University of Hartford Libraries

Management Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Career Opportunities in Banking, Finance, and Insurance
Mortensen Library Reference HG173 .F55 2002

Petersonís MBA Programs
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .P44 (2009 edition)

Reader's Guide to the Social Sciences
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routsocial?institutionId=4005]
Includes numerous entries in A-Z order, critically reviewing the literature on specific topics from abortion to world systems theory.

The ultimate business library : the greatest books that made management
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/wileyultbuslib]
Summary of resources that have had the most significant impact on management thinking.


Careers

The Best 296 Business Schools
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .B47 (2015 edition) and Mortensen Library Shelves HF1131 .B47 (2014 edition)

Petersonís MBA Programs
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .P44 (2009 edition)


Dictionaries

BUSINESS: The Ultimate Resource- Dictionary of Business and Management
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/ultimatebusiness]
Definitions of international business and management terms. Abbreviations and acronyms.

Collins Dictionary of Business
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsbus]
Business reference covering business theory and practice.

Dictionary of Business
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/acbbusiness?institutionId=4005]
Basic vocabulary used in both British and American business.

Dictionary of Conflict Resolution, Wiley
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/wileyconfres]
Offers common and varied uses of terms, clarifies differences between terms, and recommends accurate usage.

Dictionary of Professional Management: Authoritative, Comprehensive
Mortensen Library Reference HD30.15 .B364 1997


Encyclopedias

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management. Business Ethics
Mortensen Library Reference HD30.15 .B455 2005

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management: Accounting
Mortensen Library Reference HD30.15 .B455

Encyclopaedia of Business (Capstone)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/capstonebus]
Reference information of business.

Encyclopedia of Business and Finance (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3402799999]
Search the full two volumes of the 2nd edition (2001) Encyclopedia which presents information on a wide range of business issues. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of Management
Mortensen Library Reference HD30.15 .E49 2000

Encyclopedia of Small Business (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414410401&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Search the full two volumes of the 2007 edition encyclopedia for small business owners. Includes financing, planning, marketing, human resources etc. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of the History of American Management
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/contham]
Offers a comprehensive reference source on the major contributors to America's economic development, business ventures, academia, consulting, and the thinking of others whose ideas have influenced the theory and practice of management.

International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/esthospitality?institutionId=4005]
Relevant issues in the field of hospitality management.


Statistics

The New Nonprofit Almanac and Desk Reference: the Essential Facts and Figures for Managers, Researchers, and Volunteers
Mortensen Library Reference HD2769.2.U6 N47 2002


Statistics - United States

Job Patterns for Minorities & Women in Private Industry
[http://www.eeoc.gov/eeoc/statistics/employment/jobpat-eeo1/]
The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission requires periodic reports from public and private employers, and unions and labor organizations which indicate the composition of their work forces by sex and by race/ethnic category.


Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/abicomplete/advanced?accountid=11308]
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Emerald Fulltext
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.emeraldinsight.com/Insight/menuNavigation.do?hdAction=menu_ca_sb_quick_search]
Database of articles from approximately 200 journals covering business, management, and administration issues. Full text. Available in both PDF and HTML formats.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Global Financial Data
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://www.globalfinancialdata.com/GFDPlatform/Login.aspx]
LOGIN as ANONYMOUS to use full database or create your own user name and password to save searches, etc. Global Financial Data provides accurate, verified financial data and statistics. Compiled from original sources, the GF Database is an online collection of more than 20,000 data series, which span decades or even centuries of information, and cover more than 200 countries. It is accessible anytime, anywhere 24 hours a day. Offers daily close data for US stocks, daily stock market histories begin as early as 1962 for major US stocks, and delivers original end-of-day trading values for individual United States stocks. PLEASE NOTE: There is a 20 person seat limit. So please, LOGOUT, to end your session properly.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.


Websites

General Resources

ABI World: American Bankruptcy Institute
[http://www.abiworld.org/]
News, statistics, legislation, etc. Regional as well as national coverage of bankruptcy issues.

The Annual Reports Library
[http://www.zpub.com/sf/arl/]
Suggestions and advice on how to find and read annual reports. Also, guidance on how to create a good annual report, as well as educational resources and links to related information.

Business Women's Network Interactive
[http://www.bwni.com/]
The goal of this site is to provide "women with the real tools for financial success." This site serves business women, women entrepreneurs, and companies marketing to professional women with career information, a news and features section, information about conferences, meetings and seminars, updates on publications and a BWN directory.

BusinessUSA.gov
[http://business.usa.gov/]
One stop access to compliance information, forms and contact for doing business with the government.

CIO.com
[http://www.cio.com/]
Information for the Chief Information Officer, or for those aiming for that position. Brief reports arranged in broad categories.

The Conference Board
[http://www.conference-board.org]
Access to the most recent economics statistics and other information published by this business organization

Drucker Archives (Claremont Graduate University)
[http://www.druckerinstitute.com/project/drucker-archives/]
Biographical information and a searchable database of materials in the personal papers of the "father of management." Also includes bibliographies of his books and a few articles about Drucker.

ENTERWeb (Small Business Portal)
[http://www.enterweb.org/]
Selective, annotated meta-index to information on enterprise development, entrepreneurship, international trade, the economy, etc. International coverage includes developed and developing countries. Access by subject or geographic region.

Entrepreneur.com
[http://www.entrepreneur.com/]
Variety of information for entrepreneurs, aimed at growing their businesses.

The Entrepreneurial Center (University of Hartford)
[http://www.hartford.edu/cpd/ec/default.aspx]
Information about the Center's work to "help people achieve financial independence through self-employment," including lists of courses and workshops. Also links to regional information sources.

Entrepreneurship.org
[http://www.entrepreneurship.org/]
Variety of information for entrepreneurs, aimed at growing their businesses.

inc.com
[http://www.inc.com/welcome.html?destination=http://www.inc.com/]
News, advice, online tools, etc. for the entrepreneur, drawn from Inc magazine.

K M Network (Knowledge Management)
[http://www.brint.com/km/]
Huge collection of research papers, articles, interview, links on knowledge management and intellectual capital.

Knowledge @ Wharton (University of Pennsylvania)
[http://knowledge.wharton.upenn.edu/]
Bi-Weekly e-zine for the latest in business. Includes interviews, current res4earch, conference reports, book reviews. Free registration is required.

Minority Business Development Agency
[http://www.mbda.gov/]
Resources to support the growth of minority owned businesses in the US. Includes business listings, online resources, statistics, etc. From US Department of Commerce.

SCORE: Business Resources
[https://www.score.org/]
Web links and other information of particular interest to entrepreneurs and small business. Much is valuable for any business research.

Small Business Administration
[http://www.sba.gov/]
Information and advice for starting and running a small business. Includes information for non-profits.


Connecticut

Connecticut Technology Council
[http://www.ct.org/]
Resources for technology-based business, including news, directories, and events calendar.

Hartford Economic Development Commission
[http://www.hedco-ghbdc.com/]
News, information, and services for businesses already established or considering locating in Hartford. HEDC, a public-private partnership, provides support to corporations and small businesses.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Management