University of Hartford Libraries

Management Information Systems Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Business Ratios and Formulas: A Comprehensive Guide
Mortensen Library Reference HF5691 .B73

Petersonís MBA Programs
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .P44 (2009 edition)


Careers

The Best 296 Business Schools
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .B47 (2015 edition) and Mortensen Library Shelves HF1131 .B47 (2014 edition)

Petersonís MBA Programs
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .P44 (2009 edition)


Dictionaries

BUSINESS: The Ultimate Resource- Dictionary of Business and Management
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/ultimatebusiness]
Definitions of international business and management terms. Abbreviations and acronyms.

Dictionary of Financial Engineering
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/wileyfe]
Terminology of risk management.

Dictionary of Information and Library Management
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/acbinfomanage]
Terminology of information and knowledge management


Encyclopedias

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management. Management Information Systems
Mortensen Library Reference HD30.15 .B455 2005

Encyclopedia of Business and Finance (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3402799999]
Search the full two volumes of the 2nd edition (2001) Encyclopedia which presents information on a wide range of business issues. UofH only.


Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/abicomplete/advanced?accountid=11308]
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Compendex (Engineering Village)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.engineeringvillage.com]
Years Covered: 1969-present
The Engineering Village Compendex is one of the most comprehensive engineering literature databases available to engineers.

Emerald Fulltext
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.emeraldinsight.com/Insight/menuNavigation.do?hdAction=menu_ca_sb_quick_search]
Database of articles from approximately 200 journals covering business, management, and administration issues. Full text. Available in both PDF and HTML formats.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Global Financial Data
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://www.globalfinancialdata.com/GFDPlatform/Login.aspx]
LOGIN as ANONYMOUS to use full database or create your own user name and password to save searches, etc. Global Financial Data provides accurate, verified financial data and statistics. Compiled from original sources, the GF Database is an online collection of more than 20,000 data series, which span decades or even centuries of information, and cover more than 200 countries. It is accessible anytime, anywhere 24 hours a day. Offers daily close data for US stocks, daily stock market histories begin as early as 1962 for major US stocks, and delivers original end-of-day trading values for individual United States stocks. PLEASE NOTE: There is a 20 person seat limit. So please, LOGOUT, to end your session properly.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.


Websites

General Resources

Association for Computing Machinery
[http://www.acm.org/]
Sample resumes, careerlines, scholarships, publications. Lynx users go to text-only home page..

BitLaw
[http://www.bitlaw.com/]
Information and links on patents, trademark, copyright and internet law issues. Emphasis on software and other technology issues.

BRINT: The Premier Network for Business, Technology and Knowledge Management
[http://www.brint.com/]
Links to hundreds of full text information sources. Emphasis is on technology issues.

CIO.com
[http://www.cio.com/]
Information for the Chief Information Officer, or for those aiming for that position. Brief reports arranged in broad categories.

IAMOT: International Association for Management of Technology
[http://www.iamot.com/]
Large collection of valuable links for MOT. MOT Index leads to even more. Click on "Resources".

Identity Theft Resource Center
[http://www.idtheftcenter.org/]
Information and resources for individuals to prevent and recover from identity theft.

K M Network (Knowledge Management)
[http://www.brint.com/km/]
Huge collection of research papers, articles, interview, links on knowledge management and intellectual capital.

Telework (US Department of Labor and Office of Personnel Management)
[http://www.telework.gov]
Studies presented at an October 2000 symposium, providing "the most comprehensive review of the literature on telework now available."

Women in Technology International (WITI)
[http://www.witi.com/]
An international resource for women in science and technology. Includes information on career opportunities.


Connecticut

Connecticut Technology Council
[http://www.ct.org/]
Resources for technology-based business, including news, directories, and events calendar.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Management Information Systems