University of Hartford Libraries

Literature- British Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/cupliteng?institutionId=4005]
Coverage of novelists, poets, playwrights, and their works embraces both the established classics of English literature and a wealth of contemporary figures from all over the English-speaking world.

The Cambridge Guide to Women's Writing in English
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/camgwwie]
The book reflects the spread of literacy, the history of colonization and the development of post-colonial cultures using and changing the English language.

Gothic Literature
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE|9781414404868&contentSegment=9781414404868]
Spans all facets of gothic literature, including visual and performing arts, society and culture, themes, and settings. Includes primary source documents and critical material to provide a contextual perspective, a related chronology of key events, full-text commentaries, and lists of further readings.


Dictionaries

The Bloomsbury Dictionary of English Literature
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/blit]
The Bloomsbury Dictionary of English Literature presents a multiplicity of authors, texts and themes gathered together into one authoritative source.

Chambers Dictionary of Literary Characters
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/chamblc?institutionId=4005]
Provides an invaluable guide to the wealth of characters created by writers in English.


Encyclopedias

Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/britlit]
Comprehensive resource on British Literature.

Encyclopedia of the Romantic Era, 1760-1850
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routromanticera?institutionId=4005]
Analytical articles pertaining to the Romantic era.


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Dictionary of Literary Biography
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/dispBasicSearch.do?prodId=DLBC&userGroupName=a23uh]
Lengthy, full text biographical and critical essays on world literary figures from all eras and genres. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to close when finished searching.

Essay & General Literature Index with Retrospective
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=egr,egi]
Years Covered: 1900-
Essay & General Literature offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.

Humanities Abstracts
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=hma]
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology

Literature Resource Center
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/a23uh?db=LitRC]
Biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of more than 90,000 authors, poets, journalists and other writers. Search by name, title, genre, literary movement or literary theme. Provides access to essays in the literary themes. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Selected full text available.

MLA Bibliography
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/mlaib?accountid=11308]
International index of books and journals. Covers modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. For information about the periodicals included, consult the MLA Directory of Periodicals.

Paris Review: Interview Archive
[http://www.theparisreview.org/interviews]
A complete index of every interview ever published, searchable by author and by date - as well as a substantial sampling of the archive's finest interviews, posted in their entirety.


Websites

ALEX
[http://www.infomotions.com/alex/]
The Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts is a collection of about 14,000 classic public domain documents from American and English literature as well as Western philosophy. Searchable by keyword, author and title.

Chaucer Resources (New Chaucer Society)
[http://newchaucersociety.org/]
Links to a high-quality selection of sites covering all aspects of Chaucer scholarship. Areas covered include criticism, his milieu, language, and biography.

Contemporary Postcolonial and Postimperial Literature in English
[http://www.postcolonialweb.org]
Provides extensive material on the major individual authors of the former British colonies (excluding the US) as well as historical, cultural, religious, political and other aspects of their writing environment.

The English Renaissance in Context
[http://sceti.library.upenn.edu/sceti/furness/eric/index.cfm]
Access the full text of the original versions of major works of the English Renaissance, or work through multimedia, interactive tutorials offering background and contextual material on four Shakespearean plays (Romeo and Juliet, Merchant of Venice, Richard III, King Lear). Other tutorials on book production of the period.

Geoffrey Chaucer (Harvard University)
[http://www.courses.fas.harvard.edu/%7Echaucer/]
Everything needed for a fuller understanding of the Canterbury Tales: A Chaucer biography; timeline; influenced and influencing authors; literary subjects; the author's language; cultural/social/scientific environment of the times.

Literary Resources on the Net (Rutgers University)
[http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/%7Ejlynch/Lit/]
All periods and genres of English and American literature; links to texts, bibliographies, scholarly articles and more.

Luminarium
[http://www.luminarium.org/lumina.htm]
Medieval, sixteenth, and early seventeenth century English literature. Links to biographical, bibliographical, and primary sources, as well as full text essays (largely by students).

Online Literary Criticism Collection
[http://www.ipl.org/div/litcrit/]
Selected links to critical and biographical websites dealing with literary works of all periods and cultures. Rigorous selection criteria applied.

Shakespeare Homepage
[http://shakespeare.mit.edu/works.html]
Searchable, full text of his works, with links to other Internet resources.

Victoria Research Web: Victorian Resources
[http://victorianresearch.org/]
Studies in 19th century British history and literature.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Literature- British