University of Hartford Libraries

Reference Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

The American Heritage Guide to Contemporary Usage and Style
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/hmcontempusage]
Authoritative survey of English usage, grammar, and style.

Benders' Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/whdictnutr]
Nutrition and food technology terminology.

Book of Bible Quotations
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/bbq]
English Language Quotations from the Bible.

Chicago Manual of Style (full online version)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/home.html]
Widely used style guide that can help answer advanced citation and style questions. Has searchable full text, a useful Q&A, and a citation guide summary. To see a table of contents (once your are in the web site), just click the title. A print version is also available.

Dictionary of Food: International Food and Cooking Terms from A to Z
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/acbdictfood?institutionId=4005]
Food and food preparation terminology.

Financial Times World Desk Reference
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/dkwdr]
Gives a complete overview of the modern world with hundreds of maps, charts and diagrams, and facts and statistics on the world's nations.

The Holy Bible, King James Version, Cambridge University Press
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupkjvbible]
King James Bible first published in 1611.

The New Food Lover's Companion, Barron's
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/barronflc]
Food and food preparation terminology.

The New Wine Lover's Companion, Barron's
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/barronswine]
Wine terminology.

Oddbins Dictionary of wine
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/oddwine?institutionId=4005]
Wine terminology.

The Oxford Guide to Library Research
Mortensen Library Reference Z710 .M23 2005

The United States Government Manual
The United States Government Manual is the official handbook of the Federal Government. This special edition of the Federal Register is currently updated to provide comprehensive and authoritative descriptions of the programs and activities of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. The Government Manual also includes information about quasi-official agencies, international organizations with U.S. membership, and Federal boards, commissions, and committees.

Word Histories and Mysteries
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/hmwhm]
Historical look at the use and origin of English words and phrases.

Word origins : the hidden histories of English words from A to Z
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/acbwordorig?institutionId=4005]
Uncovers the often surprising connections between elements of the English lexicon that have become obscured by centuries of language change.

Writers Directory
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781558627550&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Features bibliographical, biographical and contact information for living authors worldwide who have at least one English publication. Entries include name, pseudonyms, addresses, citizenship, birth date, specialization, career information and a bibliography.


Dictionaries

Collins Dictionary of Quotations
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/hcdquot]
Quotations arranged thematically for ease of reference.

OED Online (Oxford English Dictionary)
Search the definitive dictionary of the English language, complete and continuously updated. Provides definitions, etymology, and history of usage with examples over time. UofH users only. Full text. Click "Check Status" for access.


Databases

General Resources

CQ Researcher
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/#.UmkuiL7D_cs]
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis of issues in the news. Published 44 times each year, with each report covering a single issue in depth. Reports consist of background and chronology, assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements, and bibliographies of key resources. Html and pdf versions available. with reports published since 2001 in color. Includes full text.

Credo Reference
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/search/advanced]
Search over 550 full text online reference titles in a wide variety of subjects and online reference types, incl. Bibliographies, Atlases, Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Statistics, and speeches. All individual titles are listed in the Library Catalog.

Dissertations and Theses @ University of Hartford (Proquest)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/pqdtlocal1006624?accountid=11308]
Dissertations by University of Hartford students. Includes full text for most, especially those published after 1996.

Dissertations and Theses Abstracts + Full Text (Proquest)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/pqdthss?accountid=11308]
Describes over 2 million dissertations from institutions around the U.S. (and some international), with citations from 1861 to the present. Includes full text for many of the Humanities and Social Sciences dissertations as well as most UH dissertations 1997-present. Many of the other dissertations are available through interlibrary loan .

EBSCOhost
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST]
Access to multiple databases including Academic Search Premier, CINAHL, ERIC, Communication Abstracts and PsycInfo plus many more.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://find.galegroup.com/gvrl/start.do?prodID=GVRL&userGroupName=a23uh]
Search the tables of contents or full text of selected reference books in business, education, the environment, medicine biology, and the social sciences.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Household Products Database
[http://householdproducts.nlm.nih.gov/]
Learn about what's in general household products, about potential health effects, and about safety and handling of these materials.

iCONN.org Resources for Colleges & Universities
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.iconn.org/classiccollege]
With funding from the state legislature, the Connecticut State Library is making a group of databases available to citizens and students in Connecticut. This link only works on campus. If you are off campus, choose a specific database to search.

IngentaConnect
[http://www.ingentaconnect.com/]
Search for articles from almost 30,000 academic and professional journals. Includes abstracts. Available to all users. Some full text available to UofH users. Use Interlibrary Services or online ordering (credit card) option for those not owned by UofH.

NDLTD: Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
[http://www.ndltd.org/resources/find-etds]
NDLTD Union Catalog contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations and includes links to other databases of electronic theses and dissertations.

