University of Hartford Libraries

Political Economy Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Africa Development Indicators
[http://go.worldbank.org/U4SNSH1FC0]
Current Africa Development Indicators for download with access to statistics from 1965 to present. Have print (2002) Mortensen Library Reference HC800 .A475

Budget of the United States Government
[http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collectionGPO.action?collectionCode=BUDGET]
Full text of proposed budget, available for viewing and printing in PDF. Selected documents are searchable

Business Ratios and Formulas: A Comprehensive Guide
Mortensen Library Reference HF5691 .B73

Cities of the United States: a Compilation of Current Information on Economic, Cultural, Geographic, and Social Conditions
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414437590&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=etoc&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Provides information on America's top cities--those fastest-growing, as well as those with a particular historical, political, industrial, and/or commercial significance. City-specific profiles organize pertinent facts, data, and figures related to demographic, economic, cultural, geographic, social, and recreational conditions.

Code of Federal Regulations
[http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collectionCfr.action?collectionCode=CFR]
Searchable text of current US regulations, with link to Federal Register for updates.

The Elgar Companion to Consumer Research and Economic Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/elgarcrep?institutionId=4005]
Provides an international, in-depth overview of the present state of knowledge and theory.

A Financial History of the United States
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sharpefhus]
American history from a financial perspective.

Government, Politics, and Protest: Essential Primary Sources
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9781414412634&contentSegment=9781414412634]
A collection of primary source documents that focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries.

Handbook of North American Industry: NAFTA and the Economies of its Member Nations
Mortensen Library Reference HF1746 .H36 1998

Handbook of Political Sociology: States, Civil Societies, and Globalization
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cuppolsoc]
Provides the first complete survey of the vibrant field of political sociology.

Key Concepts in Political Communication
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageukpc]
This is a systematic and accessible introduction to the critical concepts, structures and professional practices of political communication.

Key Concepts in Work
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageukwork]
Clearly and concisely explains the central ideas, debates and theories of work in social, political and economic contexts.

Major Acts of Congress
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028659091&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
All aspects of legislation are covered, including the National Prohibition Act, the Civil Rights Act, the Family and Medical Leave Act, the Americans with Disabilities Act, the Fair Housing Act, the Freedom of Information Act and much more.

North American Industry Classification System, United States
[https://www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/]
Searchable and printable full text of the current and older codes back to the 2002 report.

OECD Main Economic Indicators
Mortensen Library Reference HC10 .O68 (current 2 years)

Petersonís MBA Programs
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .P44 (2009 edition)

Reader's Guide to the Social Sciences
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routsocial?institutionId=4005]
Includes numerous entries in A-Z order, critically reviewing the literature on specific topics from abortion to world systems theory.

Schaumís Outline of Microeconomics
Mortensen Library Reference QA182.S3 S35 2006

Terrorism: A Guide to Events and Documents
Mortensen Library Reference HV6431 .K698 2004

World Economic and Social Survey
[http://www.un.org/esa/policy/wess/index.html]
Full Text of current World Economic Social Survey by the United Nations. Library has (1994-2007) Mortensen Library Reference HC59 .A16

World Economic Outlook: a Survey by the Staff of the International Monetary Fund
[http://www.imf.org/external/ns/cs.aspx?id=29]
IMF provides full text access to surveys dating back to 1993 with links to statistical database (1999-present). Library holds print (1981-2007) Mortensen Library Reference HC10 .W7979

World Economic Situation and Prospects
[http://www.un.org/esa/policy/wess/wesp.html]
United Nations information on World Economics Full Text from 1947-present.

World Economy: Historical Statistics
Mortensen Library Reference HF1359 .M333 2003

World Politics Since 1945
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/pearsonwp]
World Politics since 1945 is essential reading for those who need to understand the great sweeps of contemporary history.


Careers

The Best 296 Business Schools
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .B47 (2015 edition) and Mortensen Library Shelves HF1131 .B47 (2014 edition)

Petersonís MBA Programs
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .P44 (2009 edition)


Connecticut

Connecticut State Register and Manual
[http://www.ct.gov/sots/cwp/view.asp?a=3188&q=392636]
Interactive version of the "Blue Book" providing history, biographies, and directory information for state government and state congressional delegation from 1997. Have print in Mortensen Library Shelves JK3331 .A4


Dictionaries

The Anti-Capitalist Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/zedacd]
This dictionary is an alternative and a counter-balance to the many political dictionaries that ignore or marginalize the history and influence of anti-capitalist movements.

