University of Hartford Libraries

Psychology Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

American Medical Association Family Medical Guide
Mortensen Library Reference RC81 .A543 2004

Brain Book: An illustrated guide to its structure, function and disorders
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/dkbrain]
A complete guide to the one organ in the body that makes each of us what we are - unique individuals.

Cambridge Handbook of Computational Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupcomppsyc]
Definitive reference source for the growing, increasingly important, and interdisciplinary field of computational cognitive modeling, that is, computational psychology.

Cambridge Handbook of Consciousness
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupcon]
After decades during which consciousness was considered beyond the scope of legitimate scientific investigation, consciousness re-emerged as a popular focus of research towards the end of the last century, and it has remained so for nearly 20 years.

Cambridge Handbook of Expertise and Expert Performance
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupexpert]
The world's foremost 'experts on expertise' review our scientific knowledge on expertise and expert performance and how experts may differ from non-experts in terms of their development, training, reasoning, knowledge, social support, and innate talent.

Cambridge Handbook of Personal Relationships
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cuppr]
Serves as a benchmark of the current state of scholarship in this dynamic field, synthesizing the extant theoretical and empirical literature, tracing its historical roots, and making recommendations for future directions.

Cambridge Handbook of Psychology and Economic Behaviour
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cuppeb]
Psychologists have been observing and interpreting economic behavior for at least fifty years, and the last decade, in particular, has seen an escalated interest in the interface between psychology and economics.

Cambridge Handbook of Psychology, Health and Medicine
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupphm]
Offers an entirely up-to-date, comprehensive, accessible, one-stop resource for clinical psychologists, mental health professionals and specialists in health-related matters.

Cambridge Handbook of Sociocultural Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupsp]
The handbook integrates contributions of sociocultural specialists from fifteen countries, all tied together by the unifying focus on the role of sign systems in human relations with the environment.

Cambridge Handbook of Violent Behavior and Aggression
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupvba]
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary examination of the most current research and thinking about the complex issue of violence and violent behavior.

Child Abuse: Law and Policy Across Boundaries
Mortensen Library Reference K5189 .H69 2007

Comprehensive Handbook of Psychopathology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sprhp]
Provides in-depth coverage of theoretical, research, and clinical positions in psychopathology.

Consciousness: A Guide to the Debates
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcconscie?institutionId=4005]
A guide to the debates of researchers and philosophers on the study of consciousness research.

Death, Dying and the Ending of Life
Mortensen Library Reference R726 .D4413 2007

Domestic violence sourcebook : basic consumer information about intimate partner abuse, stalking, sexual harassment, and human trafficking, including facts about risk factors, warning signs, and forms of physical, sexual, mental, emotional, and financial abuse in women, men, adolescents, recent immigrants, elders, and other specific populations; along with facts about victims and abusers, strategies for preventing and intervening in abusive situations, guidelines for managing emergencies and making safety plans, interventions through workplaces and faith communities, tips regarding legal protections, a glossary of related terms, and a directory of resources for further information
Mortensen Library Reference HV6626.2 .D685 2013

Drugs, Alcohol, and Tobacco: Learning about Addictive Behavior
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028659008&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Articles on the nature of addiction and its roots include advertising, genetics, families, and personal problems.

The Elgar Companion to Consumer Research and Economic Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/elgarcrep?institutionId=4005]
Provides an international, in-depth overview of the present state of knowledge and theory.

Gender Issues and Sexuality: Essential Primary Sources
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9781414412610&contentSegment=9781414412610]
Focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries.

Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/estaging?institutionId=4005]
Provides a comprehensive summary and evaluation of recent research on the social aspects of aging.

Handbook of Forensic Psychology: Resource for Mental Health and Legal Professionals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/estforensic?institutionId=4005]
Provide professionals with current, practical, and empirically based information to guide their work in forensic settings, or to better their understanding of the issues and debates in forensic psychology.

Hate Crimes
Mortensen Library Reference HV6773.52 .S768 2003

Health care careers directory (American Medical Association)
Mortensen Library Reference R847 .D57 2012

Human anatomy and physiology
Mortensen Library Reference QA182.S3 H8 2001

International Handbook of Giftedness and Talent
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/estgift?institutionId=4005]
Research tool to academics, researchers and students interested in the field of giftedness and talent.

