University of Hartford Libraries

Orchestra Music Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

The Audition Process: Anxiety management and Coping Strategies
By Edward Stuart Dunkel. Allen Library Stacks [ML3830 D86 A]

Cambridge Companion to the Orchestra
Edited by Colin Lawson. Allen Library Stacks [ML1200 C36]

The Development of Orchestral Music from 1725-1943: from Bach to Bartok
By The London Philharmonic Orchestra. Allen Library Stacks [ML1200 L84]

Orchestra Musician's Library - Excerpts on CD-Rom for all orchestral instruments. List of represented composers is available at the circulation desk.
Allen Library Permanent Reserves [(PERM RES) M1000 O723]

Orchestra Music: A Handbook
By David Daniels. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 N8 D1 2005]

Principles of Orchestration
By Nikolay Rimsky-Korsakov. Allen Library Stacks [MT70 R577]

The Symphonic Repertoire
By Peter A. Brown. Allen Library Stacks [ML1255 B76 S95]

Treatise on Instrumentation
By Hector Berlioz and Richard Strauss. Allen Library Stacks [MT70 B51 S]


Catalogs of Printed Music

Orchestral Music in Print
By Margaret K. Farish. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 N8 F 1994 IND and Suppl.]


Call Numbers

M1000
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1000?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Collections

M1001
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1001?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Symphonies

M1002
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1002?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Symphonic Poems

M1003
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1003?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Suites/Variation Forms

M1004
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1004?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Overtures/Preludes/Entr'actes

M1004.5
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1004.5?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Collections for varying solo instruments

M1005-1041
Concertos for solo instruments with orchestra

M1042
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1042?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Concertos for Orchestra

M1045-1049
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1045%20or%20M1046%20M1047%20or%20M1048%20or%20M1049?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
General pieces and dance forms

M1050-1074
Arrangements

M1075
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1075?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Fantasies, etc

M1100's
String Orchestra Music (same breakdown as for full orchestra)

ML465-471
Books on history of instruments/ensembles

ML1200-1270
Books on orchestral music (forms)

MT
Excerpts for various instruments as outlined below
  • 266 - violin
  • 286 - viola
  • 303 - violoncello
  • 331 - double bass
  • 346 - flute
  • 366 - oboe
  • 376 - english horn
  • 386 - clarinet
  • 406 - bassoon
  • 426 - horn
  • 446 - trumpet
  • 466 - trombone
  • 486 - tuba
  • 496 - baritone
  • 546 - harp


MT125, 130
Analysis and appreciation


Periodicals

Das Orchester: Zeitschrift für Orchesterkulter und Rundfunkchorwesen

Harmony: Forum of the Symphony Orchestra Institute

International Musician
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/titles.asp?txtKeyword=International+Musician+&SF=Titles&id=8684&sid=76148354&LH=&lang.subject=&lang.menu=&cmdSearchSubmit=Search&optPages=1]

NSOA Bulletin

Senza Sordino

Symphony - ML1 S98


Subject Headings

Concertos

Concertos (orchestra)

Orchestra Studies

Orchestral music

Overtures

String Orchestra Music

Suites (orchestra)

Symphonic Poems

Symphonies

Symphonies -- excerpts


Websites

American Federation of Musicians
[http://www.afm.org]
Official website for AFM

International Conference of Symphony and Opera Musicians
[http://www.icsom.org]
Official website for ICSOM

League of American Orchestras
[http://www.americanorchestras.org]
Official Website for the League of American Orchestras (formerly the American Symphony Orchestra League)

musicalchairs
[http://www.musicalchairs.info]
Audition listings for orchestras world wide

Polyphonic
[http://polyphonic.org]
Web forum for orchestra members

Regional Orchestra Players Association
[http://ropaweb.org/]
Official website for ROPA


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Orchestra Music