University of Hartford Libraries

Music Theory and Analysis Subject Guide


Analysis Indexes

Books

These books point to published analyses.

Analyses of Nineteenth- and Twentieth-Century Music, 1940-2000
By D.J. Hoek. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 A6 H64]

Heinrich Schenker: An Annotated Index to His Analyses of Musical Works
By Larry Laskowski. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 T39 S]

Music Analyses: An Annotated Guide to the Literature
By Harold J. Diamond. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 A6 D53]


Web Sites

In Theory Only Analysis Index
[http://name.umdl.umich.edu/0641601.0003.007]
Covers music theory writings published in the U.S. 1955-1970, including books, articles, dissertations, reports, reviews, and other documents. Indexed by author, topic, musical work, and historical theorists discussed. Includes limited full-text searching capability. Predates many of our databases.

UT (University of Tennessee) Analysis Index
[http://www.lib.utk.edu/databases/analysis/]
Provides access to program notes and descriptions or analyses of musical compositions in books owned by the UT Music Library. Look up those books in U of H's library catalog.


Books

Bibliographies

Anthologies of Music: An Annotated Index
By Sterling E. Murray. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 A7 M87 1987]

Heinrich Schenker: A Guide to Research
By Benjamin McKay Ayotte. Allen Library Reference [REF ML134 S32 A96]

Music Theory from Boethius to Zarlino: A Bibliography and Guide
By David Russell Williams and C. Matthew Balensuela. Allen Library Reference [REF] ML128 T39 W55

Music Theory from Zarlino to Schenker: A Bibliography and Guide
By David Damschroder. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 T39 D36]

A Topical Guide to Schenkerian Literature: An Annotated Bibliography with Indices
By David Carson Berry. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 T39 S B47]


Books About Theory

Cambridge History of Western Music Theory
Edited by Thomas Christensen. Allen Library Stacks [ML55 C36 C47]

Essays in Musical Analysis, 6 vols.
By Donald Francis Tovey. Allen Library Stacks [MT90 T736]

Fourscore Classics of Music Literature: A Guide to Selected Original Sources on Theory and Other Writings Not Available in English
By Gustave Reese. Allen Library Stacks [ML160 R32]

An Introduction to Schenkerian Analysis
By Allen Forte. Allen Library Stacks [MT40 F73]

Music Analysis in the Nineteenth Century
By Ian Bent. Allen Library Stacks [MT90 M88 1994]

Music and Ideas in the Sixteenth and Seventeenth Centuries
By Claude Palisca. Allen Library Stacks [ML174 P16 M87]

Musical Form in the Age of Beethoven
By A.B. Marx. Allen Library Stacks [MT6 M37 M88]


Search Inside Books

Google Books
[http://books.google.com/]
Search the full text of millions of books. Very helpful for discovering titles and contents. You can frequently view tables of contents and search for terms inside the books. Sometimes you can see the indexes or preview selected text.


Call Numbers

[REF] ML113
Music research guides and bibliographies

[REF] ML128 A6
Analysis bibliographies

[REF] ML128 T39
Theory bibliographies

[REF] ML134
Thematic catalogs of and bibliographies about individual composers

Biographies of composers
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/callnumber:ML410*?sort=pubyear%20desc]
ML410

M2.8
Facsimiles

M3
Collected works of individual composers

ML423
Biographies of theorists

ML430 - ML455
Composition: includes harmony, form, etc.

ML457
Interpretation and performance practice

ML3800 - ML3920
Philosophy and physics of music

MT5.5 - MT7
Music theory: instruction and study

MT50
Harmony textbooks and treatises (including some keyboard harmony)

MT52 - MT62
Modulation, counterpoint, forms, genres, etc.

MT90 - MT146
Analytical guides

MT93
Guides to single works

MT224
Keyboard harmony

MT870
Sight singing (solfege, methods)


Databases

Dissertations and Theses Abstracts + Full Text (Proquest)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/pqdthss?accountid=11308]
Describes over 2 million dissertations from institutions around the U.S. (and some international), with citations from 1861 to the present. Includes full text for many of the Humanities and Social Sciences dissertations as well as most UH dissertations 1997-present. Many of the other dissertations are available through interlibrary loan .

JSTOR
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.jstor.org]
Searchable full text of articles from selected scholarly journals in fields including anthropology, ecology, economics, education, history, language and literature, life sciences, mathematics, music, performing arts, philosophy, political sciences, sociology, statistics, and more. No current issues available; generally excludes last two to five years. Historical coverage varies; JSTOR generally includes journals back through their inception (pre-1950 in many cases).

Music Index Online
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=mah]
Years Covered: 1973-Present
Identifies articles in over 700 music journals. Covers classical, jazz, popular, folk, and world music, including musicology, ethnomusicology, theory, applied and professional topics, music education, music industry, and reviews. Allen Library also has printed volumes: 1949-1998, [Ref] ML113 M9. UH access only.

Music Periodicials Database (formerly International Index to Music Periodicals; IIMP)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/iimpft?accountid=11308]
Identifies articles in over 400 music journals, including scholarly, applied, music education, and popular topics. Has full article descriptions 1996-present. Has brief descriptions for some journals back to their inception. Includes full text for many articles. UH access only.

Oxford Music Online
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com]
Formerly Grove Music Online, comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians 2nd ed., The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz 2nd ed. The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music 2nd ed.

RILM
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=rih]
Years Covered: 1967-Present
RILM (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale) describes scholarly writings on music and related disciplines, including dance. Includes citations and abstracts for journal articles, essays, Festschriften, dissertations, books, scholarly reviews, etc. International coverage, including non-English languages. The Allen Library also has printed volumes from 1967-1994.