Key Concepts in Developmental Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageukdp]
This book serves as a guide to the principal concepts currently in use in Developmental Psychology and is perfect for courses in child development or developmental psychology.

Key Concepts in Health Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageukhp]
Aims to provide the reader with a comprehensive understanding of the key issues, theories, models, and methods in contemporary health psychology.

Key Concepts in Medical Sociology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageukms]
Provides a systematic and accessible introduction to medical sociology.

Manual of Toxicologic Emergencies
Mortensen Library Reference RA1224.5 .G63 2007

Merck Manual of Medical Information: Second Home Edition
[http://www.merckmanuals.com/Home]
Explains disorders, who is likely to get them, symptoms, how they're diagnosed, prevention, treatment, and prognosis

Poisoning and Toxicology Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference RA1215 .P65 2008

Psychologists and Their Theories for Students
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414406459&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Perfect for research assignments in psychology, science and history, this one-stop source for in-depth coverage of major psychological theories and the people who developed them provides a unique approach to the study of psychological history as it pertains to analysis.

The Psychology of Cyberspace
[http://www-usr.rider.edu/~suler/psycyber/psycyber.html]
Psychological aspects of the environments created by computers and online networks are explored in an evolving interactive site. Major areas discussed include the psychology of the individual in cyberspace, cyberspace relationships and group dynamics, and The Palace Study, an ongoing case study of an online multimedia community.

Reader's Guide to the Social Sciences
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routsocial?institutionId=4005]
Includes numerous entries in A-Z order, critically reviewing the literature on specific topics from abortion to world systems theory.

Report of the Legislature on the Principal Findings from the Epidemiology of Autism in California (2002)
[http://www.dds.ca.gov/Autism/docs/study_final.pdf]
This State of California report of 2002 is one of the most important studies conducted on the increased incidence of Autism Spectrum Disorders. Includes bibliography.

Youth violence and delinquency : monsters and myths
Mortensen Library Reference HV9104 .Y6854 2007


Biographies

Biographical Dictionary of Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routbiopsy?institutionId=4005]
Provides biographical and bibliographical information on psychologists from all over the world from 1850 to the present day.

Key Thinkers in Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageuktp]
It is important for every student of psychology, wherever they might be in the world, to understand the classic scholars, the classic studies, and the subsequent generations of people and ideas that have come to define the broad discipline that is 'psychology'.


Dictionaries

The American Heritage Abbreviations Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/hmabbr?institutionId=4005]
Definition for abbreviations across disciplines.

The American Heritage Medical Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/hmmedicaldict]
Provides students, health care professionals, and general consumers interested in medical vocabulary with a comprehensive reference that reflects the most recent developments in medicine and health care delivery.

Black's Medical Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/blackmed]
Impressive medical dictionary for all Health Science practitioners.

Collins Dictionary of Medicine
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsmed]
Covers all subjects required by current clinical and scientific medical practice.

Dictionary of Conflict Resolution, Wiley
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/wileyconfres]
Offers common and varied uses of terms, clarifies differences between terms, and recommends accurate usage.

Dictionary of Forensic Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/willanfp]
Covers key aspects of criminal justice and the criminal justice system, designed to meet the needs of both students and practitioners.

Dictionary of Medical Terms
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/acbmedterm?institutionId=4005]
This dictionary provides the user with the basic vocabulary - from A to zymotic - currently being used in a wide range of healthcare situations.

Dictionary of Mind and Body: Therapies, Techniques and Ideas in Alternative Medicine, the Healing Arts and Psychology
Mortensen Library Reference BF168 .W37 1996

Dictionary of Psychological Theories (Elsevier)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/estpsyctheory?institutionId=4005]
Contains terms covering the origination, development, and evolution of various psychological concepts, as well as the historical definition, analysis, and criticisms of psychological concepts.

Dictionary of Statistics & Methodology: A Nontechnical Guide to the Social Sciences
Mortensen Library Reference HA17 .V64 2005

Jablonski's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/ehsacron]
Medical dictionary for important abbreviations.

The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/penguinpsyc?institutionId=4005]
Explores the latest developments in psychology, psychiatry and related fields, including new material on neuroscience and social psychology.

Slee’s Health Care Terms
Mortensen Library Reference RA423 .S55 2008

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
Comprised of concise, informative entries on all the most important terms in medicine. Mortensen Library Reference: R121 .T18 2013; Mortensen Library Shelves: R121 .T18 2013.

