University of Hartford Libraries

Literature- Children Subject Guide


General Resources

The Cambridge Guide to Children's Books in English
Alphabetised reference work providing a critical and appreciative overview of English language children's books from across the world.

The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English
Coverage of novelists, poets, playwrights, and their works embraces both the established classics of English literature and a wealth of contemporary figures from all over the English-speaking world.

The Cambridge Guide to Women's Writing in English
The book reflects the spread of literacy, the history of colonization and the development of post-colonial cultures using and changing the English language.

Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson
Here's the map to Robert Louis Stevenson's Treasure Island! Learn about the author, the characters, location, pirates, and buried treasure. Full text of the novel on the Internet.


Chambers Dictionary of Literary Characters
Provides an invaluable guide to the wealth of characters created by writers in English.


Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
Comprehensive resource on Children's Literature.


Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Children's Picture Book Database at Miami University
This database indexes abstracts of over 4,000 picture books for children. It is designed as a tool for teachers creating literature-based thematic units for all disciplines.

Database of Award-Winning Children's Literature
Ten children's book award lists are available on this site. Search options allow the browser to tailor a reading list to a particular child by age, setting, historical period, ethnicity, language, genre, and gender.

Dictionary of Literary Biography
Lengthy, full text biographical and critical essays on world literary figures from all eras and genres. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to close when finished searching.

Essay & General Literature Index with Retrospective
Years Covered: 1900-
Essay & General Literature offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Humanities Abstracts
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology

Literature Resource Center
Biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of more than 90,000 authors, poets, journalists and other writers. Search by name, title, genre, literary movement or literary theme. Provides access to essays in the literary themes. Made available by, the Connecticut Digital Library. Selected full text available.

MLA Bibliography
International index of books and journals. Covers modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. For information about the periodicals included, consult the MLA Directory of Periodicals.


Aesop's Fables
This site includes the full text of Aesop's Fables in the public domain. The fairy tales of Hans Christian Anderson, and the fables of both Ambrose Bierce and Jean De La Fontaine are also included in this rich site of children's literature.

Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Site
This is a collection of reviews of great books for kids, ideas of ways to use them in the classroom and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes, and professional topics. Focus is on pre-K-8th grade.

CBC On line!
This site provides a rich source of information and links to children's literature, guides for authors and illustrators, and pages for parents and teachers.

Children's Literature Web Guide
Comprehensive resource of children's books, Best Books list, award winners, information about authors and illustrators; full text of some works.

Grimms' Fairy Tales
Collections of the Brothers Grimm tales as published in various English language editions, presented by the World of Tales.

Literature for Children
Literature for Children is comprised of volumes from the Department of Special Collections at several libraries of the State University System of Florida. It is a collection of digitized titles published predominantly in the United States and Great Britain from the 17th through the 20th centuries and is significant for researchers who study historical, cultural, social, and literary aspects of children's literature.

The web version of this document can be found online at Children