University of Hartford Libraries
Mathematics Subject Guide
Explores the uses and effects of math in daily life, and provides information on different career choices in this field.
Princeton Companion to Mathematics
Surveys the most active and exciting branches of pure mathematics, providing the context and broad perspective that are vital at a time of increasing specialization in the field.
Provides an understanding of commonly studied math concepts by illustrating their use in everyday life in everyday tasks, such as buying insurance, constructing a budget, reading graphs, adjusting cooking recipes or planning for retirement.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Sciences
One stop reference for the life and work of those who created science up to the present day.
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Updated daily.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
ACM Online Guide to Computing Literature
An extensive database containing more than 350,000 citations of core works in computing from 1985 forward, including books, journals, proceedings, and theses. Citations for articles available in the ACM Digital Library are available full text.
AMS - MathSciNet
Over 500,000 mathematical Reviews on the net. Searchable by author, title, classification, publication year and more. Provides abstracts.
ArXiv e-print Archive
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. This site is maintained and operated by Cornell University. Papers are submitted by the author's and are subject to edits at any time. Full text available.
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis of issues in the news. Published 44 times each year, with each report covering a single issue in depth. Reports consist of background and chronology, assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements, and bibliographies of key resources. Html and pdf versions available. with reports published since 2001 in color. Includes full text.
Energy Citations Database
Searchable database of information on research sponsored by the US Department of Energy and its predecessors. Some full text online, ordering information for those not online.
Searchable gateway to documents in scientific and technical fields of concern to the US Department of Energy. Full text available.
Expanded Academic ASAP
General database covering all subject areas. Primarily academic journals, many full text and some with images. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.
Gale Computer Database
Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Full text available.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search the tables of contents or full text of selected reference books in business, education, the environment, medicine biology, and the social sciences.
JSTOR Arts and Sciences
Searchable full text of articles from selected scholarly journals in fields including area studies, anthropology, ecology, economics, education, history, language and literature, mathematics, philosophy, political sciences, sociology and statistics. No current issues available. Historical coverage varies, but database includes some titles from before 1950.
Search top computing journals in full text for research on subjects such as database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, Intranets, and the Internet. The database includes product reviews, database design and management, software, hardware, e-commerce, Web site development, intranets and extranets, and technology management.
Proquest Science Journals
Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation. ProQuest Science Journals features over 620 titles - with more than 500 available in full text.
This site is a free, publicly available web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases. Search for materials in the topics of astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, environmental sciences, engineering, health and medicine, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social sciences. Full text. Also includes links to related sites.
Scitation (AIP) and SPIN - formerly Online Journal Publishing Service
Free access to this index (some full text or abstracts) of more than 40 professional journals and 1 million articles in physics, engineering and computer science including full text for Physical Review & Physical Review Letters. SPIN contains 1.5 million articles from leading Physics publications. You may search Scitation and SPIN in one search or separately.
TechXtra Information Search
Find articles, websites, books, industry news, and more in the engineering, mathematics, and computer sciences.
DMTCS: Discrete Mathematics & Theoretical Computer Science -
"A high standard peer-reviewed electronic journal devoted to rapid publication of innovative research which favors the intersection of these two fields." Includes abstracts and full text of articles from issues back to 1997.
LOCI - Mathematical Sciences Digital Library
Publication of the Mathematical Association of America, aimed at college level students and instructors. With an archive link to the journals: The Journal of Online Mathematics and its Applications (JOMA), Digital Classroom Resources (DCR), and Convergence.
New York Journal of Mathematics
Refereed professional journal, with articles available in a wide variety of formats. Also links to Pacific Journal of Mathematics.
The web version of this document can be found online at
American Mathematical Society Website
Official website of the American Mathematical Society
Chaos at UMD (University of Maryland Chaos Group)
General information, publications (abstracts and/or full text), and pointers to additional sites on chaos and non -linear dynamics.
Search engine and digital library in computer and information science. Creates citation index for literature search and evaluation, with hyperlinks between cites and citations shown in context. Created by NEC and hosted at Penn State.
Computing Research Repository
Access to e-prints in all areas of computer science. Joint project of ACM, Los Alamos e-print archive, and National Computer Science Technical Reference Library. Browse or search pages, some as far back as 1993.
