University of Hartford Libraries

Marketing Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

The Advertising Red Books: Advertisers
Mortensen Library Reference HF5805 .A442

The Advertising Red Books: Agencies
Mortensen Library Reference HF5805 .A444

Career Opportunities in Advertising and Public Relations
Career Services Shelves HF5828.4 .F54 2005 and Mortensen Library Reference HF5828.4 .F54 2005

Career Opportunities in Banking, Finance, and Insurance
Mortensen Library Reference HG173 .F55 2002

Career Opportunities in the Sports Industry
Career Services Shelves GV734.F545 F54 2010

Career Opportunities in the Travel Industry
Career Services Shelves G155.7 .C65 2004

Century of American Icons: 100 products and slogans from the 20th century consumer culture
Mortensen Library Reference [HF6161.B4 C46 2002]

A Companion to Television
Mortensen Library Reference [PN1992.5 .C615 2005]

Consumer Culture: A Reference Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference [HC79.C6 G665 2003]

Consumer Culture: A Reference Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference HC79.C6 G665 2003

Dun and Bradstreet/Gale Industry Reference Handbooks
Mortensen Library Reference HF5035 .D78 1998

Economic Indicators (Forbes)
[http://www.investopedia.com/university/releases/]
Current Economic Indicator through Forbes web site including "Beige Book"

Economic Indicators (United States GPO)
[https://www.census.gov/cgi-bin/briefroom/BriefRm]
Current plus archive back to 1998 of United States Economic Indicators. Library has print (1967-1993, 1995-1997) Mortensen Library Periodicals HC101 .A186

Economic Report of the President Transmitted to Congress
[http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=ERP]
Current plus archive back to 1996 of Economic Report of the President. Library has print (1951, 1954-1975, 1978-1991, 1993-1994) Mortensen Library Shelves HC106.5 .A27

The Elgar Companion to Consumer Research and Economic Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/elgarcrep?institutionId=4005]
Provides an international, in-depth overview of the present state of knowledge and theory.

Everyday Finance
Provides a mix of basic and practical information on economics, personal money management, and starting a business.

Guide to Economic Indicators
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sharpeei]
Provides quick and easy access to current and reliable data on the major statistical measures of the U.S. economy, from Average Weekly Earnings to Value of the Dollar, as well as concise, jargon-free explanations of the meaning, use, and availability of macroeconomic indicators, including websites, recent trends, and current data.

Key Concepts in Marketing
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageukmark]
Introduces and examines the key issues, methods, models and debates that define the field of marketing today.

Lifestyle Market Analyst
Mortensen Library Reference HF5415.33.U6 L54

Manufacturing & Distribution USA
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414496276&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=etoc&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Presents statistics on numerous NAICS classifications in the manufacturing, wholesaling and retail industries. Compiled from the most recent government publications. Covers input-output data by industrial sector when available as well as classifications of leading public and private corporations in each industry.

Market Share Reporter
Mortensen Library Reference HF5410 .M35

The New Competitor Intelligence: the Complete Resource for Finding, Analyzing, and Using Information About Your Competitors
Mortensen Library Reference HD38.7 .F863 1995

Opportunities in Commercial Art and Graphic Design Careers
Career Services Shelves NC1001.6 .G68 2004

The Outlook (Standard & Poor's)
Mortensen Library Reference HG4501 .P82

Peterson’s MBA Programs
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .P44 (2009 edition)

Researching Private Companies
Mortensen Library Reference HD2771 .H695

Resumes for Advertising Careers: with Sample Cover Letters
Career Services Shelves HF5383 .R43 2003

Service Industries USA: Industry Analyses, Statistics, and Leading Organizations
Mortensen Library Reference HD9981.3 .S47 1999

Skeptical Business Searcher: the Information Advisor's Guide to Evaluating Web Data, Sites, and Sources
Mortensen Library Reference HF54.56 .B4685 2004

Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys
Mortensen Library Reference HG4961 .S78 I4

Standard & Poor's Stock Reports. American Stock Exchange, New York Stock Exchange, Nasdaq and Regional Exchanges
Mortensen Library Reference HG4907 .S72

Standard Rate and Data Service Consumer Media Advertising Source
Mortensen Library Reference HF5905 .S725

US Industry & Trade Outlook
Mortensen Library Reference HC106.82 .U16 (Have print of 2000, last printed)

The Value Line Investment Survey (online)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://research.valueline.com/secure/research]
The uncontested authority in reliable, unbiased information, Value Line puts you in the driver’s seat with accurate and insightful investment research on companies, industries, markets and economies.

