University of Hartford Libraries

Music History Subject Guide


Books

Analyses of Nineteenth- and Twentieth-Century Music, 1940-2000
By D.J. Hoek. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 A6 H64]

Empirical Musicology
Edited by Eric Clarke and Nicholas Cook. Allen Library Stacks [ML3797.1 E463]

Foundations in Music Bibliography
Edited by Richard D. Green. Allen Library Stacks [ML112.8 G74 F68]

History of Music books are found in ML160.

Introduction to Musicology
By Glen Haydon. Allen Library Stacks [ML3797 H416]

Music Analyses: An Annotated Guide to the Literature
By Harold J. Diamond. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 A6 D53]

Music in the Western World: a History in Documents
Selected and Annotated by Piero Weiss and Richard Taruskin. Allen Library Stacks [ML160 M865]

Music Reference and Research Materials: An Annotated Bibliography
By Vincent Duckles and Ida Reed. Allen Library Permanent Reserves [ML113 D83 1997]

Musicology and Difference: Gender and Sexuality in Music Scholarship
Edited by Ruth A. Solie. Allen Library Stacks [ML3838 M875]

Source Readings in Music History from Classical Antiquity through the Romantic Era
By Oliver W. Strunk. Allen Library Stacks [ML160 S92] Also available in individual volumes by era: Renaissance, Baroque, Classical, Romantic.

Writing About Music: A Style Sheet, 3rd Edition
By D. Kern Holoman. Allen Library Writing Center [ML3797 W68 2014]
Helpful for citing or referring to musical titles or terminology.


Call Numbers

[REF] ML128
Bibliographies by subject

[REF] ML134
Thematic catalogs of and bibliographies about individual composers

[REF] ML156
Discographies

Biographies of composers
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/callnumber:ML410*?sort=pubyear%20desc]
ML410

M2.8
Facsimiles

M3
Collected works of individual composers

ML112
Music printing and publishing

ML113
General bibliography

ML114 -118
Bibliography of special periods

ML120 -125
Bibliography arranged by region or country

ML160
General histories of music

ML385 - ML429
Biographies

ML457
Interpretation and performance practice

ML459 - ML1351
Instruments and instrumental music

ML1400 - ML3275
Vocal music

ML3797 - ML3799
Musicology and ethnomusicology

ML3845 - ML3877
Aesthetics

MT90 -145
Analytical guides (For guides to single works, see MT93)


Databases

History Reference Center
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=khh]
Offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.

JSTOR
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.jstor.org]
Searchable full text of articles from selected scholarly journals in fields including anthropology, ecology, economics, education, history, language and literature, life sciences, mathematics, music, performing arts, philosophy, political sciences, sociology, statistics, and more. No current issues available; generally excludes last two to five years. Historical coverage varies; JSTOR generally includes journals back through their inception (pre-1950 in many cases).

Music Index Online
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=mah]
Years Covered: 1973-Present
Identifies articles in over 700 music journals. Covers classical, jazz, popular, folk, and world music, including musicology, ethnomusicology, theory, applied and professional topics, music education, music industry, and reviews. Allen Library also has printed volumes: 1949-1998, [Ref] ML113 M9. UH access only.

Music Periodicials Database (formerly International Index to Music Periodicals; IIMP)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/iimpft?accountid=11308]
Identifies articles in over 400 music journals, including scholarly, applied, music education, and popular topics. Has full article descriptions 1996-present. Has brief descriptions for some journals back to their inception. Includes full text for many articles. UH access only.

Oxford Music Online
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com]
Formerly Grove Music Online, comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians 2nd ed., The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz 2nd ed. The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music 2nd ed.

RILM
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=rih]
Years Covered: 1967-Present
RILM (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale) describes scholarly writings on music and related disciplines, including dance. Includes citations and abstracts for journal articles, essays, Festschriften, dissertations, books, scholarly reviews, etc. International coverage, including non-English languages. The Allen Library also has printed volumes from 1967-1994.

RISM
[http://opac.rism.info/index.php?id=2&L=1]
RISM (Répertoire International des Sources Musicales) indexes music manuscripts created between 1600 and 1800 (plus some later years), showing what exists and indicating which libraries, archives, monasteries, schools, or private collections hold the original manuscript(s).


Periodicals

Acta Musicologica

American Music Research Center Journal

American Musicological Society Journal

Archiv für Musikwissenschaft

Critical Musicology Journal

Current Musicology

Die Musikforschung

Early Music

Frankfurter Zeitschrift für Musikwissenschaft

Journal of 17th Century Music

Journal of Musicology

Min -Ad

Music and Letters

Music Review

Musical Quarterly

Musicology

Nineteenth Century Music

Performance Practice Review

Plainsong and Medieval Music

Revue de Musicologie

Royal Musical Association Journal

STM -Online

Tempo: A Quarterly Review of Modern Music
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/titles.asp?txtKeyword=tempo+quarterly+review&SF=Titles&id=8684&sid=76148354&LH=&lang.subject=&lang.menu=&cmdSearchSubmit=Search&optPages=1]


Subject Headings

Music criticism

Music critics

Music history

Musicology

Performance practice music


Websites

American Musicological Society
[http://www.ams-net.org/]
Excellent site for information on a broad range of music topics with many links to other internet resources.

British Library Manuscripts Catalogue
[http://molcat.bl.uk/]
Compiled over nearly two centuries, the scholarly catalogs of the Department of Manuscripts cover all types of handwritten material in western languages including notes written on papyrus, literary and political papers, manuscript music, maps, drawings, photographs and illuminated manuscripts.

Center for the History of Music Theory and Literature
[http://www.music.indiana.edu/chmtl/]
This site combines electronic access to several databases: Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology--Online; Musical Borrowing; MTO Online Dissertation Index; Thesaurus Musicarum Latinarum; and Saggi musicali italiani.

Dial "M" for Musicology
[http://dialmformusicology.com/]
A musicology group blog, intended as a place for professors, students, and independent scholars to work ideas out publicly.

Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology
[http://www.ams-net.org/ddm/]
Electronic version of the standard reference work.

Musical Borrowing: An Annotated Bibliography
[http://www.chmtl.indiana.edu/borrowing/]
This site for the Center for the History of Music Theory and Literature includes over 1,200 published materials and theses relating to the uses of existing music in the tradition of Western music.

Online Resources for Music Scholars
[http://hcl.harvard.edu/research/guides/onmusic/]
Maintained by the Loeb Music Library, Harvard University, includes links to general as well as music reference sources.

Writing & Research Guides
[http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guide.asp?subject=Music%20Writing%20and%20Research%20Guides]
Compiled by Allen Library staff.

WWW Sites of Interest to Musicologists
[http://www.ams-net.org/www-musicology.php]
Provided by the American Musicological Society


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Music History