BUSINESS: The Ultimate Resource- Dictionary of Business and Management
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/ultimatebusiness]
Definitions of international business and management terms. Abbreviations and acronyms.

Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupsoc]
Entries cover schools, theories, theorists and debates, with substantial articles on all key topics in the field.

Collins Dictionary of Business
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsbus]
Business reference covering business theory and practice.

Collins Dictionary of Sociology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinssoc]
Guide to the terms and concepts used in every area of sociology, and to related terms in political science, economics and anthropology.

Dictionary of Business
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/acbbusiness?institutionId=4005]
Basic vocabulary used in both British and American business.

Dictionary of Politics and Government
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/acbgovtpol]
Significant number of terms covering world politics, international relations, local and national government and the European Union.

Encyclopedia of the European Union
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/lrpenceu]
The Encyclopedia of the European Union provides in-depth, authoritative discussions of the key concepts, developments, institutions, policies, negotiations, treaties, national interests, personalities, etc., related to European integration.

Eponymous Dictionary of Economics: a Guide to Laws and Theorems Named After Economists
Mortensen Library Reference HB61 .E66 2004

Glossary of Political Theory
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/edinburghgpt]
Presenting theory in an abstract fashion makes it daunting for students who can find it difficult to see the links between theory and practice. The definitions in this glossary therefore relate political ideas to political realities (i.e. everyday controversies) in an attempt to make them as lively, stimulating and accessible as possible.

Glossary of UK Government and Politics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/edinburghgukgp]
Reference guide to the events, personnel, policies and institutions relevant to the government and politics of the United Kingdom from accountability to the womenís movement.

The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
Mortensen Library Reference HB61 .N49 2008

Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Political Thought
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/macpt]
Entries from Abdication to zoning cover every aspect of political thought, defining concepts and ideologies, surveying the arguments on issues, giving capsule histories of political institutions, and summarizing (with newly expanded treatment) the thought of major political theorists.

Political Philosophy A-Z
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/edinburghppaz]
Guides the reader through the intricacies of political theory, enabling them to trace their way through a debate, fixing historical and theoretical points of reference along the way. It is well suited for students studying political philosophy at university.

Wall Street Lingo: Thousands of Investment Terms Explained Simply
Mortensen Library Reference HG4513 .P48 2007


Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia of Business (Capstone)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/capstonebus]
Reference information of business.

Encyclopedia of Business and Finance (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3402799999]
Search the full two volumes of the 2nd edition (2001) Encyclopedia which presents information on a wide range of business issues. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of Political Economy
Mortensen Library Reference HB61 .E554

Encyclopedia of Population (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3403999999]
Search two volumes of the 2003 Encyclopedia, providing up-to-date coverage of demographic issues and the broad topic of population studies, including population growth, low fertility rates, support for aging populations, environmental impact of dense population, etc. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of Public Choice
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sprpubchoice]
Offers a detailed and comprehensive account of the subject that deals with the intersection of economics and political science.

Encyclopedia of the Worldís Nations
Mortensen Library Reference G63 .K874 2002

Encyclopedia of World Poverty
Mortensen Library Reference HV12 .E54 2006

Globalization: Encyclopedia of Trade, Labor, and Politics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcgetlp]
This work is a comprehensive collection of cutting-edge scholarship on the economic, international business, political, legal, and environmental ramifications of globalization- one of the hottest topics of the day.

Ireland and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abciramrle?institutionId=4005]
Covers the impact that Ireland and the nations of the Americas have had on one another since the time of Brendan the Navigator.

Political Corruption in America: An Encyclopedia of Scandals, Power
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ghpca]
This dynamic reference work covers the complete scandal-filled history of American political corruption. Information-packed entries explore the people, crimes, investigations and court cases behind 200 years of political scandals.