World Market Share Reporter
Mortensen Library Reference HD2757.15 .W67


Dictionaries

BUSINESS: The Ultimate Resource- Dictionary of Business and Management
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/ultimatebusiness]
Definitions of international business and management terms. Abbreviations and acronyms.

Collins Dictionary of Business
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsbus]
Business reference covering business theory and practice.

Dictionary of Business
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/acbbusiness?institutionId=4005]
Basic vocabulary used in both British and American business.

A Dictionary of Econometrics
Mortensen Library Reference HB139 .D358 1994

Dictionary of Economics, Wiley
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.credoreference.com/book/wileyecon]
supplies you with everything you need to acquire a solid working knowledge more than 2,200 economics-related terms.

Dictionary of media and communication studies
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/dictmedia]
Basic vocabulary of terms used in the media and entertainment industries. Also have 8th edition in Mortensen Library Shelves [P87.5 .W38 2000]

The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
Mortensen Library Reference HB61 .N49 2008

Wall Street Lingo: Thousands of Investment Terms Explained Simply
Mortensen Library Reference HG4513 .P48 2007


Directories

International Directory of Company Histories
Mortensen Library Reference HD2721 .D36 (1998-2005), For current histories search Business and Company Resource Center in Databases.

O’Dwyer’s Directory of Public Relations Firms
Mortensen Library Reference HM263 .O37


Encyclopedias

The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising
Mortensen Library Reference HF5500.2 .D57

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management. Entrepreneurship
Mortensen Library Reference HD30.15 .B455 2005

Business Cycles and Depressions: an Encyclopedia
Mortensen Library Reference HB3711 .B936 1997

Concise Encyclopedia of Advertising
Mortensen Library Reference HF5803 .C59 2005

Encyclopaedia of Business (Capstone)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/capstonebus]
Reference information of business.

Encyclopaedia of Business (Capstone)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/capstonebus]
Reference information of business.

Encyclopedia of Business and Finance (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3402799999]
Search the full two volumes of the 2nd edition (2001) Encyclopedia which presents information on a wide range of business issues. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?sol=0684314517&locID=a23uh&ci1=TI&cb2=AND&ste=3&n=10&cb1=AND&ci3=FT&ci2=KE]
Design and style of fashion and clothing throughout history.

Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414435015&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Provides information about the inception, emergence and current status of new and established industries and business segments that are pioneering new technologies, introducing break-through marketing strategies or implementing innovative means of serving new markets.

Encyclopedia of Products & Industries - Manufacturing
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414429861&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Provides information on products and the relationships between products and their industries. Explores various aspects of a product, the manufacturers, suppliers, immediate and adjacent industries and markets.

International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/esthospitality?institutionId=4005]
Relevant issues in the field of hospitality management.


Statistics

Household Spending: Who Spends How Much On What
Mortensen Library Reference HC110.C6 H68


United States - Statistics

Handbook of US Labor Statistics: Employment, Earnings, Prices, Productivity, and Other Labor Data
Mortensen Library Reference HD8051 .A63 (2001, 2006) and Mortensen Library Shelves HD8051 .A63 (1997-2000) and (1947, 1968, 1970-1973, 1975-1978, 1980, 1983, 1989) HD8051 .A62

State Profiles: the Population and Economy of Each State
Mortensen Library Reference HA203 .S734

Statistical Handbook on Consumption and Wealth in the United States
Mortensen Library Reference HC110.C6 S73 1999


Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/abicomplete/advanced?accountid=11308]
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Catalog of Nonprofit Literature
[http://www.fcpubhub.net/gainknowledge/cnl/contents.html]
Citations for articles, books, media resources and grey literature from the nonprofit sector.

