University of Hartford Libraries

Media Arts Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

African Americans in the Visual Arts
Mortensen Library Reference N6538.N5 O86 2003

Career Opportunities in Art
Mortensen Library Reference N6505 .H35 2001

Career Opportunities in the Visual Arts
Career Services Shelves N8350 .C53 2006

Century of American Icons: 100 products and slogans from the 20th century consumer culture
Mortensen Library Reference [HF6161.B4 C46 2002]

A Companion to Television
Mortensen Library Reference [PN1992.5 .C615 2005]

Computer Graphics Companion
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cgraphicscomp]
A comprehensive collection of articles written by selected specialists and spanning a wide range of topics and applications in computer graphics.

Myths & Legends
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ngmyths]
Myths and legends, with their fantastical settings and parade of exotic creatures and beautiful immortals, have inspired some of the most popular works in the National Gallery Collection.

National Directory of Arts Internships
Allen Library Permanent Reserves [NX280 N3 2008]

Opportunities in Commercial Art and Graphic Design Careers
Career Services Shelves NC1001.6 .G68 2004

Pop Culture Arab World! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcarabpe?institutionId=4005]
Explores how Arab pop culture has succeeded in helping forge a pan-Arab identity, where Arab nationalism has failed.

Pop Culture China! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcpochine?institutionId=4005]
From the modernization of traditional theater to the traditional uses of modern technology, this book presents a guide to the emerging culture of a country that will inevitably become increasingly influential in coming years.

Pop Culture Germany! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcpopger?institutionId=4005]
Offers a concise, in-depth overview of the evolution and impact of German media, arts, lifestyles, and recreation, written with a historical perspective.

Pop Culture India! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcindpope?institutionId=4005]
Introduction to a diverse nation whose appetite for entertainment has led to some surprising twists and turns in recent history.

Pop Culture Latin America! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abclampope?institutionId=4005]
A survey of contemporary Latin American popular culture, covering topics that range from music and film to popular festivals and fashion.

Pop Culture Russia! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcrusspe?institutionId=4005]
A revealing look at contemporary Russian popular culture, exploring the historical and social influences that make it unique.


Dictionaries

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art (Part of Oxford Art Online)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.oxfordartonline.com/subscriber]
Search Oxford Art Online or check box for Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and search Dictionary only

The Dictionary of Art
Mortensen Library Reference N31 .D5 1996

Dictionary of media and communication studies
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/dictmedia]
Basic vocabulary of terms used in the media and entertainment industries. Also have 8th edition in Mortensen Library Shelves [P87.5 .W38 2000]

A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art
Formerly Dictionary of Twentieth Century Art in Mortensen Library Reference N6490 .C5317 2009

A Dictionary of Modern Design
Mortensen Library Reference NK1165 .W66 2004

Dictionary of Multimedia and Internet Applications: A Guide for Developers and Users
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/wdmia]
One-stop reference for developers and users.

Prentice Hall Graphic Communications Dictionary
Mortensen Library Reference Z118 .L96 2000

The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/that]
Covers painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, the decorative, applied and graphic arts from all periods throughout the world up to the present day.


Encyclopedias

The Design Encyclopedia
Mortensen Library Reference NK1370 .B93 1994

Encyclopedia of New Media: an Essential Reference to Communication and Technology
Mortensen Library Reference QA76.575 .E5368 2003

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Semiotics, Media, and Communications
Mortensen Library Reference P87.5 .D36 2000

History of the Mass Media in the United States: An Encyclopedia
Mortensen Library Reference P92.U5 H55 1998

The Thames and Hudson Encyclopaedia of 20th Century Design and Designers
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/thdesign]
A comprehensive guide to international developments in graphic design.

The Thames and Hudson Encyclopaedia of Graphic Design and Designers
Mortensen Library Reference NC997 .L54 1998


Databases

Art Index and the Art Index Retrospective
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aai,air]
Years Covered: 1929-
Indexing of articles from over 270 international art publications. Provides users with Art Literature, covering fine, decorative and commercial art. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.

Art Index Retrospective
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=air ]
Years Covered: 1929-1984
Provides users with Art Literature, covering fine, decorative and commercial art.

ArtBibliographies Modern
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/artbibliographies/advanced?accountid=11308]
Years Covered: 1960-Present
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.

ARTstor
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://library.artstor.org/]
Searchable database of over 300,000 images from museums around the world, and covering a wide range of cultures and time periods. New material added frequently. Requires Java and Flash. Cookies and popups must be enabled. See Quick Start Guide for technical information and basic searching guidance. Disable Pop Up Blocker before opening. Mac users must have OS 10.3 and use Firefox browser.

Google Art Project
[http://www.googleartproject.com/]
Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

GroveArt (Now Oxford Art Online)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.oxfordartonline.com]
Artists' biographies, essays on all cultures, civilizations, and art movements; articles on conservation and theory. A 720,000 item index includes all the visual arts with the exception of film. Links to related web resources and images. Full text available.

Humanities Abstracts
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=hma]
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology

The International Poster Collection (Colorado State University)
[http://lib.colostate.edu/posters/]
Includes a searchable database of posters presented at the Colorado State University Exhibitions and has artist biographies.

National Gallery Collection (London)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ng]
The National Gallery Collection is comprised of high definition images from the National Gallery, London. Each entry includes a description of the work along with its artist, medium, dimensions, acquisition credit, and date made

Oxford Art Online
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.oxfordartonline.com]
Artists' biographies, essays on all cultures, civilizations, and art movements; articles on conservation and theory. A 720,000 item index includes all the visual arts with the exception of film. Links to related web resources and images. Full text available.

Web Urbanist
[http://weburbanist.com/2011/08/26/reading-revolution-14-marvelous-modern-libraries/]
Web Urbanist covers the collective life of our times through the lens of creative visual culture in the beating hearts of our cities. From urban design to individual homes, and subversive street graffiti to compelling works of gallery art, our authors scour the net to find the most innovative, compelling and cutting-edge artworks and designs in the world.


Websites

Ad*Access (Duke University)
[http://library.duke.edu/digitalcollections/adaccess/]
Images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in US and Canadian newspapers and magazines, 1911-1955. Main subject areas: Radio, television, transportation, beauty and hygiene, and World War II.

AdvertisingAge Online
[http://adage.com/]
The Web Site of the weekly magazine and more industry news for advertising, the media and marketing.

AIGA: The Professional Association for Design
[http://www.aiga.org/]
AIGA, the professional association for design, is committed to advancing design as a professional craft, strategic tool and vital cultural force.

Designinform Research Guides
[http://www.designinform.co.uk/researchguides.htm]
Links to websites in all types of design, architecture and art forms.

Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920
[http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/eaa/]
9000 images, with database information, relating to the early history of advertising in the USA. Search across all or within individual categories. Timeline.

UCLA E-Resources
[http://www2.library.ucla.edu/search/1486.cfm]
Selected internet Sources on various academic topics. A most comprehensive and thoughtfully organized collection of links.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Media Arts