University of Hartford Libraries

Neuroscience Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

American Medical Association Family Medical Guide
Mortensen Library Reference RC81 .A543 2004

Brain Book: An illustrated guide to its structure, function and disorders
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/dkbrain]
A complete guide to the one organ in the body that makes each of us what we are - unique individuals.

Cambridge Handbook of Computational Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupcomppsyc]
Definitive reference source for the growing, increasingly important, and interdisciplinary field of computational cognitive modeling, that is, computational psychology.

Cambridge Handbook of Consciousness
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupcon]
After decades during which consciousness was considered beyond the scope of legitimate scientific investigation, consciousness re-emerged as a popular focus of research towards the end of the last century, and it has remained so for nearly 20 years.

Comprehensive Handbook of Psychopathology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sprhp]
Provides in-depth coverage of theoretical, research, and clinical positions in psychopathology.

Consciousness: A Guide to the Debates
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcconscie?institutionId=4005]
A guide to the debates of researchers and philosophers on the study of consciousness research.

Headaches
[http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE|9781590188743&contentSegment=9781590188743]
Discusses traditional and alternative headache treatments, the challenges of living with headaches, and the direction of future research.

Health care careers directory (American Medical Association)
Mortensen Library Reference R847 .D57 2012

Human anatomy and physiology
Mortensen Library Reference QA182.S3 H8 2001

Key Concepts in Health Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageukhp]
Aims to provide the reader with a comprehensive understanding of the key issues, theories, models, and methods in contemporary health psychology.

Manual of Toxicologic Emergencies
Mortensen Library Reference RA1224.5 .G63 2007

Merck Manual of Medical Information: Second Home Edition
[http://www.merckmanuals.com/Home]
Explains disorders, who is likely to get them, symptoms, how they're diagnosed, prevention, treatment, and prognosis

Resumes for Health and Medical Careers
Career Services Shelves R690 .R48 2009


Dictionaries

The American Heritage Medical Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/hmmedicaldict]
Provides students, health care professionals, and general consumers interested in medical vocabulary with a comprehensive reference that reflects the most recent developments in medicine and health care delivery.

Black's Medical Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/blackmed]
Impressive medical dictionary for all Health Science practitioners.

Collins Dictionary of Medicine
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsmed]
Covers all subjects required by current clinical and scientific medical practice.

Dictionary of Medical Terms
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/acbmedterm?institutionId=4005]
This dictionary provides the user with the basic vocabulary - from A to zymotic - currently being used in a wide range of healthcare situations.

Jablonski's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/ehsacron]
Medical dictionary for important abbreviations.

The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/penguinpsyc?institutionId=4005]
Explores the latest developments in psychology, psychiatry and related fields, including new material on neuroscience and social psychology.

Slee’s Health Care Terms
Mortensen Library Reference RA423 .S55 2008

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
Comprised of concise, informative entries on all the most important terms in medicine. Mortensen Library Reference: R121 .T18 2013; Mortensen Library Shelves: R121 .T18 2013.

Webster's New World Medical Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/webstermed?institutionId=4005]
Invaluable resource that will help you make sense of confusing medical jargon, prepare for a doctor visit, or research treatment options.


Encyclopedias

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupchilddev]
Authoritative, accessible and up-to-date account of all aspects of child development.

The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/wileypsych]
Entries in all major categories of psychology.

Edinburgh International Encyclopaedia of Psychoanalysis
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/edinburghpsychoa]
Contains authoritative entries on all the most important authors, practitioners, concepts, movements, schools, debates and controversies in psychoanalysis and its offspring, past and present.

Encyclopedia of Applied Developmental Science
Mortensen Library Reference HQ767.84 .E52 2005

Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/wileycs]
Current thinking about the workings of the mind and brain, focusing on problems that are as old as recorded history, but reflecting new approaches and techniques that have emerged since the 1980s.

Encyclopedia of Consciousness
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/estcon]
Encompasses a summary of major research and scientific thought regarding the nature of consciousness, the neural circuitry involved, how the brain, body, and world interact, and our understanding of subjective states.

Encyclopedia of Learning and Memory
Mortensen Library Reference BF318 .E53 1992

Encyclopedia of Medicine (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://find.galegroup.com/gvrl/infomark.do?type=aboutBook&docId=CX3451699999&tabID=T002&actionString=DO_DISPLAY_ABOUT_PAGE&version=1.0&source=library&userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL]
Search the full five volumes of the 2nd edition (2002) encyclopedia which presents information on medical disorders and concepts. Each article presents causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and related topics. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of the Human Brain
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/esthumanbrain]
Covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science, this encyclopedia contains peer reviewed signed articles from experts around the world.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780787677459&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
This single-volume, accessible resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information.