PRIMO - Peer Reviewed Instructional Materials Online
[http://acrl.ala.org/IS/instruction-tools-resources-2/pedagogy/primo-peer-reviewed-instruction-materials-online/]
Promotes and shares peer-reviewed instructional materials created by librarians to teach people about discovering, accessing and evaluating information in networked environments.

WorldCat
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://firstsearch.oclc.org/fsip?dbname=worldcat&done=referer]
Available through FirstSearch, lists the holdings of over 9,000 libraries worldwide. University of Hartford registered library borrowers may place requests through WorldCat for items not held by University Libraries.


Dictionaries

OED Online (Oxford English Dictionary)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oed.com]
Search the definitive dictionary of the English language, complete and continuously updated. Provides definitions, etymology, and history of usage with examples over time. UofH users only. Full text.


Websites

General Resources

All Movie Guide Glossary
[http://www.allmovie.com/glossary]
Search for definitions of a broad array of film-related terms or browse by subject category.

All Music Guide
[http://www.allmusic.com]
Comprehensive music reference source. Covers all genres and styles of music from opera to garage rock to traditional country and has critiques of albums and artists.

Critical Evaluation of Resources on the Internet
[http://www.library.ualberta.ca/guides/criticalevaluation/index.cfm]
Lengthy checklist of things to consider, as well as links to additional discussion and sources.

Flags of the World
[http://www.crwflags.com/fotw/flags/]
Comprehensive collection of current and past world flags with graphic images and historical texts.

Foreign Consular Offices in the United States
[http://www.state.gov/s/cpr/rls/fco/]
Directory, by country, of consular offices, across the country. Also links to information about chanceries and embassies in Washington.

The Foundation Center Online
[http://foundationcenter.org/]
Information about the Center's activities and services, as well as links to information about grants, grant applications, and granting organizations.

Fugitive Fact File
[http://www.hclib.org/pub/search/fff_public.cfm]
Starting point for hard to find information. All facts include source note.

Google Groups
[https://groups.google.com/forum/#!overview]
Search usenet postings, find groups to post to. Be sure to check facts from postings. Also links to peer ratings of products, shopping, etc.

GovLoans.gov
[http://www.govloans.gov/]
Information about federal loan programs from five federal agencies.

Guide to Grammar and Writing
[http://grammar.ccc.commnet.edu/grammar/]
Basic searchable, detailed guide to sentence structure, punctuation, and more. Includes an online dictionary and thesaurus, web links for writers, and even an interactive grammar advice column.

How Stuff Works
[http://www.howstuffworks.com/]
Illustrated explanations of how things work in the world around us. Clear and easy to understand.

Infoplease.com
[http://www.infoplease.com/index.html]
Search for or browse for information from Information Please Almanacs, a dictionary, and the Columbia Encyclopedia. Includes extensive biographical information. Special daily features.

maplandia.com
[http://www.maplandia.com/]
Google Maps world gazetteer contains maps and much more regional specific information, including history and tourist information.

Martindale's The Reference Desk
[http://www.martindalecenter.com/]
Links arranged by subject. Quick and easy to use.

MIT OpenCourseWare
[http://ocw.mit.edu]
Materials from Massachusetts Institute of Technology faculty's courses, including lecture notes, reading lists, and problem sets from hundreds of courses in all academic disciplines.

Princeton University Survey Research Center
[http://www.princeton.edu/~psrc/]
Survey findings, resources, practice, centers, etc.

Scholarly Societies Project
[http://www.lib.uwaterloo.ca/society/]
Browse by name or by subject for links to homepages, e-journals, conference announcements, etc. from scholarly societies around the world. Also articles and discussion about scholarly societies.

Search Systems
[http://www.searchsystems.net/]
Links to free databases with public records such as property assessments, incorporation records, Uniform Commercial Code Filings, etc. Browse by state and locality.

Security Response: Hoaxes (Symantec)
[http://www.symantec.com/avcenter/hoax.html]
Information about Internet hoaxes, most of which are spread as e-mail. Continuously updated alphabetical list.

The Spire Project
[http://spireproject.com/]
Guide to doing research using both the Internet and more traditional tools. "Articles" include links to sources.

TechTutorials
[http://www.techtutorials.net]
Free online tutorials on hardware, software, applications, etc. Designed for the "IT professional". New tutorials added constantly.

USA.gov
[http://www.usa.gov/]
Easy access to US federal, state and local government information. Search or browse by topic.


Atlases

National Map
[http://nationalmap.gov/]
Interactive site for mapping data for the entire United States.


Encyclopedias

Virus Encyclopedia
[http://www.avgthreatlabs.com/us-en/virus-and-malware-information]
Concise resource on malicious programs including viruses, Trojans, worms, and other malware.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Reference