University of Hartford Libraries

Literature- American Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

American History Through Literature, 1820-1870
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780684314921&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Designed for the general reader, this set presents literature not as a simple inventory of authors or titles but rather as a historical and cultural field viewed from a wide array of contemporary perspectives.

American History Through Literature, 1870-1920
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|5BBN&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Designed for the general reader, this set presents literature not as a simple inventory of authors or titles but rather as a historical and cultural field viewed from a wide array of contemporary perspectives.

American Women Writers: A Critical Reference Guide from Colonial Times to the Present
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781558625389&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Provides coverage on the best-known American women writers spanning from colonial days to the present, including biography, criticism, and bibliography for each; also includes lesser-known writers whose work is found in journals, letters, stories, and even hymns.

The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/cupliteng?institutionId=4005]
Coverage of novelists, poets, playwrights, and their works embraces both the established classics of English literature and a wealth of contemporary figures from all over the English-speaking world.

The Cambridge Guide to Women's Writing in English
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/camgwwie]
The book reflects the spread of literacy, the history of colonization and the development of post-colonial cultures using and changing the English language.

The Chronology of American literature : America's literary achievements from the colonial era to modern times
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/chronamlit]
An authoritative reference and an ideal browser's guide.

The Columbia Companion to the Twentieth-Century American Short Story
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/columamshstory]
Many lucid essays on major writers and themes by some of the best literary scholars in the United States.

The Edinburgh Encyclopaedia of Modern Criticism and Theory
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/edinburghmct?institutionId=4005]
Comprehensive guide to the history and development of criticism in the humanities.

Encyclopedia of American Poetry: The Twentieth Century
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routampoetry?institutionId=4005]
Contains many entries that treat a broad range of individual poets and poems.

Feminism in Literature: A Gale Critical Companion
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414405209&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Topics covered include misogyny and women's social roles in ancient civilizations, 16th-century women's devotional literature, 17th- and 18th-century women's captivity narratives, the women's suffrage movement in 19th-century America, women writers of the "Lost Generation," lesbian literature, and much more.

Gothic Literature
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE|9781414404868&contentSegment=9781414404868]
Spans all facets of gothic literature, including visual and performing arts, society and culture, themes, and settings. Includes primary source documents and critical material to provide a contextual perspective, a related chronology of key events, full-text commentaries, and lists of further readings.

Harlem Renaissance
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780787693022&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
This authoritative resource presents the people, places and times that defined an era and documents the launch of cultural development among African Americans in 1920s Harlem.

Nonfiction Classics for Students
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780787692797&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Provides critical overviews on the most frequently studied nonfiction essays, books, biographies, and memoirs. Includes discussions of literary format, themes, and structure.

Outline of American Literature (US Information Agency)
[http://photos.state.gov/libraries/amgov/30145/publications-english/outline_us_lit.pdf]
Well-organized essays on periods and movements in American literature, with brief literary biographies of the leading writers in each. Useful glossary of terms and annotated list of key websites.

The Schomberg Center Guide to Black Literature: From the Eighteenth Century to the Present
Mortensen Library Reference PN841.B56 V36 1995


Biographies

African American Women Playwrights: A Research Guide
Mortensen Library Reference [PS153.N5 G29 1999]

African-American Writers: A Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcaframwr?institutionId=4005]
African American Writers examines a multitude of black cultural leaders from the 18th century to the present.

Biographical Dictionary of Transcendentalism
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcbiotrans]
This is a comprehensive guide to the major and minor figures who shaped Transcendentalism in New England, particularly between 1830 and the Civil War.


Dictionaries

Chambers Dictionary of Literary Characters
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/chamblc?institutionId=4005]
Provides an invaluable guide to the wealth of characters created by writers in English.


Encyclopedias

Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/amlit]
Comprehensive resource on American Literature.

Encyclopedia of African-American Writing Five Centuries of Contribution : Trials
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ghaaw]
Covers the role and influence of African-American cultural leaders, from all walks of life, from the 17th century to the present.

Encyclopedia of American Studies EAS
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/jhueas]
Features broad, synthetic articles covering areas such as history, literature, art, photography, film, architecture, urban studies, ethnicity, race, gender, economics, politics, wars, consumer culture, and global America.

Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance
Mortensen Library Reference [REF PS153.N5 A24 2003]

Encyclopedia of the Romantic Era, 1760-1850
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routromanticera?institutionId=4005]
Analytical articles pertaining to the Romantic era.

Oxford Companion to African American Literature
Mortensen Library Reference PS153.N5 O96 1997


Literary Criticism

Cambridge History of African and Caribbean Literature
Mortensen Library Reference PN841 .I74 2004


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Black Literature Index
[http://www.blackliteratureindex.com/home/home.do]
Years Covered: 1927-1940
Electronic index to the Black Literature microfiche collection. This index allows users to search over 70,000 bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827 and 1940.

