University of Hartford Libraries

Library Tools- Directories Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Marquis Who Was Who in America 1607-1984
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/marqwas]
Lifetime accomplishments of many world history makers.

Marquis Who Was Who in America 1985-Present
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/marquiswww?institutionId=4005]
Lifetime accomplishments of many world history makers.

Marquis Who's Who in America
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/marquisam?institutionId=4005]
America's most notable men and women from every field of endeavor. Also have earlier volumes in Mortensen Library Oversized [E663 .W62]

Marquis Who's Who in the World
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/marquisworld?institutionId=4005]
The world's most notable men and women from every field of endeavor. Older print editions in Mortensen Library Oversized [CT120 .W5].


Connecticut

Connecticut State Register and Manual
[http://www.ct.gov/sots/cwp/view.asp?a=3188&q=392636]
Interactive version of the "Blue Book" providing history, biographies, and directory information for state government and state congressional delegation from 1997. Have print in Mortensen Library Shelves JK3331 .A4


Databases

Biography Reference Bank
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=brb]
Wilson’s largest biography database has combined the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, plus the thorough periodicals coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries). With links to every article focused on any individual in nearly every WilsonWeb database, Biography Reference Bank offers a breadth and depth of information you’ll find in no other biography database. It covers over 500,000 people and includes over 36,000 images!

Biography Reference Center
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://web.b.ebscohost.com/brc/search?sid=1d8af898-5f91-4259-a022-f87060bfbd79%40sessionmgr115&vid=0&hid=118]
Biography Reference Center offers a comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full text biographies, including the complete full text run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases.


Websites

General Resources

American Hospital Directory
[http://www.ahd.com/]
Selected data on hospitals that treat Medicare patients. Data supplied by HCFA. More comprehensive information available only to (fee paying) subscribers.

AnyWho Directory Service
[http://www.anywho.com/]
Phone book plus, including reverse lookup, map links, etc. Both white and yellow pages listings are available. Developed by AT&T.

Biography.com
[http://www.biography.com/]
Searchable database of brief biographies of over 20,000 people.

Catalog of United States Government Publications
[http://catalog.gpo.gov/F]
Searchable bibliographic database of documents from GPO. Records are from the Monthly Catalog since 1994, and updated daily.

Directory of Digitized Collections (UNESCO)
[http://www.unesco.org/webworld/digicol/]
Catalog of digitized heritage collections -- literature, art, history, etc - around the world. Keyword search or browse.

FindLaw
[http://www.findlaw.com/]
Find legal information and a directory of lawyers in the United States.

GuideStar: The National Database of Nonprofit Organizations
[http://www.guidestar.org/]
Searchable database of programs and finances of over 850,000 charities and nonprofits. Also provides new, resources for donors and volunteers, and links to more information sources.

Infospace
[http://www.infospace.com/]
White and yellow pages, e-mail, fax, government phone directories, etc. Multinational, searchable.

International Organization Web Sites: Index Page
[http://www.uia.org/website.htm]
Link to home-pages of over 3,500 organizations, arranged by name or by subject area.

Martindale-Hubbell Lawyer Locator
[http://www.martindale.com/Home.aspx]
Locate lawyers or law firms by name, area of practice, location, or language. Includes government and corporate law departments. International. Ratings and Iowa listings (available in print) are excluded.

Publishers' Catalogues Home Page
[http://www.lights.ca/publisher/]
Search by name or browse by several different categories to find the homepages and online catalogs of publishers.

Reporter.org
[http://www.reporter.org/]
Continuously updated news, arranged by type of story.

Search Systems
[http://www.searchsystems.net/]
Links to free databases with public records such as property assessments, incorporation records, Uniform Commercial Code Filings, etc. Browse by state and locality.

SuperPages.com
[http://www.superpages.com/]
Find businesses by yellow pages category or name. Provides e-mail and web links, when available, in addition to address, phone, and a map.

Switchboard: The People and Business Directory
[http://www.switchboard.com/]
Phone, address, and e-mail directories for people and businesses.

Ultimate White Pages
[http://www.newultimates.com/white/]
Search multiple residential phone and address directories from a single source. Also links to yellow pages, email lookups, etc.

WhoWhere?
[http://www.whowhere.com/]
Huge collection of searchable directories. Find individuals, companies, government listings. Additional services also available.

Yahoo! People Search
[http://people.yahoo.com/]
Search for telephone, mailing address, e-mail address or home pages for individuals.

ZIP+4 Code Look-up (US Post Office)
[http://www.usps.gov/ncsc/lookups/lookup_zip%2B4.html]
Look up a street address and get the ZIP code. Also links to a search by city.


United States

State and Local Government on the Net
[http://www.statelocalgov.net]
Directory of links to stage agencies and city and county governments. Topic browse also available.

State and Local Governments (Library of Congress)
[http://www.loc.gov/rr/news/stategov/stategov.html]
Links to state homepages and to additional sources of information on government at the state, county, and local level.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Library Tools- Directories