University of Hartford Libraries

Literature-Classical and Medieval Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/cupliteng?institutionId=4005]
Coverage of novelists, poets, playwrights, and their works embraces both the established classics of English literature and a wealth of contemporary figures from all over the English-speaking world.

The Cambridge Guide to Women's Writing in English
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/camgwwie]
The book reflects the spread of literacy, the history of colonization and the development of post-colonial cultures using and changing the English language.

A Guide to the Ancient World, H.W. Wilson
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/gttaw]
Geographical history of the ancient world.

Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
[http://www.fordham.edu/Halsall/ancient/asbook.asp]
This site focuses on online texts, which, for the most part, means public domain texts translated more than 75 years ago. In many cases it is these older translations which are used in commercially available sourcebooks.

Meet the Philosophers of Ancient Greece Everything You Always Wanted to Know About Ancient Greek Philosophy But Didn't Know Who to Ask
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ashgtpag]
Brings the thoughts and lives of the pioneers of Western philosophy down from their sometimes remote heights and introduces them to a modern audience.


Chaucer

All things Chaucer an encyclopedia of Chaucer's world
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcchaucer]
Written for students and general readers, this book includes numerous alphabetically arranged entries, from Abigail to Ypres, on items mentioned in all of his works and references the items to his writings


Dictionaries

The Bloomsbury Dictionary of English Literature
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/blit]
The Bloomsbury Dictionary of English Literature presents a multiplicity of authors, texts and themes gathered together into one authoritative source.

Chambers Dictionary of Literary Characters
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/chamblc?institutionId=4005]
Provides an invaluable guide to the wealth of characters created by writers in English.

Middle English Dictionary
[http://quod.lib.umich.edu/m/med/]
This electronic version of the MED preserves all the details of the print MED, but goes far beyond this, by converting its contents into an enormous database, searchable in ways impossible within any print dictionary.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/gwmedieval?institutionId=4005]
Comprehensive guide to literature written between 500 and 1500.

Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics - Princeton
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/prpoetry]
Comprehensive reference work dealing with all aspects of its subject: history, types, movements, prosody, and critical terminology. Prepared by recognized authorities, its articles treat their topics in sufficient depth and with enough lucidity to satisfy the scholar and the general reader alike.

Encyclopedia of the Hellenic World
[https://www.h-net.org/announce/show.cgi?ID=181040]
The Encyclopaedia of the Hellenic World (EHW) is an original electronic project aiming at collecting, recording, documenting, presenting and promoting the historical data that testify to the presence of Hellenic culture throughout time and space.


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Dictionary of Literary Biography
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/dispBasicSearch.do?prodId=DLBC&userGroupName=a23uh]
Lengthy, full text biographical and critical essays on world literary figures from all eras and genres. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to close when finished searching.

Essay & General Literature Index with Retrospective
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=egr,egi]
Years Covered: 1900-
Essay & General Literature offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Humanities Abstracts
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=hma]
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology

MLA Bibliography
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/mlaib?accountid=11308]
International index of books and journals. Covers modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. For information about the periodicals included, consult the MLA Directory of Periodicals.


Websites

Aesop's Fables
[http://www.aesopfables.com]
This site includes the full text of Aesop's Fables in the public domain. The fairy tales of Hans Christian Anderson, and the fables of both Ambrose Bierce and Jean De La Fontaine are also included in this rich site of children's literature.

Chaucer Resources (New Chaucer Society)
[http://newchaucersociety.org/]
Links to a high-quality selection of sites covering all aspects of Chaucer scholarship. Areas covered include criticism, his milieu, language, and biography.

Classical Myth: the Ancient Sources
[http://web.uvic.ca/~athena/department_files/classical_myth/]
Images, timelines, attributes, and sections of ancient texts all interlinked for a better sense of who those Greek and Roman gods in classical literature were. Indexed by Greek name only.

CORSAIR: The Online Research Resource of the Pierpont Morgan
[http://corsair.morganlibrary.org/]
Over 5,000 excellent images from medieval and Renaissance manuscripts with accompanying descriptions.

Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts
[http://www.pitt.edu/~dash/folktexts.html]
Hundreds of fairy tales and legends are presented in this site. It is arranged alphabetically by title o r topic. The country of origin is listed, as well, for easy reference.

Geoffrey Chaucer (Harvard University)
[http://www.courses.fas.harvard.edu/%7Echaucer/]
Everything needed for a fuller understanding of the Canterbury Tales: A Chaucer biography; timeline; influenced and influencing authors; literary subjects; the author's language; cultural/social/scientific environment of the times.

Internet Classics Library
[http://classics.mit.edu/]
Classical literature, primarily Greco-Roman, in 19th Century English translations.

Labyrinth (Georgetown University)
[http://labyrinth.georgetown.edu/]
Indispensable guide to the Medieval world online, with extensive links to texts, images, and archival databases. A truly extraordinary resource.

Literary Resources on the Net (Rutgers University)
[http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/%7Ejlynch/Lit/]
All periods and genres of English and American literature; links to texts, bibliographies, scholarly articles and more.

Luminarium
[http://www.luminarium.org/lumina.htm]
Medieval, sixteenth, and early seventeenth century English literature. Links to biographical, bibliographical, and primary sources, as well as full text essays (largely by students).

The Medieval Page: Sources for Medieval Studies on the WWW
[http://www.efn.org/~acd/medievalpage.html]
Annotated links to websites on largely Western Medieval topics. Organized by subjects, including literature, religion, philosophy, art, history, women's and gender studies. From art history scholar, Adrienne DeAngelis.

NetSERF: The Internet Connection for Medieval Resources (Catholic University of America)
[http://www.netserf.org/]
Enjoyable, well-organized site for all things medieval. Extensive links to museum collections, primary source documents, and image archives.

The Online Medieval and Classical Library (Berkeley Digital Library)
[http://omacl.org/]
Full text of some of the most important literary works of the period. Some in English translations. Search or browse. Also links to additional text sources.

ORB: On-Line Text Materials for Medieval Studies
[http://the-orb.arlima.net/]
Includes an encyclopedia, resources for teaching, links to other medieval resources, and useful sites for both specialists and nonspecialists.

Voice of the Shuttle
[http://vos.ucsb.edu/]
Extensive links to every variety of Web site in the humanities, law, political science, anthropology, business and media studies.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Literature-Classical and Medieval