University of Hartford Libraries

News Subject Guide


Books

National Press Club, Washington DC
[http://press.org/]
Useful source for politics and government resources for studies in journalism and communication.


Databases

CQ Researcher
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/#.UmkuiL7D_cs]
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis of issues in the news. Published 44 times each year, with each report covering a single issue in depth. Reports consist of background and chronology, assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements, and bibliographies of key resources. Html and pdf versions available. with reports published since 2001 in color. Includes full text.

Historical Hartford Courant
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/hnphartfordcourant?accountid=11308]
Fully searchable images of America's oldest continuously published newspaper, covering 1764 through 1922. Use ProQuest Newspapers for current (1992- ). No coverage is available between 1923 and 1991. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Full text available.

Historical New York Times
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/hnpnewyorktimes/news/fromDatabasesLayer?accountid=11308]
Full images of the complete New York Times from 1851 to 2002. Search by keyword, by date, etc. Images of specific articles or full pages available..

The New York Times (nytimes.com)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://ezmyaccount.nytimes.com/grouppass/redir]
Full text coverage of New York Times to 1855 with access to New York Times Online Edition. You must create your own account with a valid University of Hartford email address.

Newspaper Source Plus
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=n5h]
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.

Newspapers of Connecticut (19th Century)
[http://cslib.cdmhost.com/cdm/landingpage/collection/p15019coll9]
The Newspapers of Connecticut collection is a sample collection of historical newspapers covering the various regions, perspectives and topics of the Civil War era in Connecticut.

Onlinenewspapers.com
[http://www.onlinenewspapers.com/]
Index of newspaper Web sites around the world. A great place to look for newspaper information if you know the paper or city that you would like to search. Coverage varies and some newspaper sites offer free full text, others are fee-based.

ProQuest Newspapers
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/news/advanced?accountid=11308]
Search the text of major newspapers including the Boston Globe (1980- ), Christian Science Monitor (1990- ), Hartford Courant (1992- ), Los Angeles Times (1985- ), New York Times (1999- ), including the Book Review and Magazine), Wall Street Journal Eastern Edition (1984- ), and Washington Post (1987- ). Full text available.

Vanderbilt TV News Archive
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://tvnews.vanderbilt.edu]
Searchable database of abstracts of nightly television news broadcasts. ABC, CBS and NBS are covered since August 5, 1968, and a daily news program from CNN is available since 1995. Special broadcast reports covering significant events are included, as are selected broadcasts of ABC Nightline between March 24, 1980 and September 12, 1988 and all Nightline broadcasts since that date. Video of selected CNN broadcasts is available. Downloading and viewing online video requires setting up a free account. Video requires RealOne media player (free download available). Users may borrow tapes of broadcasts by using a credit card.

Wall Street Journal: Markets Data Center
[http://online.wsj.com/mdc/public/page/marketsdata.html]
Free service containing more recent financial data for any recent business day than previously printed in the Wall Street Journal. Information and statistics on leading financial markets and national exchanges from across the globe. Trading stocks, options, commodities, benchmark indexes, etc. are included.


Periodicals

Cursor
[http://www.cursor.org/]
Newsmagazine focusing on presenting alternative perspectives. Numerous links to opinion pieces, periodicals, book reviews, etc.


Websites

ABYZ News Links
[http://www.abyznewslinks.com/]
Links to online newspapers, broadcasters, and other news sources around the world. Arranged geographically.

AFROameric@: The Afro-American Newspapers Homepage
[http://www.afro.com/]
Features weekly news updates, news archives, cultural and historical information of interest to the African-American community. Excellent links section with Real Audio for music and speeches.

AJR News Link
[http://www.newslink.org/menu.html]
Packed with sites, articles, and links to other Web-linked resources pertinent to journalism and communication. Maintained by American Journalism Review.

Aljazeera.Net
[http://english.aljazeera.net/]
English language reporting of Arab and world news, including both objective news reporting and opinion. Companion to Arabic satellite news channel.

Alternative Viewpoints on the Internet
[http://www.altpress.org/mod/links/index.php]
Huge annotated list of sources of information outside the mainstream media.

AlterNet.org
[http://www.alternet.org/]
Searchable database of news from alternative sources online.

American Society of Newspaper Editors
[http://www.asne.org/]
Useful collection of resources on such issues as credibility of the news media, the First Amendment, etc.

BBC News Country Profiles
[http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/country_profiles/]
Descriptive information on all countries of the world include history, politics, and economy. Also provides links to audio or video clips from the BBC archives.

