University of Hartford Libraries

Literature- Shakespeare Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/cupliteng?institutionId=4005]
Coverage of novelists, poets, playwrights, and their works embraces both the established classics of English literature and a wealth of contemporary figures from all over the English-speaking world.

The Cambridge Guide to Women's Writing in English
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/camgwwie]
The book reflects the spread of literacy, the history of colonization and the development of post-colonial cultures using and changing the English language.

Dictionary of Shakespeare
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/pcpdshakes]
A comprehensive dictionary that covers the plays, poems, characters and background to Shakespeare's works.

Palgrave Guide to English Literature and its Contexts, 1500-2000
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/macenglit]
Guide to the historical and cultural context of English literature covers the core periods of literature, and history, from the English Renaissance to the present.

Shakespeare for Students
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9781414429373&contentSegment=9781414429373]
Each entry includes an introduction; a plot synopsis; a character list; a discussion of the work's principal themes; information about the style and literary devices used; a conversation about the work's historical context; and a critical overview.


Dictionaries

The Bloomsbury Dictionary of English Literature
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/blit]
The Bloomsbury Dictionary of English Literature presents a multiplicity of authors, texts and themes gathered together into one authoritative source.

Chambers Dictionary of Literary Characters
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/chamblc?institutionId=4005]
Provides an invaluable guide to the wealth of characters created by writers in English.

Shakespeare's Theatre: A Dictionary of His Stage Context
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/contst?institutionId=4005]
Coverage includes the practices of Elizabethan actors and script writers: methods of characterization; gesture, blocking and choreography, including music, dance and fighting; actors' rhetorical interaction with audiences; and use of costumes, stage props, and make-up.


Encyclopedias

Shakespeares After Shakespeare: An Encyclopedia of the Bard in Mass Media and Popular Culture
Mortensen Library Reference PR2880.A1 S48 2006


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Dictionary of Literary Biography
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/dispBasicSearch.do?prodId=DLBC&userGroupName=a23uh]
Lengthy, full text biographical and critical essays on world literary figures from all eras and genres. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to close when finished searching.

Essay & General Literature Index with Retrospective
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=egr,egi]
Years Covered: 1900-
Essay & General Literature offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Humanities Abstracts
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=hma]
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology

Literature Resource Center
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/a23uh?db=LitRC]
Biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of more than 90,000 authors, poets, journalists and other writers. Search by name, title, genre, literary movement or literary theme. Provides access to essays in the literary themes. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Selected full text available.

MLA Bibliography
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/mlaib?accountid=11308]
International index of books and journals. Covers modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. For information about the periodicals included, consult the MLA Directory of Periodicals.

World Shakespeare Bibliography
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.worldshakesbib.org/]
Annotated bibliography of scholarly and popular materials on Shakespeare.


Websites

Complete Works of William Shakespeare
[http://shakespeare.mit.edu/]
The web's first edition of the Complete Works of William Shakespeare, including internet resources, a discussion area, quotations, and a glossary.

The English Renaissance in Context
[http://sceti.library.upenn.edu/sceti/furness/eric/index.cfm]
Access the full text of the original versions of major works of the English Renaissance, or work through multimedia, interactive tutorials offering background and contextual material on four Shakespearean plays (Romeo and Juliet, Merchant of Venice, Richard III, King Lear). Other tutorials on book production of the period.

Luminarium
[http://www.luminarium.org/lumina.htm]
Medieval, sixteenth, and early seventeenth century English literature. Links to biographical, bibliographical, and primary sources, as well as full text essays (largely by students).

Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet
This site is down as of 16-Jan-2017. A comprehensive site that provides links to scholarly resources as well as new Shakespeare materials such as a genealogy, a time line, information about the Shakespeare canon, and a biography quiz.

Shakespeare Homepage
[http://shakespeare.mit.edu/works.html]
Searchable, full text of his works, with links to other Internet resources.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Literature- Shakespeare