University of Hartford Libraries

Middle Eastern History Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Country Studies
[http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html]
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world

Iran's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abciran?institutionId=4005]
Documents the origins, evolution, and current status of all major ethnic groups in Iran.

Quran (Koran, English Translation)
The Koran, the holy scripture of Islam, is the record of Muhammad's oral teaching delivered between the years immediately preceding the Hegira in AD 622 and the Prophet's death in AD 632. This is a searchable English translation.

Power and Succession in Arab Monarchies
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/lrppsam]
Provides an essential compendium of information regarding the politically charged issue of succession in Bahrain, Jordan, Kuwait, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates.

Reformist Voices of Islam: Mediating Islam and Modernity
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sharperef]
Introduces the current generation of moderate reformist thinkers and activists within Islam, the intellectual traditions they carry on, and the reasons why reformist movements have been overshadowed by fundamentalist, revolutionary, and jihadist movements in the Islamic world today.


Biographies

Biographical Dictionary of Modern Egypt
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/bdmodegypt]
Notable figures in modern Egyptian society.

Biographical Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9781414418889&contentSegment=9781414418889]
Illuminates the lives of the most influential and controversial figures in the Middle East and North Africa who came to prominence during the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.

Who's Who in Ancient Egypt, Routledge
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/routwwae]
Notable Figures in ancient Egyptian History.


Dictionaries

Dictionary of Jewish Lore and Legend
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/thjll]
Information on aspects of Judaism including mythology, practices, customs, and laws.

Dictionary of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9780028659961&contentSegment=9780028659961]
Covers the history of the Arab-Israeli conflict from the birth of Zionism at the end of the 19th century. Covers five Arab-Israeli wars, and provides biographies of political personnel in Syria, Egypt, Iraq, Lebanon, Jordan, and the occupied territories.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028659121&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=etoc&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries.

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North Africa
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028659879&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=etoc&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Search the complete text of this 4 volume encyclopedia on the nations, cultures and peoples of the Middle East and North Africa. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
[http://go.galegroup.com/ps/aboutEbook.do?actionString=DO_DISPLAY_ABOUT_PAGE&inPS=true&prodId=GVRL&userGroupName=a23uh&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE|9780028659879&contentSegment=9780028659879]
Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy and government.

Encyclopedia of World Trade From Ancient Times to the Present
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sharpewt]
This is the definitive reference on the history of trade in all time periods. It traces the historical and contemporary interaction of trade, commerce, and culture in fascinating detail.

The New Encyclopedia of Judaism
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/nyupencyjud]
Encyclopedia of all things Judaica.


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Essay & General Literature Index with Retrospective
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=egr,egi]
Years Covered: 1900-
Essay & General Literature offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

History Reference Center
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=khh]
Offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.

ProQuest Social Science Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/socscijournals?accountid=11308]
ProQuest Social Science Journals is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of social science journals. The database includes over 530 titles, with more than 300 available in full text.

World Digital Library (WDL)
[http://www.wdl.org/en/]
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, digital images of significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.


Websites

ABZU (Oriental Institute, University of Chicago)
[http://www.etana.org/abzubib]
Outstanding guide to resources emphasizing Ancient Egypt and Mesopotamia. Links to archaeological sites, maps, and museum collections.

Academic Info: Afghanistan Studies
[http://www.academicinfo.net/afghan.html]
Extensive links to detailed resources on Afghan history and politics with frequent news updates.

Ancient Egypt: The Mythology
[http://www.egyptianmyths.net/]
Detailed, award-winning site devoted to ancient Egyptian religion and mythology.

ArabNet
[http://arabnet.me/]
Provides comprehensive business, political, and cultural information on Arab countries in the Middle East and North Africa. Impressive Quick Search capability by concept or keywords in each country link.

Bank Information Center
[http://www.bicusa.org/]
Information on the projects, policies and practices of the World Bank and other development banks. Includes publications and "toolkits" for those working with the banks. Multilingual.

Byzantium: Byzantine Studies on the Internet (Fordham University)
[http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/byzantium/index.html]
Exceptional website for Byzantine Studies, with bibliographic guides, teaching resources, visual archives, and primary documents. The list of links is an unparalleled resource in itself. Indispensable.

Egyptology Resources (University of Cambridge)
[http://www.newton.cam.ac.uk/egypt/]
Excellent resource for the study of ancient Egypt. Comprehensive links to archaeological sites, visual materials, and museum collections.

Internet Islamic History Sourcebook (Fordham University)
[http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/islam/islamsbook.html]
Wide-ranging resource on Islamic history and culture with a wealth of primary documents and extensive supporting links.

Internet Jewish History Sourcebook (Fordham University)
[http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/jewish/jewishsbook.html]
Superb and comprehensive resource that features extensive full-text primary source documents for Jewish history and culture. Fine supporting links are also a plus in this impressive website.

Islamic Heritage Project (Harvard University)
[http://ocp.hul.harvard.edu/ihp/]
Harvard University has cataloged, conserved, and digitized hundreds of Islamic manuscripts, maps, and published texts from Harvardís renowned library and museum collections.

Labyrinth (Georgetown University)
[http://labyrinth.georgetown.edu/]
Indispensable guide to the Medieval world online, with extensive links to texts, images, and archival databases. A truly extraordinary resource.

NetSERF: The Internet Connection for Medieval Resources (Catholic University of America)
[http://www.netserf.org/]
Enjoyable, well-organized site for all things medieval. Extensive links to museum collections, primary source documents, and image archives.

Repositories of Primary Resources
[http://webpages.uidaho.edu/special-collections/other.Repositories.html]
A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Middle Eastern History