University of Hartford Libraries

Occupational Therapy Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

American Medical Association Family Medical Guide
Mortensen Library Reference RC81 .A543 2004

Anatomy of Exercise
Mortensen Library Reference GV461 .M36 2008

Awareness through Movement: Health Exercises for Personal Growth
Mortensen Library Shelves [RC489 F44 F44 1990]

Fitness and Exercise Sourcebook
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=GVRL&sw=w&u=a23uh&v=2.1&it=aboutBook&id=GALE%7C4698]
Provides updated information about the health benefits of physical activity. It discusses the guidelines for physical activity in people of all ages and diverse fitness levels, including those with disabilities, chronic diseases, or other challenges

Health care careers directory (American Medical Association)
Mortensen Library Reference R847 .D57 2012

Human anatomy and physiology
Mortensen Library Reference QA182.S3 H8 2001

Merck Manual of Medical Information: Second Home Edition
[http://www.merckmanuals.com/Home]
Explains disorders, who is likely to get them, symptoms, how they're diagnosed, prevention, treatment, and prognosis

Resumes for Health and Medical Careers
Career Services Shelves R690 .R48 2009


Dictionaries

The American Heritage Medical Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/hmmedicaldict]
Provides students, health care professionals, and general consumers interested in medical vocabulary with a comprehensive reference that reflects the most recent developments in medicine and health care delivery.

Black's Medical Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/blackmed]
Impressive medical dictionary for all Health Science practitioners.

Collins Dictionary of Medicine
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsmed]
Covers all subjects required by current clinical and scientific medical practice.

Dictionary of Medical Terms
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/acbmedterm?institutionId=4005]
This dictionary provides the user with the basic vocabulary - from A to zymotic - currently being used in a wide range of healthcare situations.

Jablonski's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/ehsacron]
Medical dictionary for important abbreviations.

Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ehsmosbymed]
Known for its combination of relevant, thorough definitions and vibrant color illustrations and line drawings that illuminate all subject areas.

Quick Reference Dictionary for Massage Therapy and Body Work
Mortensen Library Reference RM721 .D386 2005

Slee’s Health Care Terms
Mortensen Library Reference RA423 .S55 2008

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
Comprised of concise, informative entries on all the most important terms in medicine. Mortensen Library Reference: R121 .T18 2013; Mortensen Library Shelves: R121 .T18 2013.

Webster's New World Medical Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/webstermed?institutionId=4005]
Invaluable resource that will help you make sense of confusing medical jargon, prepare for a doctor visit, or research treatment options.


Encyclopedias

The Encyclopedia of Bodywork: From Acupressure to Zone Therapy
Mortensen Library Reference RZ999 .S82 1996

Encyclopedia of Medicine (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://find.galegroup.com/gvrl/infomark.do?type=aboutBook&docId=CX3451699999&tabID=T002&actionString=DO_DISPLAY_ABOUT_PAGE&version=1.0&source=library&userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL]
Search the full five volumes of the 2nd edition (2002) encyclopedia which presents information on medical disorders and concepts. Each article presents causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and related topics. UofH only.

The Human Body Book: An Illustrated Guide to Its Structure, Function and Disorders
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/dkbody?institutionId=4005]
Encyclopedic guide is packed with accessible health and medical information.

Medical Encyclopedia Index
[http://www.umm.edu/ency/index/eng_index.htm]
Part of the University of Maryland's Medical Reference section. Available in both English and Spanish.

The Royal Society of Medicine health encyclopedia : the complete medical reference library in one A-Z volume
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/rsmhealth?institutionId=4005]
Provides comprehensive information on all aspects of health and disease.


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

CINAHL with Full Text
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=c8h]
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with links to selected full text articles. Indexes English language journals, books, dissertations, standards, research instruments, etc. Includes cited references. Selected items include abstracts. Offered to the University of Hartford through iconn.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

MEDLINE
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=cmedm]
Years Covered: 1840-Present
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available.

OTseeker (Occupational Therapy Systematic Evaluation of Evidence)
[http://www.otseeker.com]
Abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials related to occupational therapy. Provides ratings to assist in evaluating validity and interpretability. Includes link to a Tutorial. In early stages of development, so currently limited in size.

PEDro (The Physiotherapy Evidence Database)
[http://search.pedro.org.au/search]
Abstracts of randomized controlled trials and systematic reviews in physiotherapy. Most include quality ratings to assist in justifying validity and interpretability. Includes link to a Tutorial. Provided by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy, and maintained at the University of Sydney.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/nursing?accountid=11308]
Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications. Designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.

PubMed (MEDLINE)
[http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/PubMed/]
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available with limited full text.

PubMed Central
[http://www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov]
Free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journals, maintained by the US National Institutes of Health. Some journals do not include current issues. Digitization program underway to build complete back files. Full text available.


Periodicals

Free Medical Journals
[http://www.freemedicaljournals.com/]
Listing with links to Free Medical Journals and a listing of any limitations


Subject Headings

Medical Subject Headings
[https://www.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/]
Explanation of NLM's (Medline/Pubmed) MESH Subject Headings, how they work and how to use them.


Websites

General Resources

AOTA: The American Occupational Therapy Association, Inc.
[http://www.aota.org/]
AOTA: The American Occupational Therapy Association, Inc.

Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists
[http://www.caot.ca/]
Information for students and practitioners. Some portions restricted to members.

CUErgo (Cornell University Ergonomics Web)
[http://ergo.human.cornell.edu/]
Faculty and student research focused on enhancing usability by improving the ergonomic design of hardware, software, and workplaces.

Human Anatomy Online
[http://www.innerbody.com/htm/body.html]
Interactive anatomy of ten systems of the human body: muscular, digestive, skeletal, endocrine, lymphatic, cardiovascular, nervous, reproductive (male and female), and urinary. Users must enable Java in their browser to use the site.

Johns Hopkins Bayview Orthopaedics
[http://www.hopkinsbayview.org/ortho/index.html]
Contains a comprehensive listing of orthopedic links, Real Media video clips on surgery, patient services and updated news.

National Rehabilitation Information Center
[http://www.naric.com/]
Library and information center on disability and rehabilitation. Site provides quick reference and referral services, REHABDATA, NIDRR Program Directory, NIDRR Compendium, and NARIC Knowledgebase databases.

OSH.net
[http://osh.net/]
Links to a wide variety of information sources on all aspects of occupational safety and health issues.


Statistics

Health United States
[http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/hus.htm]
An annual report on trends in health statistics in the United States (1975-present).


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Occupational Therapy