University of Hartford Libraries

Performing Arts Medicine and Health Subject Guide


Books

Resumes for Performing Arts Careers
Career Services Shelves [PN1580 .R47 2004]


Call Numbers

Academic OneFile
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://find.galegroup.com/gtx/start.do?prodId=AONE&userGroupName=a23uh]
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Updated daily.


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

CAIRSS for Music
[http://ucairss.utsa.edu/]
CAIRSS (Computer-Assisted Information Retrieval Service System) is a bibliographic database containing more than 16,000 citations from over 1,350 journals in music education, music psychology, music therapy, and music medicine. Index only.

CINAHL with Full Text and Psycinfo
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=c8h,psyh]
Search CINAHL with Full Text and Psycinfo at the same time!

MEDLINE
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=cmedm]
Years Covered: 1840-Present
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available.

PEDro (The Physiotherapy Evidence Database)
[http://search.pedro.org.au/search]
Abstracts of randomized controlled trials and systematic reviews in physiotherapy. Most include quality ratings to assist in justifying validity and interpretability. Includes link to a Tutorial. Provided by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy, and maintained at the University of Sydney.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/nursing?accountid=11308]
Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications. Designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.

PubMed (MEDLINE)
[http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/PubMed/]
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available with limited full text.


Websites

Alexander Technique
[http://www.life.uiuc.edu/jeff/alextech.html]
Includes a full description of the technique, recommended publications, links to societies, and a separate page, Alexander Technique for Musicians.

Performing Arts Medicine Association
[http://www.artsmed.org]
Includes a bibliography focusing on health problems of instrumental and vocal musicians, and to a lesser extent, of dancers and actors, with an extensive list of useful links to other resources.

Performing Arts Medicine at Ithaca College
[http://www.ithaca.edu/hshp/depts/pt/facstaff/nquarrie/performingartsmed/]
Developed by Ithaca College's School of Health Science and Human Performance and the School of Music, this site has links to various topics of interest.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Performing Arts Medicine and Health