibliography, and an extensive collection of web links.

Gulf of Mexico Studies (Harte Research Institute)
[http://www.harteresearchinstitute.org/]
Encourages long-term sustainability and conservation of the Gulf of Mexico.

Hubble Site
[http://hubblesite.org/newscenter/newsdesk/archive/releases/2000/07/]
Hubble Telescope has sent back the first images after being serviced.

Images from the History of Medicine
[http://ihm.nlm.nih.gov/luna/servlet/view/all]
Approximately 60,000 scanned images from the collection of the National Library of Medicine.

Linda Hall Library of Science, Engineering & Technology
[http://www.lindahall.org/]
An extensive collection of science, engineering, and technology monographs and scientific journals. Strength in the history of science and engineering standards and specifications.

Making of America
[http://quod.lib.umich.edu/m/moagrp/]
Digital Library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Collection is strong on the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 1,600 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

Martindale's The Reference Desk
[http://www.martindalecenter.com/]
Links arranged by subject. Quick and easy to use.

National Science Foundation
[http://www.nsf.gov/]
Look under NSF Focus and click on Statistical Reports on Science & Engineering for statistics, reports, etc.

Periodic Table Web Elements (Professional Edition)
[http://www.webelements.com/]
Point and click periodic table links to basic chemical information about the elements.

ResearchGate
[http://www.researchgate.net/]
ResearchGate is a social and professional network for researchers and scientists with many features designed specifically for the sciences: a search engine that searches 7 major databases (e.g., PubMed, NASA, IEEE) and thousands of smaller Open Access ones, self-archiving, information on thousands of journals and publishers, an events board, job listings, file-sharing, a blogging platform, and much more.

Science Direct
[http://www.sciencedirect.com/]
Browse or search tables of contents and abstracts from journals published by Reed Elsevier. Login as Guest. (Full text license NOT available).

Science Tracer Bullets Online (Library of Congress)
[http://www.loc.gov/rr/scitech/tracer-bullets/]
Database of bibliographies of print materials in all areas of science.

Science.gov
[http://www.science.gov/]
Searchable gateway to science and technology information from US government science agencies. Information available in fields including pure and applied sciences, health sciences, and science education.

Spectroscopy Now
[http://www.spectroscopynow.com/]
The just dedicated spectroscopy portal links to free articles and preprints from peer-reviewed science journals.

Subject Resources (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
[http://library.lanl.gov/infores/]
Links to a wide variety of web-based information resources. Includes databases and e-journals (some of which are restricted to LANL staff). Arranged by subject.

Tapestry of Time and Terrain
[http://pubs.usgs.gov/imap/i2720/]
Contains information about topography and geology of the continental United States along with geologic time.

UCLA E-Resources
[http://www2.library.ucla.edu/search/1486.cfm]
Selected internet Sources on various academic topics. A most comprehensive and thoughtfully organized collection of links.

US Geological Survey
[http://www.usgs.gov/]
Provides information in the areas of hazards, natural resources, environment, and information management. Striking images.

Virtual Earthquake
[http://www.sciencecourseware.org/virtualearthquake/]
Interactive online simulations of the earth.

Virtual Technical Reports Center (University of Maryland Libraries)
[http://www.lib.umd.edu/ENGIN/TechReports/Virtual-TechReports.html]
Links to institutions worldwide which provide free access to full text or extended abstracts of technical reports, preprints, reprints, dissertations, theses and other research reports.

Visual Elements Periodic Table
[http://www.rsc.org/periodic-table]
Provides html and Flash versions of the Periodic Table plus historical information and information about each element.

Voice of the Shuttle
[http://vos.ucsb.edu/]
Extensive links to every variety of Web site in the humanities, law, political science, anthropology, business and media studies.

Wolfram Functions Site
[http://functions.wolfram.com/]
Over 37,000 mathematical functions, with formulas presented in standard form as well as MathML and ASCII. Search or browse, or contribute your own. Selected new titles on math Selected new titles on computer science For further information: Internet Search Engines Subject Selectors Web Reference Tools

WWW Virtual Library
[http://www.vlib.us/]
Distributed subject catalog. Megasite, constantly updated.


Statistics

Statistics Resources on the Web
[http://guides.lib.umich.edu/content.php?pid=30070&sid=220066]
Huge collection of links to statistical resources arranged by subject.


Statistics- United States

Statistical Abstract Home Page (U. S. Census Bureau)
[https://www.census.gov/library/publications/time-series/statistical_abstracts.html]
A wealth of statistical data including state rankings and state and county profiles. Data back to 1878 edition available.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Science