University of Hartford Libraries

Plucked Instruments Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

The Art and Technique of Performance
By Richard Provost. Allen Library Stacks [ML457 P96 A]

The Art and Technique of Practice
By Richard Provost. Allen Library Stacks [MT580 P96 A77]

Guitar and Vihuela: An Annotated Bibliography of the Literature on their History
By Alice McCutcheon. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 G96 M1]

History of the Lute From Antiquity to the Renaissance
By Douglas Alton Smith. Allen Library Stacks [ML1010 S55 H57]

Lute, Vihuela, Guitar to 1800, a Bibliography
By David Lyons. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 L9 L]

Performance on Lute, Guitar, and Vihuela: Historical Practice and Modern Interpretation
By Victor Coehlo. Allen Library Stacks [ML1003 P47]


Guitar

Annotated Catalog of Baroque Guitar Music Published Between c. 1600 and 1650
By Richard Provost. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 G96 P]

Classical Guitar Music in Print and Supplement ed. by Donald T. Reese
By Mijndert Jape, Supplement edited by Donald T. Reese. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 G96 J37 1989] and [ML128 G89 J37 1998]

Guitar Bibliography: An International Listing of Theoretical Literature on Classical Guitar from the Beginning to the Present
By Werner Schwarz. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 G96 S]

The Guitarist's Resource Guide: Guitar Music in Print and Books on the Art of Guitar
By Joseph Rezits. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 G96 R]


Harp

Harp Music Bibliography Supplement: Compositions for Solo Harp and Harp Ensemble2.
By Mark Palkovic. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 H2 P34 2002 suppl.]

Harp Music Bibliography
By Mark Palkovic. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 H2 P34]

The Harp: Its History, Technique, and Repertoire
By Roslyn Rensch. Allen Library Stacks [ML1005 R42]


Call Numbers

General Resources

M115 - M119
Harp solo

M125 - M129
Guitar solo

M140 - M142
Lute solo

M272 - M273
Harp and piano

M276 - M277
Guitar and piano

M325 - M329
2 plectral instruments and piano

M325 - M386
Trios which may include 1 or more plectral instruments

M365 - M386
Plectral trios

M425 - M429
3 plectral instruments and piano

M425 - M486
Quartets which may include 1 or more plectral instruments

M465 - M469
Plectral quartets

NOTE:
For Quintets, Sextets, Septets, Octets, Nonets use same formula as Quartets,
thus M765 - M769 are plectral septets


Concertos

M1036 - M1037
Concertos for harp [orchestra acc.]

M1037.4
Concertos for other plectral instruments [orchestra acc.]

M1136 - M1137
Concertos for harp [string orchestra]

M1137.4
Concertos for other plectral instruments [string orchestra]


Periodicals

Acoustic Guitar Magazine

American Harp Journal

Chamber Music America

Classical Guitar

Guitar and Lute Issues

Guitar Review

Historical Performance

International Musician
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/titles.asp?txtKeyword=International+Musician+&SF=Titles&id=8684&sid=76148354&LH=&lang.subject=&lang.menu=&cmdSearchSubmit=Search&optPages=1]

Lute Society of America Quarterly

Medical Problems of Performing Artists
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/titles.asp?txtKeyword=Medical+Problems+of+Performing+Artists+&SF=Titles&id=8684&sid=76148354&LH=&lang.subject=&lang.menu=&cmdSearchSubmit=Search&optPages=1]

Performance Practice Review


Subject Headings

Concertos guitar

Guitar and piano music

Guitar music

Guitar music guitars 2

Guitar with . . .

Plucked instrument ensembles

Plucked instrument trios; trios
[Follow for quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, nonets]

Sonatas guitar

Violin and guitar
[Follow for other melody instruments with guitar]


Websites

American Harp Society
[http://www.harpsociety.org/]
Information about the society, awards, competitions, concert artist programs, conferences, summer institutes, etc.

Chanterelle Verlag
[http://www.chanterelle.com/]
International publisher specializing in classical guitar music.

Chronological List of All Tablatures
[http://applications.library.appstate.edu/music/lute/home.html]
Includes existing lute, guitar, and vihuela tablatures from 1470 to 1840, as well as books known to have existed but are now lost.

Connecticut Classical Guitar Society
[http://www.ccgs.org/]
Provides a forum for listening, learning, performing and teaching many styles of acoustic guitar.

Guitar Foundation of America
[http://www.guitarfoundation.org/]
Includes news and information about calendars, competitions, teachers, artists, guitars and guitar building, and supplies.

Guitar Gallery Music
[http://www.guitargallerymusic.com/]
Online company selling sheet music, videos, and books for all styles of guitar as well as banjo, mandolin, fiddle, bass, autoharp, pedal steel guitar, dobro, dulcimer, hammer dulcimer, harmonica, and penny whistle.

Lute Society of America
[http://www.cs.dartmouth.edu/~lsa/index.html]
Links to other national lute societies and to their own microfilm and publications catalogs.

Mandolin Cafe
[http://www.mandolincafe.com/]
The best place on the web for both classical and blue-grass mandolin playing.

Mel Bay Publications
[http://www.melbay.com/]
Pubisher who specializes in a variety of resources for the guitar.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Plucked Instruments