University of Hartford Libraries

Music Education Subject Guide


Books

See our books on music education (published 2000-present).
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/(music%20education)?owned-by=ALLEN&collection=%22BOOK%22&suppress=0&pubyear=%5B2010%20TO%202040%5D]
(Crude search using music education as a keyword. Omits items without those words.) ____________________________________________________________________________

Bibliography of Source Readings in Music Education
By Vincent J. Kantorski. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 I64 K3]

The Business of Administration and Supervision in Music: A Selective Annotated Bibliography
By Louis R. Rossman. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 A78 R67]

Foundations of Music Education
By Harold F. Abeles, Charles R. Hoffer, and Robert H. Klotman. Allen Library Stacks [MT1 A21 1994]

A Guide to Research in Music Education
By Roger Phelps, Lawrence Ferrara, and Thomas W. Goolsby. Allen Library Stacks [MT1 P54 1993]

A History of Music Education in the United States
By James A. Keene. Allen Library Stacks [MT3 U5 K2]

Inquiry in Music Education: Concepts and Methods for the Beginning Researcher
By Hildegard C. Froehlich and Carol Frierson-Campbell. Allen Library Stacks [MT 1 F76 I5]

Learning Sequences in Music: Skill, Content, and Patterns
By Edwin Gordon. Allen Library Stacks [MT1 G66 L 1997]

MENC Handbook of Research on Music Learning
Edited by Richard Colwell and Peter Webster. Allen Library Stacks [MT1 H25 C72 2011 v. 1-2]

Music Activities in Early Childhood
Compiled by John M. Feierabend. Allen Library Stacks [MT1 M85 F29]

Music Education at a Crossroads: Realizing the Goal of Music for All
Edited by Janet R. Barrett; MENC (National Association for Music Education). 2009.
Allen Library Stacks [MT3 U5 M875]

Music Education: Source Readings from Ancient Greece to Today
By Michael L. Mark. Allen Stacks [MT2 M34 M87]

The New Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning
Edited by Richard Colwell and Carol Richardson. 2002.
Allen Library Reference [REF MT1 C72 N48]

The NYSSMA Manual. 27th ed
By the New York State School Music Association.
Allen Library Reference [REF ML27 N5 M]

The Oxford Handbook of Children's Musical Cultures
Edited by Patricia Shehan Campbell and Trevor Wiggins. 2013. Allen Library Stacks [ML83 O]

The Oxford Handbook of Music Education
Edited by Gary E. McPherson and Graham F. Welch.
Allen Library Stacks [MT1 O936] [2012]

The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy in Music Education
By Wayne Brown and Ana Lucia Frega Format. Allen Library Stacks [MT1 O935 P45] [2014]

The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research in American Music Education
Edited by Colleen M. Conway. Allen Library Stacks [MT1 O935 Q35] [2014]

The Oxford Handbook of Social Justice in Music Education.
Edited by Cathy Benedict, Patrick Schmidt, Gary Spruce, and Paul Woodford.
Allen Library Stacks [MT1 O935 S63] [2015]

A Philosophy of Music Education: Advancing the Vision
By Bennett Reimer. Allen Stacks [MT1 R36 2005]

Promising Practices: Prekindergarten Music Education
Editied by Barbara Andress. Allen Library Stacks [MT920 P76]

Readings in Music Learning Theory
Edited by Darrel Walters and Cynthia Crump Taggart. Allen Library Stacks [MT1 R43]

Research in Music Education: An Introduction to Systematic Inquiry
By Edward Rainbow. Allen Library Stacks[MT1 R26 R3]

Teaching music: Managing the Successful Music Program
By Darwin E. Walker. Allen Library Stacks [MT1 W35 T4]


Call Numbers

M1627 - 1629
Folk music

M1990 - 1994
Children's songs

ML1200 - 1251
Orchestral music

ML1300 - 1351
Band music

ML1400 - 1451
Vocal music

ML1500 - 1551
Choral music

ML1600 - 1651
Secular music

ML3838
Musical ability

MT1
Theory of musical instruction and study

MT6
General music theory

MT10 - 11
Teacher's manuals

MT20
Special methods of education:

MT22
Jaques Dalcroze

MT32
Kodaly

MT35
Ear training

MT170 - 801
Technique books - arranged by instrument

MT820 - 893
Singing and voice

MT898 - 949
Techniques for children


Databases

Dissertations and Theses Abstracts + Full Text (Proquest)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/pqdthss?accountid=11308]
Describes over 2 million dissertations from institutions around the U.S. (and some international), with citations from 1861 to the present. Includes full text for many of the Humanities and Social Sciences dissertations as well as most UH dissertations 1997-present. Many of the other dissertations are available through interlibrary loan .

ERIC (Proquest)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/eric/advanced?accountid=11308]
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database has abstracts of articles from over 775 journals. ERIC also indexes education research in books and contains a massive collection of ERIC documents, with full text online or in microfiche. (Univ. of Hartford has micro going back to 1980).

