University of Hartford Libraries

Language and Writing Studies Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

The American Heritage Guide to Contemporary Usage and Style
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/hmcontempusage]
Authoritative survey of English usage, grammar, and style.

bab.la (Multi-Language Dictionary)
[http://en.bab.la/dictionary/]
Free online platform for language lovers with 40 dictionaries for 28 languages, a language forum, vocabulary lessons, language games, quizzes, verb conjugation for 12 languages, phrase books for university, business or travel, an internship platform and many other language-related products.

Cambridge Guide to Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupteacheng]
Guide to the central areas of applied linguistics and language studies with particular reference to TESOL. It looks at the current state of TESOL as well as at what is likely to happen in the future.

Career Opportunities for Writers
Mortensen Library Reference PN151 .G84 2000

Chambers Classic Speeches
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/chambspeeches]
Selection of Eloquent Speeches given by politicians, monarchs, rebels, and intellectuals.

Collins Concise Dictionary of Quotations
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/hcdquot]
Ideal reference source for speech, essays, and letter writers.

Crusaders, Scoundrels, Journalists: the Newseum's Most Intriguing Newspeople
Mortensen Library Reference PN4871 .C78 1999

Divided by a Common Language
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/hmdbacl?institutionId=4005]
Explains differences in pronunciation, spelling, and vocabulary between British and American English.

Elements of Style by William Strunk
Online version of the original text of Elements of Style. Click "Check Status" for access.

Freedom of the Press: a Global Survey of Media Independence
Mortensen Library Reference PN4736 .F742

Good Word Guide
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/acbgwg?institutionId=4005]
Modern communications are breaking down distinctions between formal and informal English, raising ever more questions as to how to speak and write correctly.

How to Pay for Your Degree in Journalism & Related Fields
Mortensen Library Reference LB2337.2 .S365 2008

How We Talk: American Regional English Today
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/hmhowwetalk]
Essays on Modern American usage of the English Language.

Introduction to the Philosophy of Language
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupphillang]
In this textbook, Michael Morris offers a critical introduction to the central issues of the philosophy of language.

Journalism: A Guide to the Reference Literature
Mortensen Library Reference Z6940 .C38 2004

Key Concepts in Journalism Studies
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageukjour]
Essential reading for students in journalism, and an invaluable reference tool for their professional careers.

Key thinkers in linguistics and the philosophy of language
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.credoreference.com/book/edinburghthinkl]
Reference guide to the work of figures who have played an important role in the development of ideas about language.

MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, 3rd Edition
Mortensen Library Reference LB2369 .G533 2008
Allen Library Writing Center LB2369 .G53 M53 2008

Opportunities in Technical Writing Careers
Career Services Shelves T11 .G663 2008

Rawson's Dictionary of American Quotations
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/rawdaq?institutionId=4005]
Covers quotations from aspects of American life, culture, and politics.

Respectfully quoted : a dictionary of quotations requested from the Congressional Research Service
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/lcresquot]
Compilation of quotations used by the Congressional Research Service.

Simpsons Contemporary Quotations
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/simpsons]
Unique compilation of quotations since 1950.

Word Histories and Mysteries
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/hmwhm]
Historical look at the use and origin of English words and phrases.

Word origins : the hidden histories of English words from A to Z
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/acbwordorig?institutionId=4005]
Uncovers the often surprising connections between elements of the English lexicon that have become obscured by centuries of language change.


Dictionaries

American Heritage Dictionary of Idioms
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/hmidiom]
The largest collection of idioms and popular phrases available today.

The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/hmdictenglang?institutionId=4005]
Newly updated English dictionary. Also have older editions in print Mortensen Library Reference [PE1628 .A623 2006] and Mortensen Library Oversized [PE1628 .A623 2000].

Brewer's Dictionary of Irish Phrase and Fable
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/orionirishpf]
Devoted exclusively to the history, culture, mythology and language of the island of Ireland.

Brewer's Dictionary of Modern Phrase and Fable
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/brewermod]
Phrase and fable dictionary for the 21st century.

The Browser's Dictionary of Foreign Words and Phrases
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/browdfwp]
Practical and browsable A-to-Z reference tells you all you need to know to understand, pronounce and appreciate the many foreign words and phrases commonly used by speakers and writers of English.

Chambers Dictionary of Eponyms
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cde]
Find the origin of words that derive from a person from history.

Collins English-Greek Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsenggreek]
A comprehensive coverage of today's Greek and English in a clear, user-friendly format.

Collins English-Polish Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsengpol]
This dictionary will help you read and understand modern Polish, as well as communicate and express yourself in the language.

Collins Greek-English Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsgreekeng]
Thousands of examples show how Greek is used in context.

Collins Slownik Polsko-Angielski (Polish-English Dictionary)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinspoleng]
This dictionary will help you read and understand modern Polish, as well as communicate and express yourself in the language.

The Devil's Dictionary
[http://www.thedevilsdictionary.com/]
Opinionated compilation of phrases and words in its original 1921 publication by Ambrose Bierce.

