University of Hartford Libraries

Percussion Music Subject Guide


Books

Afro-Latin Rhythm Dictionary
By Thomas A. Brown. Allen Library Reference [REF ML437 B88 A4]

Analytical and Bibliographical Writings in Percussion Music
By Geary Larrick. Allen Library Stacks [MT90 L37 A52]

Dictionary of Percussion Terms as Found in the Symphonic Repertoire
By Morris Lang and Larry Spivack. Allen Library Reference [REF ML102 P4 L36]

Encyclopedia of Percussion
Edited by John H. Beck. Allen Library Reference [REF ML102 P4 B4 2007]

Handbook of Percussion Instruments
By Karl Peinkofer. Allen Library Reference [REF ML102 P4 P]

Percussion Anthology: A Compendium of Articles from "The Instrumentalist" on Percussion Instruments
Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 P4]

Percussion Ensemble Literature
By Thomas Siwe. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 P4 S57 1998]

Percussion Instruments and their History
By James Blades. Allen Library Stacks [ML1030 B63]

Percussion Solo Literature
By Thomas Siwe. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 P4 S57 1995]

Percussion Work Book
By Maggie Cotton. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 P4 C68]

Percussion: An Annotated Bibliography
By Dieter Bajzek. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 P4 B35]

Percussionist's Dictionary: Translations, Descriptions, and Photographs of Percussion Instruments from Around the World
By Joseph Adato. Allen Library Reference [REF ML102 P4 A]

A Percussionist's Guide to Orchestra Excerpts
By David W. Vincent. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 P4 V5]

Planet Drum: A Celebration of Percussion and Rhythm
By Mickey Hart and Frederick Lieberman. Allen Library Stacks [ML1035 H37]

Teaching Percussion
By Gary Cook. Allen Library Stacks [MT655 C66 1997]


Call Numbers

General Resources

M146
Solo Drum [including Timpani, Side drum, etc.]

M147
Solo Bells, Glockenspiel, etc.

M175
Solo other [Xylophone, Marimba, Vibraphone, etc.]

M284 - M285
1 percussion instrument and piano

M298 - M299
Duets which may include 1 or more percussion instruments

M385 - M386
Trios which may include 1 or more percussion instruments

M390
Percussion trios

M485 - M486
Quartets which may include 1 or more percussion instruments

M490
Percussion quartets

M685 - M686
Sextets which may include 1 or more percussion instruments

M685, M690-692
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M690%20or%20M685%20or%20M691%20or%20M692?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Percussion sextets

NOTE:
For Quintets, Sextets, Septets, Octets, Nonets use same pattern as Quartets, for instance:


Concertos

M1038 - M1039
Percussion instrument with orchestra

M1039.4 - M1139.4
Other percussion instruments [Xylophone, etc.]

M1138 - M1139
Percussion instrument with string orchestra


Periodicals

International Musician
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/titles.asp?txtKeyword=International+Musician+&SF=Titles&id=8684&sid=76148354&LH=&lang.subject=&lang.menu=&cmdSearchSubmit=Search&optPages=1]

Medical Problems of Performing Artists
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/titles.asp?txtKeyword=Medical+Problems+of+Performing+Artists+&SF=Titles&id=8684&sid=76148354&LH=&lang.subject=&lang.menu=&cmdSearchSubmit=Search&optPages=1]

Modern Drummer

Overseas Musician

Percussionist

Percussive Notes

Percussive Notes, Research Edition


Subject Headings

Concertos percussion

Concertos timpani

Percussion and . . .

Percussion ensembles [for 2 or more percussionists, each playing 1 or more percussion instruments]

Percussion music [for 1 percussionist playing 2 or more different percussion instruments]

Percussion trios; trios
[Follow for quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, nonets]

Percussion with . . .

Sonatas timpani

Timpani music [for 1 percussion instrument]


Websites

Drum Workshop
[http://www.dwdrums.com/]
Specific information about instruments and their care.

Drummer's Web
[http://www.drummersweb.com/]
With an extensive collections of ads and a growing list of articles, this page also has links to many different sites about all styles of drumming.

Percussive Arts Society
[http://www.pas.org/]
Home page for the PAS.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Percussion Music