Emerald Fulltext
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.emeraldinsight.com/Insight/menuNavigation.do?hdAction=menu_ca_sb_quick_search]
Database of articles from approximately 200 journals covering business, management, and administration issues. Full text. Available in both PDF and HTML formats.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Global Financial Data
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://www.globalfinancialdata.com/GFDPlatform/Login.aspx]
LOGIN as ANONYMOUS to use full database or create your own user name and password to save searches, etc. Global Financial Data provides accurate, verified financial data and statistics. Compiled from original sources, the GF Database is an online collection of more than 20,000 data series, which span decades or even centuries of information, and cover more than 200 countries. It is accessible anytime, anywhere 24 hours a day. Offers daily close data for US stocks, daily stock market histories begin as early as 1962 for major US stocks, and delivers original end-of-day trading values for individual United States stocks. PLEASE NOTE: There is a 20 person seat limit. So please, LOGOUT, to end your session properly.

Hoovers Company Records
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/hooverscompany?accountid=11308]
Up to date proprietary editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Hoover's, widely recognized as a leading provider of corporate data, delivers in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more. Full text available.

Mergent Archives
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.mergentarchives.com]
Years Covered: 1909-2010
Online database providing you with access to a vast, indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents.

Mergent Online
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.mergentonline.com]
Offers a wealth of detail on items including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies, maintaining the full integrity of this critical information.

SRDS (Standard Rate and Data Service)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://next.srds.com/nmp?newsess=y]
Advertising rates and other information on publications, searchable by title, keyword, or "class." Access limited to Consumer Magazine Media and Local Media by DMA (Designated Market Areas).


Websites

General Resources

Ad Council
[http://www.adcouncil.org/]
Information by and about the Council, whose mission since 1942 has been to communicate and stimulate action on selected significant public issues. View recent public service ads, access research sponsored by the Council, etc.

Ad*Access (Duke University)
[http://library.duke.edu/digitalcollections/adaccess/]
Images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in US and Canadian newspapers and magazines, 1911-1955. Main subject areas: Radio, television, transportation, beauty and hygiene, and World War II.

AdCracker.com
[http://www.adcracker.com/index.htm]
Advice guidance and tools to create marketing and advertising concepts and campaigns. Useful links include other advertising web sites and Real Player versions of TV commercials.

Advertising Media (admedia.org)
[http://www.admedia.org/]
Paper describing and defining advertising media and discussing their audiences, uses, etc.

Advertising World
[http://advertising.utexas.edu/world/]
"The ultimate marketing communications directory." Practical as well as research information sources. Maintained at the University of Texas, Austin.

AdvertisingAge Online
[http://adage.com/]
The Web Site of the weekly magazine and more industry news for advertising, the media and marketing.

American Marketing Association Marketing Power
[http://www.marketingpower.com/Pages/default.aspx]
American Marketing Association Websit.

American Memory Collections: Motion Pictures (Library of Congress)
[https://www.loc.gov/rr/mopic/ndlmps.html]
Background information, essays, stills, biographies and bibliographies for each. Plug-in needed to view full movie.

American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
[https://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html]
Superb collection of American historical links, plus prints, photographic images, and other excellent graphics.

BPlans.com
[http://www.bplans.com/]
Searchable collection of sample business or marketing plans, as well as planning tools, how tos, information on financing, etc. Purchase of their software not required.

ClickZ Stats
[http://www.clickz.com/stats/]
Summaries of market research reports. Search or browse. Focus is on Web marketing.

The Conference Board
[http://www.conference-board.org]
Access to the most recent economics statistics and other information published by this business organization

Connecticut Department of Economic and Community Development
[http://www.ct.gov/ecd/site/default.asp]
Information for the development and implementation of policies, strategies and programs all of which are designed to enhance Connecticut's communities and business and housing environments.

Connecticut Development Authority
[http://www.ct.gov/]
Provides debt financing and investment capital to help businesses grow in Connecticut.

EDGAR Database (SEC)
[http://www.sec.gov/edgar.shtml]
Searchable database of filings, definitions, documentation, etc. from the Securities and Exchange Commission.

Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920
[http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/eaa/]
9000 images, with database information, relating to the early history of advertising in the USA. Search across all or within individual categories. Timeline.

