University of Hartford Libraries

Literature-International Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

The Cambridge Guide to Children's Books in English
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/childbooks]
Alphabetised reference work providing a critical and appreciative overview of English language children's books from across the world.

The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/cupliteng?institutionId=4005]
Coverage of novelists, poets, playwrights, and their works embraces both the established classics of English literature and a wealth of contemporary figures from all over the English-speaking world.

The Cambridge Guide to Women's Writing in English
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/camgwwie]
The book reflects the spread of literacy, the history of colonization and the development of post-colonial cultures using and changing the English language.

The Companion to African Literatures
Mortensen Library Reference PR9340 .C65 2000

Feminism in Literature: A Gale Critical Companion
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414405209&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Topics covered include misogyny and women's social roles in ancient civilizations, 16th-century women's devotional literature, 17th- and 18th-century women's captivity narratives, the women's suffrage movement in 19th-century America, women writers of the "Lost Generation," lesbian literature, and much more.

German Poetry in Song: an Index of Lieder
By Lawrence D. Snyder. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 S6 S57 & Suppl]

Gothic Literature
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE|9781414404868&contentSegment=9781414404868]
Spans all facets of gothic literature, including visual and performing arts, society and culture, themes, and settings. Includes primary source documents and critical material to provide a contextual perspective, a related chronology of key events, full-text commentaries, and lists of further readings.

History of South African Literature
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupsal]
A critical study of South African literature, from colonial and pre-colonial times onwards.

Key Concepts in Postcolonial Literature
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/macpcl?institutionId=4005]
Post Colonial Literature resource.


Biographies

South African Writers
Mortensen Library Reference PN771 D52 v.225

Twentieth-Century Caribbean and Black African Writers
Mortensen Library Reference PN771 .D52 (pt.1:v.117; pt.2:v.125; pt.3: v.157)


Dictionaries

Chambers Dictionary of Literary Characters
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/chamblc?institutionId=4005]
Provides an invaluable guide to the wealth of characters created by writers in English.

Dictionary of Italian Literature
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/gwitalian?institutionId=4005]
Entries on Italian writers, periods, literary movements, and versification, and on critical problems related to literary history. Also have older print edition in Mortensen Library Shelves [PQ4006 .D45 1979].


Encyclopedias

Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/routlamlit]
Comprehensive resource on Latin American Literature.

Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/britlit]
Comprehensive resource on British Literature.

Encyclopedia of German Literature
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routgermanlit?institutionId=4005]
A large number of entries on writers, individual work, and topics essential to an understanding of this rich literary tradition.

Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routlaclit?institutionId=4005]
entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day.

Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/routpcl]
Explores the effect of the colonial and post-colonial experience on literatures in English worldwide.

Holocaust Literature: An Encyclopedia of Writers and Their Work
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routwriting]
This comprehensive scholarly work presents a broad spectrum of voices remembering, interpreting, and reinterpreting one of the twentieth century's most politically and emotionally charged events.


Literary Criticism

Cambridge History of African and Caribbean Literature
Mortensen Library Reference PN841 .I74 2004


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

African Women's Bibliographic Database
[http://www.africabib.org/women.html]
English-language database contained over 35,000 citations from 1986 onward. The database indexes six types of materials: books and government documents; articles appearing in edited books; periodical and journal articles; Masters theses and Ph.D. dissertations as well as a few B.A. theses and honors papers; conference papers; and videocassettes.

Africana Periodical Literature Bibliographic Database
[http://www.africabib.org/perio.htm]
English-language database had indexed over 60,000 articles from over 500 English-language and multilingual journals and periodicals that specialize in African Studies or consistently cover the African continent.

Dictionary of Literary Biography
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/dispBasicSearch.do?prodId=DLBC&userGroupName=a23uh]
Lengthy, full text biographical and critical essays on world literary figures from all eras and genres. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to close when finished searching.

Essay & General Literature Index with Retrospective
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=egr,egi]
Years Covered: 1900-
Essay & General Literature offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Humanities Abstracts
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=hma]
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology

Literature Resource Center
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/a23uh?db=LitRC]
Biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of more than 90,000 authors, poets, journalists and other writers. Search by name, title, genre, literary movement or literary theme. Provides access to essays in the literary themes. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Selected full text available.

MLA Bibliography
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/mlaib?accountid=11308]
International index of books and journals. Covers modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. For information about the periodicals included, consult the MLA Directory of Periodicals.

Paris Review: Interview Archive
[http://www.theparisreview.org/interviews]
A complete index of every interview ever published, searchable by author and by date - as well as a substantial sampling of the archive's finest interviews, posted in their entirety.


Websites

19th Century German Stories (Virginia Commonwealth University)
[http://germanstories.vcu.edu/]
Texts in English and German, with famous illustrations, commentary; audio and visual selections.

Cervantes Project (Texas A & M University)
[http://cervantes.tamu.edu/V2/CPI/index.html]
Electronic texts of Cervantes' works in English and Spanish as well as an impressive array of bibliographical and cultural links.

Contemporary Postcolonial and Postimperial Literature in English
[http://www.postcolonialweb.org]
Provides extensive material on the major individual authors of the former British colonies (excluding the US) as well as historical, cultural, religious, political and other aspects of their writing environment.

The Decameron Web (Brown University)
[http://www.brown.edu/Departments/Italian_Studies/dweb/dweb.shtml]
Enjoyable, well-produced website exploring the world of the Italian Renaissance through an examination of Boccaccio's masterpiece, The Decameron.

Don Quixote de la Mancha (Johns Hopkins University)
[http://quixote.mse.jhu.edu/]
Virtual tour, with detailed commentary, on Cervantes and his masterpiece, Don Quixote. Good supporting links.

Goethe Institut
[http://www.goethe.de/]
Promotes the study of the German language abroad, including initiatives aimed at international cultural cooperation.

Literary Resources on the Net (Rutgers University)
[http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/%7Ejlynch/Lit/]
All periods and genres of English and American literature; links to texts, bibliographies, scholarly articles and more.

On-line French Texts (University of Virginia)
[http://search.lib.virginia.edu/?f[digital_collection_facet][]=UVa+Text+Collection&f[language_facet][]=French&facet.limit=500&id=digital_collection_facet&sort=year_multisort_i+desc&sort_key=published&width=490]
Electronic versions of texts in French; links to many other resources on the Internet.

Online Literary Criticism Collection
[http://www.ipl.org/div/litcrit/]
Selected links to critical and biographical websites dealing with literary works of all periods and cultures. Rigorous selection criteria applied.

Voice of the Shuttle
[http://vos.ucsb.edu/]
Extensive links to every variety of Web site in the humanities, law, political science, anthropology, business and media studies.

WWW Virtual Library
[http://www.vlib.us/]
Distributed subject catalog. Megasite, constantly updated.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Literature-International