Dictionary of Contemporary Slang
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/acbslang?institutionId=4005]
Guide to the use of slang today.

Dictionary of Foreign Phrases and Abbreviations
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/dfpa]
Lists in one alphabetical sequence foreign phrases, proverbs, maxims and abbreviations frequently used in written and spoken English.

Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/bkdictling]
Remains the standard single-volume reference for the field of linguistics and phonetics.

A Dictionary of Literary Symbols
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/litsymb?institutionId=4005]
Based on literature, rather than "universal" psychological archetypes, myths, or esoterica. Also in print in Mortensen Library Shelves [PN56.S9 F47 1999].

Dictionary of Publishing and Printing
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/acbpublishing]
Terminology of the publishing and printing industry.

Dictionary of Sociolinguistics
[http://www.credoreference.com/book/edinburghds]
Provides a broad coverage of sociolinguistics, including macro- and micro-sociolinguistics and a range of approaches within variationist, interactional, critical and applied traditions.

Dictionary of Visual Discourse a Dialectical Lexicon of Terms
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ashgtvd]
This substantial and ambitious dictionary explores the languages and cultures of visual studies. It provides the basis for understanding the foundations and motivations of current theoretical and academic discourse, as well as the different forms of visual culture that have come to organize everyday life.

Middle English Dictionary
[http://quod.lib.umich.edu/m/med/]
This electronic version of the MED preserves all the details of the print MED, but goes far beyond this, by converting its contents into an enormous database, searchable in ways impossible within any print dictionary.

OED Online (Oxford English Dictionary)
Search the definitive dictionary of the English language, complete and continuously updated. Provides definitions, etymology, and history of usage with examples over time. UofH users only. Full text. Click "Check Status" for access.

The Penguin Rhyming Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/penrd]
Offers an astonishingly wide range of suggestions for rhyming words, from the common and everyday to the more difficult and obscure.

Rawson's Dictionary of Euphemisms and Other Doubletalk
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/rawdeod]
Useful dictionary of English Usage for idiomatic words and phrases.

Rawson's Wicked Words
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/rawww]
Study of the use of words and phrases as pertaining to put-downs or insults.


Encyclopedias

Concise Encyclopedia of Sociolinguistics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/estsocioling?institutionId=4005]
Provides uniquely comprehensive and authoritative coverage of all aspects of sociolinguistics.

Encyclopedia of American Journalism
Mortensen Library Reference PN4855 .E53 2008

Encyclopedia of Life Writing: Autobiographical and Biographical Forms
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routlifewrite?institutionId=4005]
Encyclopedia explores not only autobiography and biography proper, but also letters, diaries, memoirs, family histories, case histories, and other ways in which individual lives have been recorded and structured.

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Semiotics, Media, and Communications
Mortensen Library Reference P87.5 .D36 2000

Ethnologue: Languages of the World
[http://www.ethnologue.com/]
An encyclopedic reference work cataloging all of the world's 6,909 known living languages.


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Dictionary of Literary Biography
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/dispBasicSearch.do?prodId=DLBC&userGroupName=a23uh]
Lengthy, full text biographical and critical essays on world literary figures from all eras and genres. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to close when finished searching.

Essay & General Literature Index with Retrospective
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=egr,egi]
Years Covered: 1900-
Essay & General Literature offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.

Film & Television Literature Index
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=fah]
Bibliographic database covering all aspects of film and television theory, preservation, writing, production, technical aspects, and reviews. Abstracts with selected full text.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Humanities Abstracts
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=hma]
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology

MLA Bibliography
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/mlaib?accountid=11308]
International index of books and journals. Covers modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. For information about the periodicals included, consult the MLA Directory of Periodicals.

OED Online (Oxford English Dictionary)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oed.com]
Search the definitive dictionary of the English language, complete and continuously updated. Provides definitions, etymology, and history of usage with examples over time. UofH users only. Full text.


Websites

CogPrints
[http://cogprints.org/]
Electronic archive for papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, as well as portions of computer Science, Philosophy, Biology and other fields pertinent to the study of cognition.

The Elements of Style (Bartleby)
[http://www.bartleby.com/141/]
Full text of William Strunk's classic guide to proper usage.

EnglishClub.com
[http://www.englishclub.com/]
Help for both students of English as a Second Language and their instructors. Lessons on grammar, pronunciations, business English and more. Lesson plans and ESL projects for faculty. Caution! British English!

Guide to Grammar and Writing
[http://grammar.ccc.commnet.edu/grammar/]
Basic searchable, detailed guide to sentence structure, punctuation, and more. Includes an online dictionary and thesaurus, web links for writers, and even an interactive grammar advice column.

OWL (Online Writing Lab) at Purdue
[http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/]
This site provides strong guidance in writing career related documents including resumes, curriculum vitae (cv's) and cover letters.

Writers Free Reference
[http://www.writers-free-reference.com/]
Full -text basic reference sources to help you write that research paper or novel.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Language and Writing Studies