Webster's New World Medical Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/webstermed?institutionId=4005]
Invaluable resource that will help you make sense of confusing medical jargon, prepare for a doctor visit, or research treatment options.


Encyclopedias

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupchilddev]
Authoritative, accessible and up-to-date account of all aspects of child development.

The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/wileypsych]
Entries in all major categories of psychology.

Edinburgh International Encyclopaedia of Psychoanalysis
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/edinburghpsychoa]
Contains authoritative entries on all the most important authors, practitioners, concepts, movements, schools, debates and controversies in psychoanalysis and its offspring, past and present.

Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/hodderdpsyc]
The Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Psychology addresses all these issues and more, and is a core reference for any student of psychology. It is authoritative and accessible, and covers the basic curriculum content of a degree course along with more specialized material in areas of widespread interest

Encyclopedia of Applied Developmental Science
Mortensen Library Reference HQ767.84 .E52 2005

Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/estappliedpsyc]
Comprehensive and authoritative study covering the field of applied psychology.

Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/wileycs]
Current thinking about the workings of the mind and brain, focusing on problems that are as old as recorded history, but reflecting new approaches and techniques that have emerged since the 1980s.

Encyclopedia of Consciousness
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/estcon]
Encompasses a summary of major research and scientific thought regarding the nature of consciousness, the neural circuitry involved, how the brain, body, and world interact, and our understanding of subjective states.

Encyclopedia of Learning and Memory
Mortensen Library Reference BF318 .E53 1992

Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics
Mortensen Library Reference HA29 .S2363 2007

Encyclopedia of Medicine (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://find.galegroup.com/gvrl/infomark.do?type=aboutBook&docId=CX3451699999&tabID=T002&actionString=DO_DISPLAY_ABOUT_PAGE&version=1.0&source=library&userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL]
Search the full five volumes of the 2nd edition (2002) encyclopedia which presents information on medical disorders and concepts. Each article presents causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and related topics. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of Mental Health - Gale
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9781414429908&contentSegment=9781414429908]
Provides detailed information on mental disorders and conditions. Also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.

Encyclopedia of Occultism & Parapsychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780787677459&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
This single-volume, accessible resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information.

Encyclopedia of Occultism and Parapsychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780787677459&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information.

Encyclopedia of the Human Brain
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/esthumanbrain]
Covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science, this encyclopedia contains peer reviewed signed articles from experts around the world.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780787677459&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
This single-volume, accessible resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information.

Medical Encyclopedia Index
[http://www.umm.edu/ency/index/eng_index.htm]
Part of the University of Maryland's Medical Reference section. Available in both English and Spanish.

Psychology of Classroom Learning
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9780028661704&contentSegment=9780028661704]
Examines the fundamental psychological aspects of learning such as cognition, motivation, and emotion, as well as individual and environmental factors at work in the classroom.

The Royal Society of Medicine health encyclopedia : the complete medical reference library in one A-Z volume
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/rsmhealth?institutionId=4005]
Provides comprehensive information on all aspects of health and disease.


Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/abicomplete/advanced?accountid=11308]
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Alcohol Studies Database
[http://www.scc.rutgers.edu/alcohol_studies/alcohol/]
This database contains citations of over 55,000 documents indexed by the Rutgers University Center of Alcohol Studies. The database focuses on scholarly and professional materials on beverage alcohol, its use and related consequences.

APA PsycNet
[http://psycnet.apa.org/#]
Full text, searchable access to articles and publications of the APA, NIMH, U.S. Center for Mental Health Services, and the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.

CINAHL with Full Text
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=c8h]
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with links to selected full text articles. Indexes English language journals, books, dissertations, standards, research instruments, etc. Includes cited references. Selected items include abstracts. Offered to the University of Hartford through iconn.

CQ Researcher
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/#.UmkuiL7D_cs]
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis of issues in the news. Published 44 times each year, with each report covering a single issue in depth. Reports consist of background and chronology, assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements, and bibliographies of key resources. Html and pdf versions available. with reports published since 2001 in color. Includes full text.

Dissertations and Theses @ University of Hartford (Proquest)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/pqdtlocal1006624?accountid=11308]
Dissertations by University of Hartford students. Includes full text for most, especially those published after 1996.

