University of Hartford Libraries

Organizational Psychology Subject Guide


About Library Research

Ask A Librarian
[http://library.hartford.edu/get_help/ask_a_librarian.aspx]
Ways to get help via chat, email, phone (860-768-4142) or in person at the University of Hartford Libraries.

Library Catalog
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/]
Search for Books and information on topics in Organizational Psychology.

Remote access to the University of Hartord libraries
[http://library.hartford.edu/get_help/offcampus.aspx]
How to access the Libraries from Off-Campus

Research Tutorial - Mortensen Library
[http://library.hartford.edu/research-tutorial/default.aspx]
The University Libraries' tutorial to help guide you to the research that you need. Each part is a separate unit to help you at any point that you get stuck in the process!

Electronic and Print Journals at the University of Hartford
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/Titles/8684]
Search the University of Hartford A to Z list of journals available at the University of Hartford and all of its online holdings. Click here when you know the exactly which article you seek. Please use our Databases tab for searching for any articles on a topic.


Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/abicomplete/advanced?accountid=11308]
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://uniworldonline.com/search]
One of two major business and career information databases offered by Uniworld: American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries may be searched by specific country, region, state, keyword, zip code, NAICS industry code, revenue and number of employees. Full text articles are available.

Dissertations and Theses @ University of Hartford (Proquest)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/pqdtlocal1006624?accountid=11308]
Dissertations by University of Hartford students. Includes full text for most, especially those published after 1996.

Dissertations and Theses Abstracts + Full Text (Proquest)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/pqdthss?accountid=11308]
Describes over 2 million dissertations from institutions around the U.S. (and some international), with citations from 1861 to the present. Includes full text for many of the Humanities and Social Sciences dissertations as well as most UH dissertations 1997-present. Many of the other dissertations are available through interlibrary loan .

Foreign Firms Operating in the United States
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://uniworldonline.com/search]
One of two major business and career information databases offered by Uniworld. Foreign Firms Operating in the United States may be searched by specific country, region, state, keyword, zip code, NAICS industry code, revenue and number of employees. Full text available.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://find.galegroup.com/gvrl/start.do?prodID=GVRL&userGroupName=a23uh]
Search the tables of contents or full text of selected reference books in business, education, the environment, medicine biology, and the social sciences.

JSTOR Arts and Sciences
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.jstor.org]
Searchable full text of articles from selected scholarly journals in fields including area studies, anthropology, ecology, economics, education, history, language and literature, mathematics, philosophy, political sciences, sociology and statistics. No current issues available. Historical coverage varies, but database includes some titles from before 1950.

MEDLINE
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=cmedm]
Years Covered: 1840-Present
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available.

Open Access Theses and Dissertations
[http://www.oatd.org/]
Resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world.

ProQuest Psychology Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/psychologyshell?accountid=11308]
ProQuest Psychology Journals™ provides abstracts and indexing for more than 615 titles, with over 520 titles available in full text. Both students and mental-health professionals get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research from top psychology and related publications.

PsycARTICLES
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=pdh]
Years Covered: 1894-
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains approximately 150,000 articles from over 70 journals published by the APA, and its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychology Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group.

Psychology Complete from Ebsco (PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=psyh,pdh]
Search PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES at the same time gaining expanded coverage and one stop for much of your Psychology search needs.

PsycInfo
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=psyh]
International, multilingual index with abstracts of articles, books, and selected dissertations in psychology. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

Uniworld
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://uniworldonline.com/linklogin/31302]
Contains two major business and career information databases: American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries and Foreign Firms Operating in the United States. Search either database by specific country, region, state, keyword, zip code, NAICS industry code, revenue and number of employees. Full text available.

Women Working, 1870-1930
[http://ocp.hul.harvard.edu/ww/]
Focuses on women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections.


Websites

Academy of Management
[http://aom.org/]
Our worldwide members are professors and Ph.D. students in business schools at universities, academics in related social science and other fields, and practitioners who value knowledge creation and application. Founded in 1936, our global community today is nearly 20,000 strong, spanning 115 countries.

American Psychological Association
[http://www.apa.org/]
The website of the leading professional a association in psychology is crammed with not only organizational and conference information, but also full text material, including articles from APA journals, position papers, reports, and more. Access through the Site Map or Latest News, since the search engine is poor.

APA Style Guide Website
[http://www.apastyle.org/apa-style-help.aspx]
Official guidelines for citing electronic information sources, including EBSCOhost and other online databases. Official Site.

APA Style Resources
[http://www.psywww.com/apastyle]
Multiple sites providing guidance on APA style citations.

Citing Social Media in APA and MLA
[http://www.educatorstechnology.com/2013/04/a-great-guide-on-how-to-cite-social.html?m=1]
Conducting an extensive data mining for writing a scholarly academic paper does definitely require using online digital resources. Admittedly, a lot of the resources you want to cite in your paper can be found online and most of them through social media like Twitter.

Society for Human Resource Management
[http://www.shrm.org/about/pages/default.aspx]
SHRM provides resources, global best practices and a network of valuable contacts to more than 5,000 members in over 140 countries, in addition to U.S.-based HR professionals involved in global HR.

Society for Industrial and Organizational Psychology
[http://www.siop.org/]
SIOP is the premier membership organization for those practicing and teaching I-O psychology.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Organizational Psychology