BBC News Online
[http://news.bbc.co.uk/]
Continuously updated news with a British slant. Multimedia features require RealPlayer software.

bizjournals
[http://www.bizjournals.com/]
Stories from approximately 35 business newspapers published across the US. Updated daily.

Bloomberg Online
[http://www.bloomberg.com/welcome.html]
Latest news and analysis. International coverage includes stocks, currency markets, bonds, etc. Some information restricted to subscribers.

Boston Globe
[http://www.boston.com/news/globe/]
Today's stories. Search up to 15 years. Fee for retrieving text or historical article.

Christian Science Monitor
[http://www.csmonitor.com/]
Today's news, and a searchable archive of stories published since 1980. Fee for articles.

courant.com
[http://www.courant.com/]
Today's Hartford Courant and links to other sources of state information. Go to Courant Library under Services to search the paper since 1991. Fee for whole stories.

e! Science News
[http://esciencenews.com/]
Provides access to the very latest and popular science breakthroughs.

efinancial News
[http://www.efinancialnews.com/]
Online edition of the Newspaper. European focus. Free registration expands information available.

ENN Online (Environmental News Network)
[http://www.enn.com/]
Timely presentation of news, information, and resources on the environment.

Environmental Network News
[http://www.enn.com/]
ENN covers environmental issues all over the globe. Their categories includeA: wildlife, agriculture, energy, polluntion, health and more. The archive goes back to 1970.

FT.com (Financial Times)
[http://www.ft.com/home/us]
International news, including searchable 30 day archive; London financial news and stock prices (20 minute delay). Free registration required.

go.com News Center
[http://go.com/]
Search for recent stories from major papers, wire services, or Usenet Newsgroups.

Headline Spot
[http://www.headlinespot.com/]
Portal to thousands of online news sources. Includes headlines, specialized news (e.g. financial technology), or browsing by location. Continuously updated.

Independent Media Center
[https://www.indymedia.org/or/index.shtml]
Growing collection of pages where independent journalists from around the world can post stories, pictures, video, etc. Evaluate information carefully.

INFOdocket (Information Industry News + New Web Sites and Tools)
[https://infodocket.wordpress.com/]
News and resources for the information industry.

Informer
[http://hartfordinformer.com/]
The weekly newspaper of the University of Hartford. Searchable archive since April 2000.

Los Angeles Times
[http://www.latimes.com/]
Read today's paper. Search the archives back to 1990. Browse headlines and first few sentences free. Charge for whole story. Full text available at ProQuest Newspapers Database.

New York Times on the Web
[http://www.nytimes.com/]
Current news. Search for stories published since 1996. Fee for articles. Registration required. Full text available from ProQuest Newspapers Database.

NewsCentral
[http://www.all-links.com/newscentral/]
Link to over 3,500 newspapers world wide, including schools and colleges. Browse or search.

NewsLink
[http://newslink.org/]
Links to over 7,000 newspapers, magazines, broadcasters and news services worldwide.

Online Newspapers - World Directory
[http://www.onlinenewspapers.com/]
Links to hundreds of newspapers, magazines, television, radio, etc. worldwide.

Opinion Pages
[http://www.opinion-pages.org/]
Searchable database of very recent editorials, op-ed, columns, and other opinion pieces in online newspapers. Updated twice daily. International, English only.

Pathfinder Network Guide
[http://www.pathfinder.com/pathfinder/]
Link to dozens of sources of news, information, and entertainment.

PR Newswire
[http://www.prnewswire.com/]
Text of press releases from companies. Also links to industry news.

Stateline.org
[http://www.stateline.org/stateline/]
Link to news on policy issues at the state level. Search by state or by issue. Also provides statistical data.

Statistical Assessment Service (STATS)
[http://www.stats.org/]
Organization that analyzes, reviews and critiques press reporting and use of statistics. Includes link to online journal of research on the topic.

US News Archives on the Web
[http://www.ibiblio.org/slanews/internet/archives.html]
List by state of newspapers online. Includes date coverage and information about fees if applicable.

VOANews.com
[http://www.voanews.com/]
International news as reported by the US government sponsored Voice of America. Search or browse by region or by broad subject areas. Available in 55 languages.

Washington Post.Com
[http://www.washingtonpost.com/]
Stories from print edition, continuous updates, extra info, chat room. Full text available at ProQuest Newspapers Database.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=News