Dissertations and Theses Abstracts + Full Text (Proquest)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/pqdthss?accountid=11308]
Describes over 2 million dissertations from institutions around the U.S. (and some international), with citations from 1861 to the present. Includes full text for many of the Humanities and Social Sciences dissertations as well as most UH dissertations 1997-present. Many of the other dissertations are available through interlibrary loan .

ERIC (Proquest)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/eric/advanced?accountid=11308]
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database has abstracts of articles from over 775 journals. ERIC also indexes education research in books and contains a massive collection of ERIC documents, with full text online or in microfiche. (Univ. of Hartford has micro going back to 1980).

Essay & General Literature Index with Retrospective
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=egr,egi]
Years Covered: 1900-
Essay & General Literature offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://find.galegroup.com/gvrl/start.do?prodID=GVRL&userGroupName=a23uh]
Search the tables of contents or full text of selected reference books in business, education, the environment, medicine biology, and the social sciences.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Humanities Abstracts
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=hma]
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology

JSTOR Arts and Sciences
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.jstor.org]
Searchable full text of articles from selected scholarly journals in fields including area studies, anthropology, ecology, economics, education, history, language and literature, mathematics, philosophy, political sciences, sociology and statistics. No current issues available. Historical coverage varies, but database includes some titles from before 1950.

JSTOR Life Sciences Collection
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.jstor.org]
Searchable full text of articles from selected scholarly journals in life sciences. No current issues available. Historical coverage varies, but database includes some titles from before 1950. Access to this database is made possible by Elisabeth R. Swain, PhD Endowment. Once you are in JSTOR, you are searching all of the University of Hartford owned JSTOR products.

MEDLINE
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=cmedm]
Years Covered: 1840-Present
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available.

NDLTD: Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
[http://www.ndltd.org/resources/find-etds]
NDLTD Union Catalog contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations and includes links to other databases of electronic theses and dissertations.

Open Access Theses and Dissertations
[http://www.oatd.org/]
Resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world.

PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/pilots/advanced?accountid=11308]
Includes citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.

PrimateLit
[http://primatelit.library.wisc.edu]
Research in primatology, covering ecology, biology, psychology, health sciences and other fields. Citations of articles in journals dating since 1940. Managed by the Wisconsin Primate Research Center, with funding from the National Institutes of Health. Bibliography.

ProQuest Education Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/education?accountid=11308]
Search the leading full-text journals in education and related fields. ProQuest® Education Journals gives users access to over 760 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text.

ProQuest Health Management
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/healthmanagement?accountid=11308]
Find complete, full-text information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/nursing?accountid=11308]
Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications. Designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.

ProQuest Psychology Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/psychologyshell?accountid=11308]
ProQuest Psychology Journals™ provides abstracts and indexing for more than 615 titles, with over 520 titles available in full text. Both students and mental-health professionals get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research from top psychology and related publications.

PsycARTICLES
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=pdh]
Years Covered: 1894-
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains approximately 150,000 articles from over 70 journals published by the APA, and its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychology Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group.

Psychology Complete from Ebsco (PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=psyh,pdh]
Search PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES at the same time gaining expanded coverage and one stop for much of your Psychology search needs.

PsycInfo
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=psyh]
International, multilingual index with abstracts of articles, books, and selected dissertations in psychology. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

PubMed (MEDLINE)
[http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/PubMed/]
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available with limited full text.

PubMed Central
[http://www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov]
Free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journals, maintained by the US National Institutes of Health. Some journals do not include current issues. Digitization program underway to build complete back files. Full text available.

Scitation (AIP) and SPIN - formerly Online Journal Publishing Service
[http://scitation.aip.org/]
Free access to this index (some full text or abstracts) of more than 40 professional journals and 1 million articles in physics, engineering and computer science including full text for Physical Review & Physical Review Letters. SPIN contains 1.5 million articles from leading Physics publications. You may search Scitation and SPIN in one search or separately.

SPIN (InfoEd International)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://spin.infoedglobal.com/Home/Search]
Searchable database of funding opportunities. Continuously updated. "Jump to GENIUS" to create a custom profile for updates. Made available by Office of Grants and Contracts, University of Hartford.


Periodicals

Free Medical Journals
[http://www.freemedicaljournals.com/]
Listing with links to Free Medical Journals and a listing of any limitations

German Journal of Psychiatry
[http://www.gjpsy.uni-goettingen.de/]
Free, English-language, peer-reviewed journal begun in 1998. Includes articles, case studies, and conference announcements. Early issues had studies on body image and eating disorders, depression among the elderly, and seasonal-affective disorders.


