University of Hartford Libraries

Music Dictionaries and Encyclopedias Subject Guide


Books

ASCAP Biographical Dictionary
Compiled by J. Cattell Press. Allen Library Reference [REF ML106 U58A 1980]

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, 6 vols.
Edited by Nicolas Slonimsky. Allen Library Reference [REF ML105 B16 2001]

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Classical Musicians.
Edited by Nicolas Slonimsky and Laura Kuhn. Allen Library Reference [REF ML105 B16 1997]

Encyclopedia of Popular Music
Edited by Colin Larkin. Allen Library Reference [REF ML102 P8 G84 1998 v.1-8]

The Harvard Dictionary of Music
Edited by Don M. Randel. Allen Library Reference [REF ML100 N53 2003]

International Who's Who in Classical Music
Allen Library Reference [REF ML105 W62 I 2008]

International Who's Who in Music, Vol. 2: Popular Music 3rd ed.
By Cara Bootman and Tamsin Parrott. Allen Library Reference [REF ML105 W62 P 2000]

Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart
By Ludwig Finscher. Allen Library Reference [REF ML100 B241994]

The New Grove Dictionary of American Music, 4 vols.
Edited by H. Wiley Hitchcock and Stanley Sadie. Allen Library Reserves [PERM RES ML101 U5N]

Schirmer Pronouncing Pocket Manual of Musical Terms
By Theodore Baker. Allen Library Reference [REF ML109 S35]


Databases

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.alexanderstreet.com/glnd]
Includes over 1,200 essays about music from all parts of the world. This is the digital version of the print edition, which is found in the Allen Library reference collection at ML100 G37.

Oxford Music Online
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com]
Formerly Grove Music Online, comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians 2nd ed., The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz 2nd ed. The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music 2nd ed.


Websites

Donald Clarke's Music Box
[http://www.donaldclarkemusicbox.com/]
Online indexed encyclopedia with nearly 4,000 entries for performers, songwriters, producers, and record labels.

Encyclopedia of Music in Canada
[http://www.thecanadianencyclopedia.ca/en/browse/Things/Music/]
Offered by the National Library of Canada, this site provides access to a complete reference of everything musical in Canada.

Glossary of German Publishing Terms
[http://web.library.yale.edu/cataloging/music/Common-terms-used-in-German-music-publications-and-thematic-indices]
List of common words with abbreviations and English translations.

Glossary of Musical Terms
[http://www.naxos.com/education/glossary.asp#]
A comprehensive list of terms with short definitions. Compiled by Naxos Music Library.

OnMusic Dictionary
[http://dictionary.onmusic.org/]
Dictionary of musical terms that includes pronunciations (with text and audio examples), cross references to terms in other languages, musical examples, quizzes, and simulations.

Performing Arts Encyclopedia
[http://loc.gov/performingarts/encyclopedia]
Guide to musical, theatrical, and dance collections available at the Library of Congress. Includes collections, databases, online presentations, exhibits, and finding aids.

Pronouncing Dictionary of Music and Musicians
[http://iowapublicradio.org/pronouncing-dictionary-music-and-musicians]
Dictionary with 30,000 entries, see the Preface and Pronunciation Conventions files for more information.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Music Dictionaries and Encyclopedias