Dictionary of Literary Biography
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/dispBasicSearch.do?prodId=DLBC&userGroupName=a23uh]
Lengthy, full text biographical and critical essays on world literary figures from all eras and genres. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to close when finished searching.

Essay & General Literature Index with Retrospective
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=egr,egi]
Years Covered: 1900-
Essay & General Literature offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.

European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=hev]
This new bibliographic database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750,” the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Humanities Abstracts
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=hma]
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology

Literature Resource Center
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/a23uh?db=LitRC]
Biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of more than 90,000 authors, poets, journalists and other writers. Search by name, title, genre, literary movement or literary theme. Provides access to essays in the literary themes. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Selected full text available.

MLA Bibliography
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/mlaib?accountid=11308]
International index of books and journals. Covers modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. For information about the periodicals included, consult the MLA Directory of Periodicals.

Paris Review: Interview Archive
[http://www.theparisreview.org/interviews]
A complete index of every interview ever published, searchable by author and by date - as well as a substantial sampling of the archive's finest interviews, posted in their entirety.


Periodicals

Journal of American Folklore
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://find.galegroup.com/itx/infomark.do?&serQuery=Locale(en%2CUS%2C)%3AFQE%3D(jx%2CNone%2C30)%22Journal+of+American+Folklore%22%24&type=pubIssues&queryType=PH&prodId=AONE&userGroupName=a23uh&version=1.0]
Mortensen Library Periodicals GR1.J86 A51 (1966-1994; ONLINE 1994-present)


Websites

General Resources

African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
[http://digital.nypl.org/schomburg/writers_aa19/]
A collection of 52 works by African American women reproduced digitally by the Schomburg Center of the New York Public Library. Included are poetry, fiction, biography, autobiography and essays. Searchable by author, title, genre, and keywords in the text.

ALEX
[http://www.infomotions.com/alex/]
The Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts is a collection of about 14,000 classic public domain documents from American and English literature as well as Western philosophy. Searchable by keyword, author and title.

American Folklore
[http://www.americanfolklore.net/]
Retells American folktales, Native American myths and legends, tall tales and more. Indexed by state, ethnicity, and character.

American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
[https://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html]
Superb collection of American historical links, plus prints, photographic images, and other excellent graphics.

American Slave Narratives (Been Here So Long)
[http://newdeal.feri.org/asn/]
Selection of slave narratives collected by the Works Progress Administration during the 1930s available in print format and sound files.

American Verse Project
[http://www.hti.umich.edu/a/amverse/]
The full text of pre-1920 American poetry is made available and searchable.

From Slavery to Freedom: The African-American Pamphlet Collection, 1824-1909 (Library of Congress)
[http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/aapchtml/aapchome.html]
American Memory Project site from the Library of Congress providing digital documents relating to slavery, Emancipation, and Reconstruction.

A Guide to Harlem Renaissance Material
[http://www.loc.gov/rr/program/bib/harlem/harlem.html]
Library of Congress resources on African-American expressions of writing, music and art during the 1920s and 1930s. Links to external Web sites on the subject and bibliography.

Historical Text Archive: African American History (Mississippi State University)
[http://historicaltextarchive.com/sections.php?op=listarticles&secid=8]
Links to archival materials and primary documents relating to the African American experience.

Literary Resources on the Net (Rutgers University)
[http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/%7Ejlynch/Lit/]
All periods and genres of English and American literature; links to texts, bibliographies, scholarly articles and more.

Literature and Culture of the American 1950s
[http://www.writing.upenn.edu/~afilreis/50s/home.html]
Prepared for a course on American literary politics of the era, this site is a gateway to links on the literary figures and other participants and issues that defined the period, including the cold war, McCarthyism, and racism.

Modern American Poetry (University of Illinois)
[http://www.english.uiuc.edu/maps/]
Provides multimedia materials to expand understanding of over 160 poets. Author sites may include a biography, historical background, drafts of their work, a poetry reading, a bibliography, excerpts of critical analyses, an interview, and more!

Native American Authors (The Internet Public Library)
[http://www.ipl.org/div/natam/]
Biographical and bibliographical information on contemporary native authors of North America. Links to tribal websites and more extensive electronic and print resources on the author.

Online Literary Criticism Collection
[http://www.ipl.org/div/litcrit/]
Selected links to critical and biographical websites dealing with literary works of all periods and cultures. Rigorous selection criteria applied.

PAL: Perspectives in American Literature
[http://www.paulreuben.website/]
Provides outlines and bibliographies of US authors, themes and literary movements from colonial times to the present. Appendices include such special topics in American literature as the Frontier and the Gothic.

Victoria Research Web: Victorian Resources
[http://victorianresearch.org/]
Studies in 19th century British history and literature.


Biographies

American Authors
[http://www.wsu.edu/~campbelld/amlit/aufram.html]
Interlinked material and essays on practitioners and characteristics of literary movements, timelines of literary and historical events, and bibliographies of web and traditional primary and secondary resources.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Literature- American