University of Hartford Libraries

Online and Distance Learning Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Dictionary of Education (Greenwood)
Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .G68 2011

Key Concepts in Education
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageuked]
Contains essential themes, topics and expressions that Education students are likely to encounter, both during their courses and beyond in professional practice.

Power of the Internet for learning: Final Report of Web-Based Education Commission, The
[http://www.ed.gov/offices/AC/WBEC/FinalReport/index.html]
The final report of the Web-Based Education Commission constitutes the most comprehensive analysis ever undertaken of education and the internet.

Springer International Handbooks of Education: International Handbook of Educational Evaluation
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/spredev]
An invaluable and unique reference work for evaluation scholars and specialists, educators, policymakers, graduate students in evaluation and education, administrators and other school personnel, as well as personnel in funding organizations.

Springer International Handbooks of Education: International Handbook of Educational Evaluation
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/spredev]
An invaluable and unique reference work for evaluation scholars and specialists, educators, policymakers, graduate students in evaluation and education, administrators and other school personnel, as well as personnel in funding organizations.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of American Education
Mortensen Library Reference LB17 .U54 2001

Encyclopedia of Education
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3403299999&q=a23uh]
Edited by James W.Guthrie, this 2003 edition includes bibliographical references and index.

Encyclopedia of Education (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3403299999&q=a23uh]
Search the full eight volumes of the 2nd edition (2002) Encyclopedia, intended to provide comprehensive information on education in the US and around the world. UofH only.

Worldwide Education Encyclopedia: a Survey of Educational Systems Worldwide
Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .W87 2002


United States - Statistics

Almanac of American Education
Mortensen Library Reference LA217.2 .A45 2011


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

ERIC (Proquest)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/eric/advanced?accountid=11308]
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database has abstracts of articles from over 775 journals. ERIC also indexes education research in books and contains a massive collection of ERIC documents, with full text online or in microfiche. (Univ. of Hartford has micro going back to 1980).

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

ProQuest Education Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/education?accountid=11308]
Search the leading full-text journals in education and related fields. ProQuest® Education Journals gives users access to over 760 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text.


Websites

Assistive Media: Expanding the World of Reading
[http://www.assistivemedia.org]
Audio tape source for The New Yorker and works of fiction and nonfiction for handicapped individuals. Links to other audio sites including C-SPAN's Booknotes and the History Channel's Great Speeches.

CollegeDegree.com
[http://collegedegree.com/]
Searchable index of colleges offering degrees by "distance learning". You can search by degree, certificate, or course.

Connexions: Sharing Knowledge and Building Communities
[http://cnx.org/]
Connexions is an environment for collaboratively developing, freely sharing, and rapidly publishing scholarly content on the Web. Our Content Commons contains educational materials for everyone — from children to college students to professionals — organized in small modules that are easily connected into larger collections or courses. All content is free to use and reuse under the Creative Commons "attribution" license.

Distance Education at a Glance
[http://www.uiweb.uidaho.edu/eo/distglan.html]
This site is designed to "help teachers, administrators, facilitators, and students understand distance education". It contains guides to 14 separate topics.

Educational Technology and Mobile Learning
[http://www.educatorstechnology.com/]
Created and maintained by a dedicated group of Canadian teachers, this site offers resources, book reviews, and tools for K-12 educators working with educational technology.

MERLOT, Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching
[https://www.merlot.org/merlot/index.htm]
MERLOT is a continually growing collection of online learning materials, assignments and reviews designed to help faculty enhance instruction.

The Teachers Page (Library of Congress)
[http://www.loc.gov/teachers/]
Classroom materials and ideas for teachers, resources to help teachers use primary sources, and links to help with professional development.

TED-Ed: Lessons Worth Sharing
[http://ed.ted.com/]
This offshoot of TED.com showcases lessons for education. The primary focus is on high school and college level learners, and the YouTube videos include quizzes, additional resources and discussion points. Lessons can be customized for assignments.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Online and Distance Learning