Dave's Short Trig Course (Clark University)
Easy to understand introduction to trigonometry.
Digital Ditch Unit Converter
Automatically calculates equivalent units of measure for area, density, force, mass, etc.
efunda: Engineering Fundamentals
Essential information for mechanical engineering, divided into six categories: materials, processes, formulas, design, units and constants, and mathematics. Searchable.
Fibonacci Numbers and the Golden Section
Facts, formulas, history and diagrams. Includes methods of constructing golden sections, puzzles, references and related links.
INFOMINE: Scholarly Internet Resource Collections
Virtual library of over 10,000 academically oriented resources. Browse by subject or title in broad categories, or search using keywords or Library of Congress Subject Headings. Brief annotations link to detailed descriptions. Lots of cross-references.
Internet Resources for the Mathematics Student (Langan College)
Useful links arranged by topic or by category. Directed at undergraduate students.
Science, engineering, and technology page for best web resources, education, and research.
Labyrinth (Georgetown University)
Indispensable guide to the Medieval world online, with extensive links to texts, images, and archival databases. A truly extraordinary resource.
MAA Online (The Mathematical Association of America)
Official website of The Mathematical Association of America
MacTutor History of Mathematics
Easily searchable biographies of mathematicians, chronologies, essays, bibliographies, web links, and an index to famous curves.
Materials Organized by Mathematical Subject Classification
Links to electronic journals, preprints, Web sites, & databases are organized using the 1991 Mathematics Subject Classification. Includes abstracts.
An NSF-sponsored project providing access to mathematical resources at all levels. Includes problems and solutions.
Math in Daily Life
Uses practical examples to explain mathematical principles including probability, interest, geometry, etc.
Math.Net Links to the Mathematical World
Collection of mathematical resources and links to subjects. Pointers to information resources, scientific computing, mathematical institutions
Mathematical Association of America
Provides mathematicians with the best expository articles, engaging problems, and articles devoted to teaching collegiate mathematics.
The Mathematical Atlas
A "visual index" to subfields of mathematics, providing links to online sources and bibliographic information for printer materials. Includes engineering and computer science
National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
Official website of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
NetSERF: The Internet Connection for Medieval Resources (Catholic University of America)
Enjoyable, well-organized site for all things medieval. Extensive links to museum collections, primary source documents, and image archives.
The Official String Theory Web Site
Basics of string theory and particle physics, as well as experiment progress, colloquia, links and more.
Virtual community designed to make mathematical knowledge more accessible. Includes a collaboratively created and reviewed encyclopedia as well as links to papers, books and other material of interest.
Web site devoted to the understanding and study of Prime Numbers.
Automated math problem solver. Submit a question (including factoring, graphing, quadratics, inequalities, basic calculus, matrices, and more) and the answer is calculated using Mathematics.
Searchable gateway to science and technology information from US government science agencies. Information available in fields including pure and applied sciences, health sciences, and science education.
SOCR: Statistical Online Computational Resource
Interactive statistical learning tool. Free access.
Subject Resources (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
Links to a wide variety of web-based information resources. Includes databases and e-journals (some of which are restricted to LANL staff). Arranged by subject.
Link to pages that perform various statistical operations. Note also link to "Concepts and Applications of Inferential Statistics," a companion webtext.
Wolfram Functions Site
Over 37,000 mathematical functions, with formulas presented in standard form as well as MathML and ASCII. Search or browse, or contribute your own.
Selected new titles on math
Selected new titles on computer science
For further information:
Internet Search Engines
Web Reference Tools
WWW Virtual Library
Distributed subject catalog. Megasite, constantly updated.
Biographies of Women Mathematicians
Student generated biographies are part of an expanding class project. Provides bibliographical references and in some cases photographs.
Index of links to glossaries or dictionaries from various scientific disciplines. Searchable.
Mathematical Programming Glossary
Glossary of Mathematical, Computer and Electronic words. Access is free from INFORMS Computing Society
Comprehensive and interactive mathematics encyclopedia.
PRIME Mathematics Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of mathematics with extensive hyperlinks, including some to extended articles at different levels of complexity.