University of Hartford Libraries

Library Tools- Encyclopedias Subject Guide


Books

Britannica Concise Encyclopedia
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/ebconcise?institutionId=4005]
General encyclopedia.

The Columbia Encyclopedia
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/columency?institutionId=4005]
General encyclopedia.

The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather Guide
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/heliconhe?institutionId=4005]
Information about Science, Technology, Geography, Politics, and the Arts

The Macmillan Encyclopedia
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/move]
General Encyclopedia.

Martial Arts of the World: An Encyclopedia of History and Innovation
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcmlarts]
This book is the most comprehensive and authoritative reference ever published on the wide range of martial arts disciplines practiced in cultures around the world.

Philip's Encyclopedia
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/philipency]
General Encyclopedia.


Databases

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Basic encyclopedia with brief information about a broad range of topics. Full text.


Websites

Canadian Encyclopedia
[http://www.thecanadianencyclopedia.ca/en/]
Perfect starting point for all things Canadian.

Encyclopedia.com
[http://www.encyclopedia.com]
Search or browse for short factual articles. Extensive cross references and links to additional sources (some of which charge fees).

How Stuff Works
[http://www.howstuffworks.com/]
Illustrated explanations of how things work in the world around us. Clear and easy to understand.

Infoplease.com
[http://www.infoplease.com/index.html]
Search for or browse for information from Information Please Almanacs, a dictionary, and the Columbia Encyclopedia. Includes extensive biographical information. Special daily features.

Library of Economics and Liberty
[http://www.econlib.org/]
Online books and essays (mostly classics) in Economics as well as opinion, links to economic data and institutions, and other recommended links.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Library Tools- Encyclopedias