Poverty and the Government in America: A Historical Encyclopedia
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcpga]
The most comprehensive encyclopedia available on the U.S. government's responses to poverty from the colonial era to the present day.

Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/prewe]
From trade agreements to offshore outsourcing to foreign aid, this encyclopedia explains the key elements of the world economy and provides a first step to further research for students and scholars in public policy, international studies, business, and the broader social sciences, as well as for economic policy professionals.


International - Statistics

OECD in Figures
[http://www.oecd-ilibrary.org/search?option1=titleAbstract&option2=&value2=&option3=&value3=&option4=&value4=&option5=&value5=&option6=&value6=&option7=&value7=&option8=&value8=&option9=&value9=&option10=&value10=&option11=&value11=&option12=&value12=&option13=&value13=&option14=&value14=&option15=&value15=&option16=&value16=&option17=&value17=&option18=sort&value18=&form_name=quick&option22=excludeKeyTableEditions&value22=true&value1=oecd+in+figures]
Full text for 2000-current available.


Statistics- International

Least Developed Countries Report
[http://www.unctad.org/en/Pages/ALDC/Least%20Developed%20Countries/The-Least-Developed-Countries-Report.aspx]
Reports from the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development discussing economic development and poverty reduction in least developed countries.

OECD Factbook: Economic, Environmental and Social Statistics
[http://new.SourceOECD.org/factbook]
Access to statistics and graphs from the Organisation for Economic Co-ooperation and Development.


United States - Statistics

State Profiles: the Population and Economy of Each State
Mortensen Library Reference HA203 .S734

Statistical Handbook on Consumption and Wealth in the United States
Mortensen Library Reference HC110.C6 S73 1999


Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/abicomplete/advanced?accountid=11308]
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Emerald Fulltext
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.emeraldinsight.com/Insight/menuNavigation.do?hdAction=menu_ca_sb_quick_search]
Database of articles from approximately 200 journals covering business, management, and administration issues. Full text. Available in both PDF and HTML formats.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Global Financial Data
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://www.globalfinancialdata.com/GFDPlatform/Login.aspx]
LOGIN as ANONYMOUS to use full database or create your own user name and password to save searches, etc. Global Financial Data provides accurate, verified financial data and statistics. Compiled from original sources, the GF Database is an online collection of more than 20,000 data series, which span decades or even centuries of information, and cover more than 200 countries. It is accessible anytime, anywhere 24 hours a day. Offers daily close data for US stocks, daily stock market histories begin as early as 1962 for major US stocks, and delivers original end-of-day trading values for individual United States stocks. PLEASE NOTE: There is a 20 person seat limit. So please, LOGOUT, to end your session properly.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Military & Government Collection
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=mth]
Formerly Military Library FullTEXT. Full text of over 320 history, political science and military related periodicals and general interest magazines, with abstracts of articles from an additional 300 plus titles.

World Bank Open Data
[http://data.worldbank.org/]
Vast collection of economic, social, population, and development data with no restrictions and at no cost.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/wpsa/advanced?accountid=11308]
Years Covered: 1975-Present
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.


Periodicals

OECD Economic Outlook
[http://www.oecd.org/findDocument/0,3770,en_2649_34109_1_119660_1_1_1,00.html]
Current full text online. Selected full text for previous issues. Library has print Mortensen Library Periodicals HC10 .O18


Websites

General Resources

American Presidency Project
[http://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/]
The archives contain thousands of documents such as inaugural addresses, party platforms, candidates' remarks, Statements of Administration Policy, documents released by the Office of the Press Secretary, and election debates.

Asia-Pacific Research and Training Network on Trade
[http://www.unescap.org/tid/artnet/]
A cooperative project of the UNESCAP, UNCTAD, the WTO, and trade research and academic institutions from 15 member nations, provides resources for policy makers and researchers on East, South, and Southeast Asia on international trade policy and facilitation.

Bank Information Center
[http://www.bicusa.org/]
Information on the projects, policies and practices of the World Bank and other development banks. Includes publications and "toolkits" for those working with the banks. Multilingual.

Doing Business: Measuring Business Regulations (Worldbank)
[http://www.doingbusiness.org/]
Free access to information on many countries in several different languages.

Federal Reserve Board
[http://www.federalreserve.gov/]
Background, text of reports, selected statistics and other publications.