Subject Headings

Medical Subject Headings
[https://www.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/]
Explanation of NLM's (Medline/Pubmed) MESH Subject Headings, how they work and how to use them.


Websites

General Resources

ADDA National Attention Deficit Association
[http://www.add.org/]
Information on attention deficit hyperactivity disorder. Includes basic material; treatment information, research, ADD and school, family issues, career and work, and legal issues.

American Psychoanalytic Association
[http://apsa.org/]
Literature Search section provides keyword/author access to pre-PsycLit material.

American Psychological Association
[http://www.apa.org/]
The website of the leading professional a association in psychology is crammed with not only organizational and conference information, but also full text material, including articles from APA journals, position papers, reports, and more. Access through the Site Map or Latest News, since the search engine is poor.

AmoebaWeb: Psychology On The Web
[http://vanguard.edu/psychology/amoebaweb/]
Resources in Psychology capturing the best information on the internet.

Annual Reviews
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.annualreviews.org/]
Search engine for all 26 of Annual Reviews' products with table of contents and abstracts.

APA Style Guide Website
[http://www.apastyle.org/apa-style-help.aspx]
Official guidelines for citing electronic information sources, including EBSCOhost and other online databases. Official Site.

APA Style Resources
[http://www.psywww.com/apastyle]
Multiple sites providing guidance on APA style citations.

Asperger Syndrome, from Autism Speaks
[https://www.autismspeaks.org/what-autism/asperger-syndrome]
This description and guide to Asperger Syndrome from the website Autism Speaks discusses diagnosis, services and support, and advocacy options for people with Asperger Syndrome.

Association for Psychological Science (APS) - Home Page
[http://www.psychologicalscience.org/]
Includes links to electronic journals, graduate student and teaching resources.

Autism Information Center
[http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/autism]
Essential information about Autism and Autism Spectrum Disorders for the Center for Disease Control and Prevention.

Autism Resources
[http://www.autism-resources.com/]
General information about autism. Links include book lists and lists of other web sites, as well as information for parents.

Autism Society of America (ASA)
[http://www.autism-society.org/]
Links to general information about autism, as well as news, conference information, and resources for families with autistic children.

Autism Speaks.org
[http://www.autismspeaks.org/index.php]
Site includes general information about autism symptoms, treatment and research, as well as links to recent publications.

Child and Family WebGuide (Tufts University)
[http://ase.tufts.edu/cfw/]
Discusses and evaluates research-based websites on child development. Covered topics include child mental health, typical development, learning, and family/parenting issues.

Classics in the History of Psychology (York University)
[http://psychclassics.yorku.ca/]
Compiles the full text of over 80 significant works in the history of psychology and links to an additional 120 works on other websites. A primary source reading list details each work's importance to the field.

CogPrints
[http://cogprints.org/]
Electronic archive for papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, as well as portions of computer Science, Philosophy, Biology and other fields pertinent to the study of cognition.

Consortium for Research on Emotional Intelligence in Organizations
[http://www.eiconsortium.org/]
Research related to EI topics, including self-awareness, optimism and empathy in the workplace. Includes links to full text of reports, information about model programs, a bibliography and links to related sources.

Educational Psychology Interactive (Valdosta University)
[http://www.edpsycinteractive.org/edpsyint.html]
An extensive collection of full text articles, models, and links to Internet resources, as well as bibliographies of print materials, on topics in educational psychology.

ePsych (Mississippi State University)
[http://epsych.msstate.edu/]
Dynamic introductory textbook with a sense of humor. Features interactive experiments and videos illustrating psychological concepts.

Evolutionary Psychology: A Primer (U.California, Santa Barbara)
[http://www.cep.ucsb.edu/primer.html]
Introductory article from 1997 outlining the basic biological principles underlying the topic. Includes a comparison of the phylogenetic and adaptationist approaches to psychology. Bibliography.

Hanover College Psychology Department
[http://psych.hanover.edu/]
Tutorials, experiments, annotated links to electronic journals and conference proceedings, psychological societies, and links to other psychology websites worldwide.

Human Intelligence
[http://www.indiana.edu/%7Eintell/]
A comprehensive overview of the field of intelligence theory and testing from Plato to the present day is presented in this site. It includes a timeline of the major figures in the field and a "Hot Topics" section.

