University of Hartford Libraries

Music Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Career Coach: Managing Your Career in the Music Industry
Career Services Shelves ML3795 .F498 2008


Bibliographies

Music Reference and Research Materials: An Annotated Bibliography
By Vincent Duckles and Ida Reed. Allen Library Permanent Reserves [ML113 D83 1997]


Biographies

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians
Allen Library Reference [REF ML105 B16 2001]

The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/vol/276]
Biographical information about composers, performers, music theorists, and instrument makers from the days of praise chants to the bop and pop of today.


Dictionaries

The American Heritage Abbreviations Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/hmabbr?institutionId=4005]
Definition for abbreviations across disciplines.

The Harvard Dictionary of Music
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/vol/292]
Authoritative scholarship and lucid, lively prose for musicians, students, and everyone who appreciates music.

The New Penguin Dictionary of Music
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/vol/497]
Essential A-Z of some 1,000 years of Western music.

The Penguin Rhyming Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/penrd]
Offers an astonishingly wide range of suggestions for rhyming words, from the common and everyday to the more difficult and obscure.


Encyclopedias

Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World: Media, Industry and Society
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/vol/630]
Contains many entries on social phenomena of relevance to the practise of popular music.

Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World: Performance and Production
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/vol/627]
Contains entries on types of performing groups and individuals as well as on a wide variety of performance techniques.

The Faber Companion to 20th Century Popular Music
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/vol/280]
Varied entries covering everything from bebop to western swing by way of psychedelic rock.


Style Guides

Writing About Music: A Style Sheet, 3rd Edition
By D. Kern Holoman. Allen Library Writing Center [ML3797 W68 2014]
Helpful for citing or referring to musical titles or terminology.


Databases

General Resources

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.alexanderstreet.com/glnd]
Includes over 1,200 essays about music from all parts of the world. This is the digital version of the print edition, which is found in the Allen Library reference collection at ML100 G37.

Humanities Abstracts
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=hma]
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology

Oxford Bibliographies Online - Music
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.oxfordbibliographies.com/browse?module_0=obo-9780199757824]
Extensive bibliographies on a variety of music subjects and people. Each bibliography typically has introductory text as well as a list of music, books, articles, recordings, and other resources relevant to the topic. Each citation is accompanied by a brief statement describing the resource.

Oxford Music Online
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com]
Formerly Grove Music Online, comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians 2nd ed., The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz 2nd ed. The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music 2nd ed.

RISM
[http://opac.rism.info/index.php?id=2&L=1]
RISM (Répertoire International des Sources Musicales) indexes music manuscripts created between 1600 and 1800 (plus some later years), showing what exists and indicating which libraries, archives, monasteries, schools, or private collections hold the original manuscript(s).

Sheet Music Search
[http://library.hartford.edu/allenlibrary/sheetmusic.asp]
Search the catalog of sheet music held at the Allen Library.

WorldCat
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://firstsearch.oclc.org/fsip?dbname=worldcat&done=referer]
Available through FirstSearch, lists the holdings of over 9,000 libraries worldwide. University of Hartford registered library borrowers may place requests through WorldCat for items not held by University Libraries.


Articles

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

CAIRSS for Music
[http://ucairss.utsa.edu/]
CAIRSS (Computer-Assisted Information Retrieval Service System) is a bibliographic database containing more than 16,000 citations from over 1,350 journals in music education, music psychology, music therapy, and music medicine. Index only.

Canadian Music Periodical Index
[http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/films-videos-sound-recordings/music-periodical-index/Pages/search.aspx]
CMPI is an index to Canadian music periodical literature which provides bibliographic sources for information on all aspects of musical activity in Canada. Updated monthly, the database currently includes more than 25,000 entries indexed from 475 Canadian music periodicals.

JSTOR
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.jstor.org]
Searchable full text of articles from selected scholarly journals in fields including anthropology, ecology, economics, education, history, language and literature, life sciences, mathematics, music, performing arts, philosophy, political sciences, sociology, statistics, and more. No current issues available; generally excludes last two to five years. Historical coverage varies; JSTOR generally includes journals back through their inception (pre-1950 in many cases).

Music Index Online
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=mah]
Years Covered: 1973-Present
Identifies articles in over 700 music journals. Covers classical, jazz, popular, folk, and world music, including musicology, ethnomusicology, theory, applied and professional topics, music education, music industry, and reviews. Allen Library also has printed volumes: 1949-1998, [Ref] ML113 M9. UH access only.

Music Periodicials Database (formerly International Index to Music Periodicals; IIMP)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/iimpft?accountid=11308]
Identifies articles in over 400 music journals, including scholarly, applied, music education, and popular topics. Has full article descriptions 1996-present. Has brief descriptions for some journals back to their inception. Includes full text for many articles. UH access only.

RILM
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=rih]
Years Covered: 1967-Present
RILM (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale) describes scholarly writings on music and related disciplines, including dance. Includes citations and abstracts for journal articles, essays, Festschriften, dissertations, books, scholarly reviews, etc. International coverage, including non-English languages. The Allen Library also has printed volumes from 1967-1994.


Audio

Classical Music Library
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.alexanderstreet.com/clmu]
Listen online in this audio database that contains over 4,000 albums of classical music from medieval to contemporary music. UH access only.

DRAM
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://proxy.dramonline.org]
Listen online in this audio database that contains over 2,000 albums by American composers and artists, from folk to opera, Native American to jazz, nineteenth-century classical to early rock, music theater, and contemporary music. It includes the complete catalog of New World Records; repertoire from CRI , Albany Records, Innova Recordings; and liner notes and essays from these labels. UH access only.

Naxos Music Library
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://hartford.naxosmusiclibrary.com/]
Listen online in this audio database of more than 45,000 albums. Includes primarily classical music, and also some world, folk jazz, blues, and popular music. UH access only.

Smithsonian Global Sound
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.alexanderstreet.com/glmu]
Streaming audio of traditional music from around the world. Includes around 3,000 albums worth of music.


Websites

General Resources

American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
[https://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html]
Superb collection of American historical links, plus prints, photographic images, and other excellent graphics.

ArtPromote
[http://www.artpromote.com/]
Search for websites, images and other information for Art, Science and Humanities

A Guide to Copyright for Music Librarians
[http://copyright.musiclibraryassoc.org/]
This site serves to inform about current issues in copyright that affect the musical community.

International Music Score Library Project
[http://imslp.org/wiki/Main_Page]
An internet-based collaborative music score library containing tens of thousands of scores in the public domain.

Music Necrology List
[http://library.wustl.edu/units/music/gaylord-music-library-music-necrology/]
Current information about deaths reported in the music press since 1991, including the Obituary Index from annual issues of the Music Library Association's journal Notes.


Comprehensive Sites

Martindale's The Reference Desk
[http://www.martindalecenter.com/]
Links arranged by subject. Quick and easy to use.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Music