WorldCat
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://firstsearch.oclc.org/fsip?dbname=worldcat&done=referer]
Available through FirstSearch, lists the holdings of over 9,000 libraries worldwide. University of Hartford registered library borrowers may place requests through WorldCat for items not held by University Libraries.


Periodicals

Computer Music Journal
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/Titles/SearchResults/8684?SearchType=2&Find=+Computer+Music+Journal+&GetResourcesBy=QuickSearch&resourceTypeName=allTitles&resourceType=&radioButtonChanged=]

Contemporary Music Review
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/titles.asp?txtKeyword=Contemporary+Music+Review+&SF=Titles&id=8684&sid=76148354&LH=&lang.subject=&lang.menu=&cmdSearchSubmit=Search&optPages=1]

In Theory Only
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/Titles/SearchResults/8684?SearchType=2&Find=+In+Theory+Only+&GetResourcesBy=QuickSearch&resourceTypeName=allTitles&resourceType=&radioButtonChanged=]

Indiana Theory Review
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/Titles/SearchResults/8684?SearchType=2&Find=+Indiana+Theory+Review+&GetResourcesBy=QuickSearch&resourceTypeName=allTitles&resourceType=&radioButtonChanged=]

Integral: The Journal of Applied Musical Thought
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/Titles/SearchResults/8684?SearchType=2&Find=+Integral&GetResourcesBy=QuickSearch&resourceTypeName=allTitles&resourceType=&radioButtonChanged=]

Journal of Music Theory
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/Titles/SearchResults/8684?SearchType=2&Find=+Journal+of+Music+Theory++&GetResourcesBy=QuickSearch&resourceTypeName=allTitles&resourceType=&radioButtonChanged=]

Journal of Music Theory Pedagogy
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/Titles/SearchResults/8684?SearchType=2&Find=+Journal+of+Music+Theory+Pedagogy+&GetResourcesBy=QuickSearch&resourceTypeName=allTitles&resourceType=&radioButtonChanged=]

Music Analysis
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/Titles/SearchResults/8684?SearchType=0&Find=+Music+Analysis+&GetResourcesBy=QuickSearch&resourceTypeName=allTitles&resourceType=&radioButtonChanged=]

Music Perception

Music Theory Online
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/Titles/SearchResults/8684?Find=%20Music%20Theory%20Online%20&GetResourcesBy=TitleNameSearch&SearchType=Contains&ResourceTypeName=AllTitles]

Music Theory Spectrum
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/Titles/SearchResults/8684?SearchType=0&Find=+Music+Theory+Spectrum&GetResourcesBy=QuickSearch&resourceTypeName=allTitles&resourceType=&radioButtonChanged=]

Organised Sound
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/Titles/SearchResults/8684?SearchType=2&Find=+Organised+Sound+&GetResourcesBy=QuickSearch&resourceTypeName=allTitles&resourceType=&radioButtonChanged=]

Perspectives of New Music
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/Titles/SearchResults/8684?SearchType=0&Find=+Perspectives+of+New+Music&GetResourcesBy=QuickSearch&resourceTypeName=allTitles&resourceType=&radioButtonChanged=]

Theory and Practice
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/Titles/SearchResults/8684?SearchType=2&Find=+Theory+and+Practice+&GetResourcesBy=QuickSearch&resourceTypeName=allTitles&resourceType=&radioButtonChanged=]


Subject Headings

Canons, fugues, etc

Chromatic alteration

Composition music
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:Composition+music+?fq=collection:BOOK&sort=pubyear%20desc]

Computer composition

Continuo

Counterpoint
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:counterpoint?sort=pubyear%20desc]

Harmonic analysis

Keyboard harmony

Melodic analysis

Melody
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:melody?fq=collection:BOOK&sort=pubyear%20desc]

Music acoustics and physics

Music philosophy and aesthetics

Music theory

Music theory history

Musical analysis

Musical form

Musical intervals and scales

Musical meter and rhythm

Musical notation

Musical temperament

Schenkerian analysis

Sight singing

Style musical

Transposition music

Twelve tone system

NOTE: Also try specific musical forms (e.g., sonata*) and limit search results to books.


Websites

Center for the History of Music Theory and Literature
[http://www.music.indiana.edu/chmtl/]
This site combines electronic access to several databases: Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology--Online; Musical Borrowing; MTO Online Dissertation Index; Thesaurus Musicarum Latinarum; and Saggi musicali italiani.

Music Theory and History Online (at Dolmetsch)
[http://www.dolmetsch.com/theoryintro.htm]
Music theory definitions and lessons. Includes a site index.

Music Theory Online Dissertation Index
[http://mto.societymusictheory.org/docs/diss-index.html]
Links to abstracts of recent dissertations in music theory.

Music Theory Treatises Available Online
[http://guides.library.yale.edu/content.php?pid=123949]
This guide lists important music theory treatises available online through Google Books and Yale Digital Collections.

Musical Borrowing: An Annotated Bibliography
[http://www.chmtl.indiana.edu/borrowing/]
This site for the Center for the History of Music Theory and Literature includes over 1,200 published materials and theses relating to the uses of existing music in the tradition of Western music.

Online Resources for Music Scholars
[http://hcl.harvard.edu/research/guides/onmusic/]
Maintained by the Loeb Music Library, Harvard University, includes links to general as well as music reference sources.

Online Theory and Skills Exercises
[http://libguides.auburn.edu/c.php?g=518984&p=3551346]
Lists sites containing exercises for practicing theory and skills. Maintained by Auburn University.

Society for Music Theory
[http://www.societymusictheory.org/]
The primary American organization for music theorists, SMT provides links to online resources and databases.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Music Theory and Analysis