ENTERWeb (Small Business Portal)
[http://www.enterweb.org/]
Selective, annotated meta-index to information on enterprise development, entrepreneurship, international trade, the economy, etc. International coverage includes developed and developing countries. Access by subject or geographic region.

Entrepreneur.com
[http://www.entrepreneur.com/]
Variety of information for entrepreneurs, aimed at growing their businesses.

Entrepreneurship.org
[http://www.entrepreneurship.org/]
Variety of information for entrepreneurs, aimed at growing their businesses.

Fifty Years of Coca-Cola Television Advertisements
[http://www.loc.gov/teachers/classroommaterials/connections/cocacola-ads/]
Highlights of a collection donated to the Library of Congress. Representative ads from the 1950s through 1990s including international.

Ghostsites: The Museum of E-Failure
[http://www.disobey.com/ghostsites/]
Screen shots from failed websites, memorializing the dot bomb. Recent additions are followed by a long alphabetical list with one or more links.

Know This
[http://www.knowthis.com/]
"Virtual Library" of links for marketing, advertising, promotion, e-commerce, etc. Search or browse by topic.

Knowledge @ Wharton (University of Pennsylvania)
[http://knowledge.wharton.upenn.edu/]
Bi-Weekly e-zine for the latest in business. Includes interviews, current res4earch, conference reports, book reviews. Free registration is required.

Marketingpower.com
[http://www.marketingpower.com/]
Free guides, webcasts, career services, tools and templates, customizable newsletter, and more. From the American Marketing Association.

The Merchants of Cool
[http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/shows/cool/]
Companion to a Frontline report on the creators and marketers of popular culture for teenagers.

Online Communication Studies Resources: The University of Iowa
[http://clas.uiowa.edu/commstudies/resources]
Extensive listing of all aspects of Communication studies from the University of Iowa

Polling Report.com
[http://www.pollingreport.com/]
Continuously updated collection of public opinion on topics in politics, business and the American Scene drawn from US sources. Browse or search.

PR Newswire
[http://www.prnewswire.com/]
Text of press releases from companies. Also links to industry news.

The Right Site
[http://www.easidemographics.com/]
Easy to use site for locating US demographics, Designed for business site selection, but useful for any research requiring statistics.

The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research (University of Connecticut)
[http://www.ropercenter.uconn.edu/]
Searchable database of the largest library of public opinion data in the world. International coverage.

Society of Competitive Intelligence Professionals
[http://www.scip.org/]
SCIP provides education and networking opportunities for business professionals working in the rapidly growing field of competitive intelligence.

Television Bureau of Advertising
[http://www.tvb.org/]
Statistics and analysis of television markets and advertising.

Voice of the Shuttle: Media Studies
[http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=2720]
Links to a multitude of resources on performers, directors, films and such special topics as film noir and the holocaust.


Connecticut

Connecticut Economic Resource Center, Inc.
[http://www.cerc.com/]
Gateway to business services offered by state agencies.

Hartford Economic Development Commission
[http://www.hedco-ghbdc.com/]
News, information, and services for businesses already established or considering locating in Hartford. HEDC, a public-private partnership, provides support to corporations and small businesses.


Directories

Chamber of Commerce International Directory
[http://chamber-of-commerce.com]
Searchable database of information from and about Chambers of Commerce and cities/states/provinces around the world.


Statistics

ClickZ Stats
[http://www.clickz.com/stats/]
Summaries of market research reports. Search or browse. Focus is on Web marketing.


Statistics- Connecticut

Connecticut Market Data
[http://www.ct.gov/ecd/cwp/view.asp?a=1106&q=251002]
(Dept. of Economic and Community Development) Statistical information about Connecticut and its markets for products and services. Most presented in PDF format.

CT Dept of Economic and Community Development
[http://www.ct.gov/ecd]
Statistical information about Connecticut and its markets for products and services. Most presented in pdf format.


Statistics- International

UN Comtrade (International Merchandise Trade Statistics)
[http://comtrade.un.org/]
This web site provides access to information and data on International Merchandise Trade Statistics (IMTS) and the work of the International Merchandise Trade Statistics Section (IMTSS) of the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD).


United States - Statistics

Census Data (2000)
[http://www.census.gov/main/www/cen2000.html]
All encompassing website for the data from the 2000 United States Census.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Marketing