University of Hartford Libraries

Philosophy Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Aesthetics A-Z
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/eupaes]
Covers the key concepts, arguments, problems and figures in aesthetics and the philosophy of art.

Bloomsbury Guide to Human Thought
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/bght]
Human-scale distillation of the major ideas which have had the greatest impact on our development through the ages.

Cambridge Handbook of Consciousness
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupcon]
After decades during which consciousness was considered beyond the scope of legitimate scientific investigation, consciousness re-emerged as a popular focus of research towards the end of the last century, and it has remained so for nearly 20 years.

Consciousness: A Guide to the Debates
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcconscie?institutionId=4005]
A guide to the debates of researchers and philosophers on the study of consciousness research.

Essentials of Philosophy and Ethics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/hodderepe]
An important resource for those needing to understand the key concepts in philosophy and ethics and their relevance to current issues. It covers a wide range of philosophical ideas including often-neglected non-European traditions such as African philosophies and Islamic ethics.

Meet the Philosophers of Ancient Greece Everything You Always Wanted to Know About Ancient Greek Philosophy But Didn't Know Who to Ask
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ashgtpag]
Brings the thoughts and lives of the pioneers of Western philosophy down from their sometimes remote heights and introduces them to a modern audience.


Biographies

Biographical Dictionary of 20th Century Philosophers
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routphil]
Provides detailed accounts of the lives, works, influence and reception of thinkers from all the major philosophical schools and traditions of the twentieth-century.

Biographical Dictionary of Transcendentalism
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcbiotrans]
This is a comprehensive guide to the major and minor figures who shaped Transcendentalism in New England, particularly between 1830 and the Civil War.

Dictionary of Modern American Philosophers
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/contmap]
Provides an account of philosophical thought in the United States and Canada between 1860 and the present.

Great Thinkers A-Z
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/contgt]
Short, accessible snapshots of the people who have shaped Western thought from the ancient Greeks to today. The snapshots, written by the world's leading experts, describe a major thinker's life and work with suggestions for further reading on each one. Covering philosophers as well as cultural and scientific thinkers - such as Foucault, Darwin, Einstein and Freud - who have had a major impact on philosophy.


Dictionaries

The American Heritage Abbreviations Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/hmabbr?institutionId=4005]
Definition for abbreviations across disciplines.

The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupdphil]
The most authoritative and accessible one-volume dictionary of philosophy available in English.

Chambers Dictionary of the Unexplained
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/chambun]
Alien abductions, bleeding trees, crop circles, phantom funerals and mysterious showers of fish all feature in this uniquely wide-ranging and balanced guide to unexplained phenomena.

Dictionary of Existentialism
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/gwexist?institutionId=4005]
Provides, through alphabetically arranged entries, brief overviews of the tenets, philosophers, and writers of existentialism.

Dictionary of Philosophical Logic
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/euppl]
Coverage includes not only key figures, positions, terminology, and debates within philosophical logic itself, but issues in related, overlapping disciplines such as set theory and the philosophy of mathematics as well.

A Dictionary of Philosophy, Macmillan
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/macdphil]
Immensely useful handbook for the student of philosophy

Dictionary of World Philosophy
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routwp?institutionId=4005]
Covers the diverse and challenging terminology, concepts, schools and traditions of the vast field of world philosophy.

Philosophy of Science A-Z
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/edinburghps]
Concise, accurate and illuminating accounts of key positions, concepts, arguments and figures in the philosophy of science from A priori/a posteriori to Elie Zahar.

Political Philosophy A-Z
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/edinburghppaz]
Guides the reader through the intricacies of political theory, enabling them to trace their way through a debate, fixing historical and theoretical points of reference along the way. It is well suited for students studying political philosophy at university.


Encyclopedias

Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.credoreference.com/book/routasianp]
Makes a broad range of richly varied philosophical, ethical and theological traditions accessible to a wide audience.

The Edinburgh Encyclopedia of Continental Philosophy
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/edinburghcp]
Covers the most important authors and movements in Continental Philosophy.

Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cwclassical]
Presents articles on major and minor figures and on topics of importance to the philosophy of Greek and Roman antiquity.

Encyclopedia of Empiricism
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routemp?institutionId=4005]
Essential source of information on particular figures, topics, and doctrines, treating the topic as a 17th- and 18th-century movement as well as a broader tendency in philosophical thought.

Encyclopedia of Ethics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/routethics]
Coverage of ethical theory as pursued among English-speaking philosophers. Also in print Mortensen Library Oversized [BJ63 .E45 2001]

Encyclopedia of Philosophers on Religion
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/mcfphil]
Biographical information is given about each with a special focus on his or her religious upbringing, practice, and beliefs (or lack thereof). Each entry also contains a brief summary of the points each philosopher has made concerning God and religion, typically gathered from a study of the philosopher's writings.

Encyclopedia of Philosophy
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028660721&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
English-language reference source for philosophy," has been the cornerstone of the philosophy reference shelf. Lauded for its clear and accessible presentation of wide-ranging philosophical subjects, the Encyclopedia has earned its place as a first-stop resource for general readers, students and educators.

Encyclopedia of Postmodernism
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routpostm?institutionId=4005]
Comprehensive and authoritative coverage of academic disciplines, critical terms and central figures relating to the vast field of postmodern studies.

Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routpe?institutionId=4005]
Core consists of philosophers such as Plato, Abelard, Descartes, Locke, and Dewey, along with topics from the field of philosophy, such as epistemology, metaphysics, rationalism, and realism.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
[http://plato.stanford.edu/]
Promoted as the first dynamic encyclopedia. Each entry is maintained and kept timely by subject experts who have direct electronic access to their assigned entries. This very popular source of the most recent philosophical inquiry includes the most current bibliographical citations


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

CQ Researcher
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/#.UmkuiL7D_cs]
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis of issues in the news. Published 44 times each year, with each report covering a single issue in depth. Reports consist of background and chronology, assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements, and bibliographies of key resources. Html and pdf versions available. with reports published since 2001 in color. Includes full text.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Humanities Abstracts
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=hma]
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology

JSTOR Arts and Sciences
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.jstor.org]
Searchable full text of articles from selected scholarly journals in fields including area studies, anthropology, ecology, economics, education, history, language and literature, mathematics, philosophy, political sciences, sociology and statistics. No current issues available. Historical coverage varies, but database includes some titles from before 1950.

Philosopher's Index
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=phl]
Current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy.


Websites

Aesthetics On-line
[http://www.aesthetics-online.org/]
official web site of the American Society for Aesthetics (ASA). Diverse list of more than fifty links dealing with the philosophy of art.

ALEX
[http://www.infomotions.com/alex/]
The Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts is a collection of about 14,000 classic public domain documents from American and English literature as well as Western philosophy. Searchable by keyword, author and title.

American Philosophical Association
[http://www.apaonline.org/]
Links for philosophers and students of philosophy to professional organizations.

Arts and Letters Daily
[http://www.aldaily.com/]
A daily survey of "breakthrough" publications in philosophy, aesthetics, literature, and other humanistic disciplines.

CogPrints
[http://cogprints.org/]
Electronic archive for papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, as well as portions of computer Science, Philosophy, Biology and other fields pertinent to the study of cognition.

EpistemeLinks.com: Philosophy Resources on Internet
[http://www.epistemelinks.com/]
Emphasis on classroom resources

Last Days of Socrates (Clark College)
[http://socrates.clarke.edu/]
A hypertext version of Plato's Euthyphro, Apology, Crito, and Phaedo designed to help students prepare for classroom philosophical discussion of these foundational dialogues.

Philosophy Research Base
[http://www.erraticimpact.com/]
An impressive index from Villanova University philosopher Danne Polk to large philosophy sites and to specific subject subsections on these sites. An electronic newsletter is available notifying participants of subject updates.

Voice of the Shuttle
[http://vos.ucsb.edu/]
Extensive links to every variety of Web site in the humanities, law, political science, anthropology, business and media studies.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Philosophy