Medical Encyclopedia Index
[http://www.umm.edu/ency/index/eng_index.htm]
Part of the University of Maryland's Medical Reference section. Available in both English and Spanish.

The Royal Society of Medicine health encyclopedia : the complete medical reference library in one A-Z volume
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/rsmhealth?institutionId=4005]
Provides comprehensive information on all aspects of health and disease.


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

CINAHL with Full Text
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=c8h]
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with links to selected full text articles. Indexes English language journals, books, dissertations, standards, research instruments, etc. Includes cited references. Selected items include abstracts. Offered to the University of Hartford through iconn.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

http://isihighlycited.com/
[http://www.isihighlycited.com/]
Search for the most influential researchers by name or institution. Biographical and bibliographical information. Currently covers chemistry, physics, engineering and neurosciences.

MEDLINE
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=cmedm]
Years Covered: 1840-Present
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available.

PrimateLit
[http://primatelit.library.wisc.edu]
Research in primatology, covering ecology, biology, psychology, health sciences and other fields. Citations of articles in journals dating since 1940. Managed by the Wisconsin Primate Research Center, with funding from the National Institutes of Health. Bibliography.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/nursing?accountid=11308]
Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications. Designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.

ProQuest Psychology Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/psychologyshell?accountid=11308]
ProQuest Psychology Journals™ provides abstracts and indexing for more than 615 titles, with over 520 titles available in full text. Both students and mental-health professionals get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research from top psychology and related publications.

PsycARTICLES
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=pdh]
Years Covered: 1894-
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains approximately 150,000 articles from over 70 journals published by the APA, and its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychology Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group.

Psychology Complete from Ebsco (PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=psyh,pdh]
Search PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES at the same time gaining expanded coverage and one stop for much of your Psychology search needs.

PsycInfo
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=psyh]
International, multilingual index with abstracts of articles, books, and selected dissertations in psychology. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

PubMed (MEDLINE)
[http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/PubMed/]
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available with limited full text.

PubMed Central
[http://www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov]
Free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journals, maintained by the US National Institutes of Health. Some journals do not include current issues. Digitization program underway to build complete back files. Full text available.


Periodicals

Free Medical Journals
[http://www.freemedicaljournals.com/]
Listing with links to Free Medical Journals and a listing of any limitations


Subject Headings

Medical Subject Headings
[https://www.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/]
Explanation of NLM's (Medline/Pubmed) MESH Subject Headings, how they work and how to use them.


Websites

General Resources

Alzheimer's Association
[http://www.alz.org/]
General information about Alzheimer's disease.

Annual Reviews
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.annualreviews.org/]
Search engine for all 26 of Annual Reviews' products with table of contents and abstracts.

Autism Information Center
[http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/autism]
Essential information about Autism and Autism Spectrum Disorders for the Center for Disease Control and Prevention.

CogPrints
[http://cogprints.org/]
Electronic archive for papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, as well as portions of computer Science, Philosophy, Biology and other fields pertinent to the study of cognition.

Human Intelligence
[http://www.indiana.edu/%7Eintell/]
A comprehensive overview of the field of intelligence theory and testing from Plato to the present day is presented in this site. It includes a timeline of the major figures in the field and a "Hot Topics" section.

Neurosciences on the Internet
[http://www.neuroguide.com/]
Keyword and subject searchable database of web and other Internet resources in neurobiology, neurology, neurosurgery, psychiatry, psychology, and cognitive science.

Psychiatry Online
[http://www.priory.com/psych.htm]
An international peer-reviewed journal of articles, case reports, and briefs in such areas as transcultural mental health, child and adolescent psychiatry, and forensic psychiatry. Archives can be accessed through the Search button.

Psychology Web Links by Topic
[http://www.socialpsychology.org/psylinks.htm]
Subdivided into clinical, cognitive, cultural, developmental, personality, and social psychology; neuroscience; industrial-organizational; history of psychology.

SearchMedica
[http://www.searchmedica.co.uk/]
Access hundreds of high-quality Web sites. One time user registration is required, but site is free to use.

Whole Brain Atlas
[http://www.med.harvard.edu/AANLIB/home.html]
CT and MRI images of healthy and dysfunctional brains. Java required for fullest use of pages.


Statistics

Health United States
[http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/hus.htm]
An annual report on trends in health statistics in the United States (1975-present).


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Neuroscience