The Gallup Organization
[http://www.gallup.com/]
Public opinion polls and selected special reports. The archive of polls back to March 1997 is arranged chronologically.

Globalization in Focus (Foreign Policy in Focus)
[http://fpif.org/tag/globalization/]
Frequently updated information and opinion on globalization, the WTO, the IMF, the World Bank, etc.

Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies
[http://www.jointcenter.org]
Reports and statistics on public policy issues of special concern to black Americans and members of other minorities.

Library of Economics and Liberty
[http://www.econlib.org/]
Online books and essays (mostly classics) in Economics as well as opinion, links to economic data and institutions, and other recommended links.

NAFTA (North American Free Trade Agreement)
[https://ustr.gov/trade-agreements/free-trade-agreements/north-american-free-trade-agreement-nafta]
Full text and other information for NAFTA.

OECD
[http://www.oecd.org/]
Issue briefs, statistics, publications, and basic information on the OECD and its members.

Polling Report.com
[http://www.pollingreport.com/]
Continuously updated collection of public opinion on topics in politics, business and the American Scene drawn from US sources. Browse or search.

United for a Fair Economy
[http://www.faireconomy.org/]
Website devoted to corruption awareness in the economy, government, and community.

University of Michigan Documents Center
[http://www.lib.umich.edu/clark-library/collections/government-information]
Well organized site with extensive links to federal, state, foreign and international government information. Searchable.

US Securities and Exchange Commission
[http://www.sec.gov/]
Current news, regulations, information from the SEC, including access to the official EDGAR site


International

Country Studies (Library of Congress)
[http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/]
Full text of book length studies of some 100 countries. Includes analysis of political, economic, social, and national security systems.

The European Union in the US
[http://www.eurunion.org/]
Access to publications, web sites and other information.


Statistics

OECD
[http://www.oecd.org/]
Issue briefs, statistics, publications, and basic information on the OECD and its members.

UNECE's Gender Statistics
[http://www.unece.org/stats/gender/]
The United Nations Economic Commission for Europe has posted comparative gender statistics from all of its member countries in a database that allows users to create their own tables by selecting relevant criteria. Also included are government policy statements and time use surveys.


Statistics- Connecticut

Connecticut Market Data
[http://www.ct.gov/ecd/cwp/view.asp?a=1106&q=251002]
(Dept. of Economic and Community Development) Statistical information about Connecticut and its markets for products and services. Most presented in PDF format.


Statistics- International

Economic Time Series Page
[http://www.economagic.com/]
Data and charts for over 68,000 economic indicators, some providing data back to the 18th century. Services include government, traditional associations, etc.


Statistics- United States

Economic Indicators of the United States
[http://www.census.gov/cgi-bin/briefroom/BriefRm]
Key economic indicators from the Bureau of Economic Analysis and the US Census Bureau.

Economic Statistics Briefing Room
[http://www.census.gov/cgi-bin/briefroom/BriefRm]
Current Federal economic indicators from a number of agencies.

Economic Time Series Page
[http://www.economagic.com/]
Data and charts for over 68,000 economic indicators, some providing data back to the 18th century. Services include government, traditional associations, etc.

Federal Reserve Board
[http://www.federalreserve.gov/]
Background, text of reports, selected statistics and other publications.

State Government Finance Data, by State
[http://www.census.gov/govs/state/]
Information on revenues, expenditures, indebtedness, etc. of the 50 state governments. Annual since 1992.

Statistical Abstract Home Page (U. S. Census Bureau)
[https://www.census.gov/library/publications/time-series/statistical_abstracts.html]
A wealth of statistical data including state rankings and state and county profiles. Data back to 1878 edition available.


United States

Catalog of United States Government Publications
[http://catalog.gpo.gov/F]
Searchable bibliographic database of documents from GPO. Records are from the Monthly Catalog since 1994, and updated daily.

Congressional Budget Office
[http://www.cbo.gov/]
Link to full text of documents from CBO, including cost estimates, committee testimony, and other studies and reports.

Economic Report of the President
[http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=ERP]
Searchable text of the annual report on economic conditions. Available since 1996.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Political Economy