Internet Addiction Guide
[http://psychcentral.com/netaddiction/]
In this article, John M. Grohol, Psy. D., presents "an objective source of information about Internet addiction, overuse, and pathology online.

Lyman (UConn Health Center)
[http://library.uchc.edu/]
Access to all holdings of the Lyman Maynard Stowe Library.

Neurosciences on the Internet
[http://www.neuroguide.com/]
Keyword and subject searchable database of web and other Internet resources in neurobiology, neurology, neurosurgery, psychiatry, psychology, and cognitive science.

NIDA: National Institute of Drug Abuse
[http://www.drugabuse.gov/]
Ensuring the rapid and effective dissemination and use of the results of that research to significantly improve prevention and treatment and to inform policy as it relates to drug abuse and addiction.

Psych Web
[http://www.psywww.com/]
Superb guide to loads of websites of everything from brain scans to original papers.

Psychiatry Online
[http://www.priory.com/psych.htm]
An international peer-reviewed journal of articles, case reports, and briefs in such areas as transcultural mental health, child and adolescent psychiatry, and forensic psychiatry. Archives can be accessed through the Search button.

Psychology of Religion Pages (Georgia Southern University)
[http://psychwww.com/psyrelig/index.htm]
Extensive resources on the psychological aspects of religious belief and behavior. Includes essays, discussion groups, course syllabus collection, and list of links.

Psychology Web Links by Topic
[http://www.socialpsychology.org/psylinks.htm]
Subdivided into clinical, cognitive, cultural, developmental, personality, and social psychology; neuroscience; industrial-organizational; history of psychology.

SALMON: Study and Learning Materials ON-line (University of Plymouth)
[http://www.flyfishingdevon.co.uk/salmon/]
Support materials for undergraduate physiological psychology courses. Covers such topics as stress, neurotransmission, and sexual behavior. Extensive graphics.

SearchMedica
[http://www.searchmedica.co.uk/]
Access hundreds of high-quality Web sites. One time user registration is required, but site is free to use.

Treatment and Education of Autistic and Related Communication Handicapped Children
[http://www.teacch.com/]
Division TEACCH provides general information about autism, an overview of different educational and communication approaches, as well as information on research and professional training opportunities

Web of Addictions
[http://www.well.com/user/woa/]
Provides information about alcohol and other drug addictions. Includes a collection of fact sheets, links to other net resources, conference calendar, special topics, and a help "desk.

What is Autism? - From Autism Society of America (ASA)
[http://www.autism-society.org/site/PageServer]
Overview of autism and related disorders, including information on: characteristics, causes, diagnosis, and prevalence. Also includes an online course on autism (free).

Whole Brain Atlas
[http://www.med.harvard.edu/AANLIB/home.html]
CT and MRI images of healthy and dysfunctional brains. Java required for fullest use of pages.

Writing and Presenting your Thesis or Dissertation
[http://www.lulu.com/shop/s-joseph-levine/writing-and-presenting-your-thesis-or-dissertation-ebook/ebook/product-96916.html]
These guides are very practical and focus on the "quasi-political" aspects of gaining approval for your thesis or dissertation.

Writing Links from the University of Hartford's Center for Reading and Writing
[http://www.hartford.edu/academics/tutoring_assist/center_reading_writing/writing_links.aspx]
The University of Hartford's Center for Reading and Writing provides a list of links for help with MLA and APA guidelines, writing a thesis, and other resources for writers.

WWW Virtual Library
[http://www.vlib.us/]
Distributed subject catalog. Megasite, constantly updated.


Connecticut

2-1-1 Connecticut (Connecticut's community resources database)
[http://www.211ct.org/]
Information for approximately 4,600 health and human service providers and 48,000 service-sites to help meet your needs.


Dictionaries

EurekAlert!
[https://www.eurekalert.org/bysubject/education.php]
List of articles and public releases scientific disciplines, geared toward education. Searchable.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Psychology
[http://www.psychology.org/]
Links to psychology websites in such categories as "People and History", and "Environment Behavior Relationships".. Additional sites for career exploration and professional organizations.


Statistics

Health United States
[http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/hus.htm]
An annual report on trends in health statistics in the United States (1975-present).

National Center for Health Statistics
[http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/default.htm]
Provides accurate, relevant, and timely health statistics from the US Department of Health and Human Services.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Psychology