University of Hartford Libraries

Modern Languages and Culture Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Cambridge Guide to Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupteacheng]
Guide to the central areas of applied linguistics and language studies with particular reference to TESOL. It looks at the current state of TESOL as well as at what is likely to happen in the future.

Divided by a Common Language
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/hmdbacl?institutionId=4005]
Explains differences in pronunciation, spelling, and vocabulary between British and American English.

Key ideas in linguistics and the philosophy of language
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.credoreference.com/book/edinburghilpl]
Introductory entries on ideas that have shaped the study of language up to the present day.

Key thinkers in linguistics and the philosophy of language
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.credoreference.com/book/edinburghthinkl]
Reference guide to the work of figures who have played an important role in the development of ideas about language.

Opportunities in Overseas Careers
Mortensen Library Shelves HF5549.5.E45 C32 2005

Pop Culture China! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcpochine?institutionId=4005]
From the modernization of traditional theater to the traditional uses of modern technology, this book presents a guide to the emerging culture of a country that will inevitably become increasingly influential in coming years.

Pop Culture India! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcindpope?institutionId=4005]
Introduction to a diverse nation whose appetite for entertainment has led to some surprising twists and turns in recent history.


Dictionaries

bab.la (Multi-Language Dictionary)
[http://en.bab.la/dictionary/]
Free online platform for language lovers with 40 dictionaries for 28 languages, a language forum, vocabulary lessons, language games, quizzes, verb conjugation for 12 languages, phrase books for university, business or travel, an internship platform and many other language-related products.

Brewer's Dictionary of Irish Phrase and Fable
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/orionirishpf]
Devoted exclusively to the history, culture, mythology and language of the island of Ireland.

The Browser's Dictionary of Foreign Words and Phrases
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/browdfwp]
Practical and browsable A-to-Z reference tells you all you need to know to understand, pronounce and appreciate the many foreign words and phrases commonly used by speakers and writers of English.

Chambers Dictionary of Eponyms
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cde]
Find the origin of words that derive from a person from history.

Collins English-Greek Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsenggreek]
A comprehensive coverage of today's Greek and English in a clear, user-friendly format.

Collins English-Polish Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsengpol]
This dictionary will help you read and understand modern Polish, as well as communicate and express yourself in the language.

Collins Greek-English Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsgreekeng]
Thousands of examples show how Greek is used in context.

Collins Irish Dictionary
[http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsirish]
Complete and up-to-date coverage of all the words and phrases you need in Irish

Collins Latin Dictionary Plus Grammar
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/hcdlat]
Complete and up-to-date coverage of all the words and phrases you need in Latin

Collins Portuguese Dictionary
[http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsport]
Complete and up-to-date coverage of all the words and phrases you need in Portuguese

Collins Slownik Polsko-Angielski (Polish-English Dictionary)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinspoleng]
This dictionary will help you read and understand modern Polish, as well as communicate and express yourself in the language.

Collins Spurrell Welsh Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/collinswelshdict?institutionId=4005]
Complete and up-to-date coverage of all the words and phrases you need in Spurrell Welsh

Dictionary of Foreign Phrases and Abbreviations
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/dfpa]
Lists in one alphabetical sequence foreign phrases, proverbs, maxims and abbreviations frequently used in written and spoken English.

Dictionary of languages : the definitive reference to more than 400 languages
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/dictlang?institutionId=4005]
The essential guide to the languages of the world, comprehensively detailing more than 400 languages in a clear A-Z style.

Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/bkdictling]
Remains the standard single-volume reference for the field of linguistics and phonetics.

Dictionary of Sociolinguistics
[http://www.credoreference.com/book/edinburghds]
Provides a broad coverage of sociolinguistics, including macro- and micro-sociolinguistics and a range of approaches within variationist, interactional, critical and applied traditions.


Databases

California Language Archive (Native American Languages)
[http://cla.berkeley.edu/]
A catalog and online archive of the indigenous languages of California, western North America, and the Americas.

Essay & General Literature Index with Retrospective
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=egr,egi]
Years Covered: 1900-
Essay & General Literature offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Humanities Abstracts
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=hma]
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology

JSTOR Arts and Sciences
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.jstor.org]
Searchable full text of articles from selected scholarly journals in fields including area studies, anthropology, ecology, economics, education, history, language and literature, mathematics, philosophy, political sciences, sociology and statistics. No current issues available. Historical coverage varies, but database includes some titles from before 1950.

MLA Bibliography
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/mlaib?accountid=11308]
International index of books and journals. Covers modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. For information about the periodicals included, consult the MLA Directory of Periodicals.


Websites

General Resources

Arts and Letters Daily
[http://www.aldaily.com/]
A daily survey of "breakthrough" publications in philosophy, aesthetics, literature, and other humanistic disciplines.

Foreign Languages and Literature Internet Resources (MIT Libraries)
[http://mitgsl.mit.edu/]
Electronic journals, newspapers and magazines available in Chinese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish.

I Love Languages
[http://www.ilovelanguages.com/]
A comprehensive catalog (in excess of 1,200 links) of language-related Internet sources.

Martindale's The Reference Desk
[http://www.martindalecenter.com/]
Links arranged by subject. Quick and easy to use.

The Online Medieval and Classical Library (Berkeley Digital Library)
[http://omacl.org/]
Full text of some of the most important literary works of the period. Some in English translations. Search or browse. Also links to additional text sources.

Yiddish Sources
[http://yiddish-sources.com]
This website is arranged in three main sections: reference, research and events. The Yiddish Studies Bibliography lists relevant scholarly literature in the field of Yiddish Studies.


Dictionaries

lexicool.com: Directory of Translation Dictionaries
[http://www.lexicool.com/]
Searchable directory of over 2000 bilingual and multilingual dictionaries and glossaries.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Modern Languages and Culture