University of Hartford Libraries

Library Tools Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Bloomsbury Thematic Dictionary of Quotations
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/btdq]
Compilation of quotations and sayings on particular themes.

The Oxford Guide to Library Research
Mortensen Library Reference Z710 .M23 2005

Writers Directory
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781558627550&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Features bibliographical, biographical and contact information for living authors worldwide who have at least one English publication. Entries include name, pseudonyms, addresses, citizenship, birth date, specialization, career information and a bibliography.


Biographies

Bloomsbury Biographical Dictionary of Quotations
[http://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/staff/bib/308852/details]
Compilation of quotations and sayings from different eras.

Chambers Biographical Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/chambbd]
International and historic coverage of the arts, science, technology, sport, politics, philosophy, and business.

Debrett's People of Today
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/pot?institutionId=4005]
Comprehensive study of contemporary Britain's most notable and successful people.

Great Lives: A Century in Obituaries
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsgl]
The lives of the exceptional individuals, from Lord Kitchener to Pope John Paul, collected in the book are first drafts of history which to a remarkable degree have stood the test of time.


Databases

General Resources

Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1774-Present
[http://bioguide.congress.gov/biosearch/biosearch.asp]
Provides biographical information on the more than 13,000 persons who have served in the United States Congress, including those who served in the Continental Congress.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Internet Public Library
[http://www.ipl.org/]
ipl2 is a public service organization and a learning/teaching environment. To date, thousands of students and volunteer library and information science professionals have been involved in answering reference questions for our Ask an ipl2 Librarian service and in designing, building, creating and maintaining the ipl2's collections.

Libraries Catalog
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/]
Search the holdings of the University of Hartford's Libraries.

PRIMO - Peer Reviewed Instructional Materials Online
[http://acrl.ala.org/IS/instruction-tools-resources-2/pedagogy/primo-peer-reviewed-instruction-materials-online/]
Promotes and shares peer-reviewed instructional materials created by librarians to teach people about discovering, accessing and evaluating information in networked environments.

SPIN (InfoEd International)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://spin.infoedglobal.com/Home/Search]
Searchable database of funding opportunities. Continuously updated. "Jump to GENIUS" to create a custom profile for updates. Made available by Office of Grants and Contracts, University of Hartford.

WorldCat
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://firstsearch.oclc.org/fsip?dbname=worldcat&done=referer]
Available through FirstSearch, lists the holdings of over 9,000 libraries worldwide. University of Hartford registered library borrowers may place requests through WorldCat for items not held by University Libraries.


Connecticut

reQuest Main Catalog
[http://rqst-agent.auto-graphics.com/agent/login.asp?cid=rqst&lid=rqst&mode=g]
Search most libraries in Connecticut. Choose Main Catalog for books; Serials Catalog for journals. Does NOT include Trinity, Wesleyan, Connecticut College or Yale.


Websites

General Resources

All Academic
[http://www.allacademic.com/]
Searchable database providing access to free online sources. Includes abstract and author information.

BRB's Free Resource Center
[http://www.brbpub.com/freeresources/pubrecsites.aspx]
Portal to government agencies that provide free online access to public record information.

European Library
[http://www.theeuropeanlibrary.org/tel4/advancedsearch]
Search the combined holdings of national libraries across Europe. Includes both print collections and digital "Treasures." Simple Search looks at only a selection - choose appropriate collections for additional information.

Federal Library Depository Directory
[http://catalog.gpo.gov/fdlpdir/FDLPdir.jsp]
Searchable directory of Depository Libraries - those with extensive, official collections of federal government documents.

Librarians' Index to the Internet
[http://lii.org]
Search or browse by category through web sites selected by public librarians for quality and accuracy.

Libraries Online
[http://www.libraryspot.com/librariesonline.htm]
Links to libraries in the US and Canada. Several different entry points.

Library Definitions - University of Hartford
[http://library.hartford.edu/get_help/lib-def.aspx]
Definitions of key terms used by the University of Hartford Library.

Library of Congress Catalogs
[http://catalog.loc.gov/]
Browse or search using several options. Also provides links to additional library catalogs.

Library of Congress Classifications
[http://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/lcco/]
First letters and the corresponding general subjects for the main classes of the Library of Congress Classifications used at the University of Hartford Libraries.

Lyman (UConn Health Center)
[http://library.uchc.edu/]
Access to all holdings of the Lyman Maynard Stowe Library.

National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (Library of Congress)
[http://www.loc.gov/coll/nucmc/index.html]
Searchable database of cataloging records for manuscripts held in collections around the U.S.

NLM Locator Plus
[http://locatorplus.gov/]
Search the catalog of the National Library of Medicine. Also links to Medline.

Smithsonian Institution Research Information System
[http://www.siris.si.edu/]
Search the catalogs, archives, inventories, research collections, etc. of 20 museum and gallery libraries.

World's Largest Libraries
[http://libraryspot.com/features/largestlibraries.htm]
Annotated links to the home pages of libraries around the world.


Connecticut

Hartford Public Library
[http://www.hplct.org/]
Holdings, news, etc. from the largest public library in the area.

HOMER: University of Connecticut Libraries Catalog
[http://primo-pmtna01.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/primo_library/libweb/action/search.do;jsessionid=B69446891BF2F5DD00B657E1F8664421?menuitem=0&fromTop=true&fromPreferences=false&fromEshelf=false&vid=01UCT]
Search the holdings of libraries at all UCONN campuses.

iConn (Connecticut Library Resources)
[http://www.iconn.org/]
Links to free resources to CT residents.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Library Tools