University of Hartford Libraries

Manufacturing Engineering Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Manufacturing & Distribution USA
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414496276&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=etoc&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Presents statistics on numerous NAICS classifications in the manufacturing, wholesaling and retail industries. Compiled from the most recent government publications. Covers input-output data by industrial sector when available as well as classifications of leading public and private corporations in each industry.

Manufacturing Engineering Handbook
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/mhmeh?institutionId=4005]
Information on conventional and modern manufacturing processes and operations management. Also have older print edition in Mortensen Library Shelves [TS176 .M3615 2004]

Profiles of Engineering & Engineering Technology Colleges
[http://www.asee.org/publications/profiles/]
ASEE publishes the leading data on engineering colleges in the United States including both individual college statistics and national trends.


Dictionaries

Dictionary of Engineering Terms, Butterworth-Heinemann
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/bhidet]
A comprehensive dictionary of terms for engineering students containing significant numbers of entries for all aspects of the Engineering Field


Encyclopedias

Condensed Encyclopedia of Polymer Engineering Terms
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/estpolymer?institutionId=4005]
Comprehensive overview of the nature, manufacture, structure, properties, processing, and applications of commercially available polymers.

Encyclopedia of Products & Industries - Manufacturing
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414429861&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Provides information on products and the relationships between products and their industries. Explores various aspects of a product, the manufacturers, suppliers, immediate and adjacent industries and markets.


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Applied Science and Technology Index
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=asi]
Indexing of articles from over 400 English language journals covering technical fields, including engineering, computer science, mathematics, chemistry, physics, etc. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.

Compendex (Engineering Village)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.engineeringvillage.com]
Years Covered: 1969-present
The Engineering Village Compendex is one of the most comprehensive engineering literature databases available to engineers.

Energy Citations Database
[http://www.osti.gov/energycitations/]
Searchable database of information on research sponsored by the US Department of Energy and its predecessors. Some full text online, ordering information for those not online.

E-Print Network
[http://www.osti.gov/home/scienceinfo]
Searchable gateway to documents in scientific and technical fields of concern to the US Department of Energy. Full text available.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

IEEE Xplore
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://ieeexplore.ieee.org/search/advsearch.jsp]
Years Covered: 2005 - Present
The IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. Full Text Access may be limited to our journal subscriptions. Click on "What can I access?" link to see coverage.

National Institute of Standards and Technology Publication Portal
[http://www.nist.gov/nvl/nist_publications.cfm]
Includes many of the most recent publications of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).

PolySearch Energy
[http://www2.hawaii.edu/~jacso/extra/egyeb/poly-energy.htm]
Search for abstracts (and occasional full text of articles) across up to 15 databases related to energy science. Results from each database display in a separate window.

Proquest Science Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/sciencejournals?accountid=11308]
Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation. ProQuest Science Journals features over 620 titles - with more than 500 available in full text.

ScienceResearch.com
[http://www.scienceresearch.com]
This site is a free, publicly available web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases. Search for materials in the topics of astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, environmental sciences, engineering, health and medicine, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social sciences. Full text. Also includes links to related sites.

SciFinder
[https://scifinder.cas.org/scifinder]
SciFinder Scholar is an application that provides access to the CAS databases, Chemical Abstracts and Registry. You must use your University email account to register (example: name@hartford.edu). Registration and use must occur on campus. Click this PDF for more detailed instructions:
SciFinder Instructions (PDF)

Link for registration: SciFinder Registration

Scitation (AIP) and SPIN - formerly Online Journal Publishing Service
[http://scitation.aip.org/]
Free access to this index (some full text or abstracts) of more than 40 professional journals and 1 million articles in physics, engineering and computer science including full text for Physical Review & Physical Review Letters. SPIN contains 1.5 million articles from leading Physics publications. You may search Scitation and SPIN in one search or separately.


Websites

GlobalSpec
[http://globalspec.com]
Specialized engineering information page. Find product and supplier information, or limit your search to "the engineering web" or specific types of engineering information on the web.

Green Home Guide
[http://greenhomeguide.com/]
Learn all there is to know about environmentally friendly building and construction.

Green Building Guidelines
[http://www.co.contra-costa.ca.us/depart/cd/recycle/gbg/]
Green Building documents for download provided by the Contra Costa County Department of Conservation & Development in California.

IndustryNet
[http://www.industrynet.com/]
Search for manufacturers or distributors by product and by state. Lists over 440,000 companies.

ResearchGate
[http://www.researchgate.net/]
ResearchGate is a social and professional network for researchers and scientists with many features designed specifically for the sciences: a search engine that searches 7 major databases (e.g., PubMed, NASA, IEEE) and thousands of smaller Open Access ones, self-archiving, information on thousands of journals and publishers, an events board, job listings, file-sharing, a blogging platform, and much more.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Manufacturing Engineering