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.alexanderstreet.com/glnd]
Includes over 1,200 essays about music from all parts of the world. This is the digital version of the print edition, which is found in the Allen Library reference collection at ML100 G37.

Music Index Online
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=mah]
Years Covered: 1973-Present
Identifies articles in over 700 music journals. Covers classical, jazz, popular, folk, and world music, including musicology, ethnomusicology, theory, applied and professional topics, music education, music industry, and reviews. Allen Library also has printed volumes: 1949-1998, [Ref] ML113 M9. UH access only.

Music Periodicials Database (formerly International Index to Music Periodicals; IIMP)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/iimpft?accountid=11308]
Identifies articles in over 400 music journals, including scholarly, applied, music education, and popular topics. Has full article descriptions 1996-present. Has brief descriptions for some journals back to their inception. Includes full text for many articles. UH access only.

RILM
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=rih]
Years Covered: 1967-Present
RILM (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale) describes scholarly writings on music and related disciplines, including dance. Includes citations and abstracts for journal articles, essays, Festschriften, dissertations, books, scholarly reviews, etc. International coverage, including non-English languages. The Allen Library also has printed volumes from 1967-1994.

Smithsonian Global Sound
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.alexanderstreet.com/glmu]
Streaming audio of traditional music from around the world. Includes around 3,000 albums worth of music.

Teacher Reference Center
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=trh]
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.


Periodicals

Action, Criticism and Theory for Music Education

American Music Teacher

American String Teacher

British Journal of Music Education

Bulletin of Historical Research in Music Education

Council for Research in Music Education Bulletin

Dialogue in Instrumental Music Education

Early Childhood Connections

General Music Today

Illinois Music Educator

Instrumentalist

International Journal of Music Education

Journal of Music Teacher Education

Journal of Research in Music Education

Journal of Singing

Music Education Research

Music Educators Journal

Music Perception

NATS Bulletin and Journal

NSOA Bulletin

Philosophy of Music Education Review

Psychology of Music

Research Perspectives in Music

Research Studies in Music Education

Sing Out!

South Central Music Bulletin

Southeastern Journal of Music Education

Teaching Music

Update: Applications of Research in Music Education


Subject Headings

Children's songs

Choral conducting

Conducting

Ear training

Folk songs

Instruction and study

Methods

Music teachers

Musical ability

School music

Sight reading music

Sight singing

Singing games


Websites

American Orff -Schulwerk Association
[http://www.aosa.org/]
Presents information about the organization, grants and scholarships, approved teacher-training courses, local chapters, arts education organizations, and links to other related Internet sites.

ArtsEdge
[http://artsedge.kennedy-center.org/]
"The mission of ArtsEdge is to help artists, teachers and students gain access to and/or share information, resources, and ideas that support the arts as a core subject area in the K-12 curriculum."

Gordon Institute for Music Learning
[http://www.giml.org/]
Music Learning Theory is an explanation of how we learn when we learn music. Official site for Music Learning Theory and the Gordon Institute for Music Learning (GIML) contains information about music learning theory, the research of Edwin E. Gordon and others, and publications of the Institute.

Jazz: A Film by Ken Burns
[http://www.pbs.org/jazz/]
Jazz presents a history of this distinctly American form of music. There are links to lesson plans and activities for educators.

Music Education Online Job Book
[http://uhavax.hartford.edu/jobbook]
Listings of jobs for K-12 and in higher education in Connecticut, Massachusetts, New York, and Other States.

Music Education Resource Library
[http://library.hartford.edu/allenlibrary/merlsearch.asp]
Searchable database maintained by the Music Education Division of The Hartt School. Contains general music methods books, instrumental methods books, orchestra and band scores, teacher training texts, dissertations, music appreciation texts, and choral music.

Music Teachers National Association
[http://www.mtna.org/]
Information about their organization, conferences, professional resources, etc.

NAfME
[http://www.nafme.org/]
Includes information on NAfME (formerly MENC) , state Music Education Associations, the NAfME Career Center, classroom resources, industry contacts, meetings and conferences, and an index by area of interest.

NAfME: The National Association for Music Education
[http://www.nafme.org/]
NAfME provides music educators, students, and musicians with information on and links to education standards, career opportunities, financial aid, state-run festivals, and other resources.

The New York Philharmonic Kidzone
[http://www.nyphilkids.org/]
An interactive site where "users can hear instruments, watch interviews with musicians and follow the orchestra around the world" and learn about composers. Resource center with lesson plans for teachers.

NYSSMA
[http://www.nyssma.org/]
The New York State School Music Association home page provides information about the organization and a useful guide to related resources on the internet.

Organization of American Kodály Educators
[http://oake.org/]
Provides information about the organization and its publications, training institutions, employment opportunities, and links to related sites.

Suzuki Program at the Hartt School
[http://harttweb.hartford.edu/community/music/suzuki.aspx]
Information on the Suzuki method of instruction as taught in The Hartt School's Community Division.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Music Education