University of Hartford Libraries

Keyboard Music Subject Guide


Books

Harpsichord

Harpsichord and Clavichord Music of the Twentieth Century
By Frances Bedford. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 H29 B43]

Harpsichord and Clavichord: An Encyclopedia
Edited by Igor Kipnis. Allen Library Reference [REF ML102 K5 H37]

Makers of the Harpsichord and Clavichord, 1440-1840
By Donald H. Boalch. Allen Library Reference [REF ML652 B73 M3]


Organ

Organ Literature: A Comprehensive Survey
By Corlis Richard Arnold. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 O68 1995 v. 1-2]

Organ Music in Print
By Walter A. Frankel. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 O68 N & 1997 Suppl. & Index]

Organ: An Encyclopedia
Edited by Douglas E. Bush. Allen Library Reference [REF ML102 O68 B87]


Piano

The Art of the Piano
By David Dubal Allen Library Reference [REF ML105 D81 A 2004]

Black Women Composers: A Century of Piano Music
Edited by Helen Walker-Hill. Allen Library Stacks [M21 B61]

Guide to Piano Music by Women Composers
By Pamela Youngdahl Dees. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 P5 D44]

Guide to the Pianist's Repertoire
By Maurice Hinson. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 P5 H 2000]

Keyboard Duets: From the 16th to the 20th Century for One and Two Pianos
By Howard Ferguson. Allen Library Stacks [ML700 F35 K49]

Makers of the Piano, 1700 -1820
By Martha Novak Clinkscale. Allen Library Reference [REF ML652 C55 M4]

Music for More Than One Piano: An Annotated Guide
By Maurice Hinson. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 P5 H6 M]

Music for Piano and Orchestra: An Annotated Guide
By Maurice Hinson. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 P5 H6 O 1993]

Notable Twentieth -Century Pianists
By John Gillespie. Allen Library Reference [REF ML397 G54 v.1-2]

One Handed: A Guide to Piano Music for One Hand
By Donald L. Patterson. Allen Library Reference[ML128 P5 P37]

Pianist's Dictionary
By Maurice Hinson. Allen Library Reference [REF ML102 P5 H6]

Pianist's Guide to Transcriptions, Arrangements, and Paraphrases
By Maurice Hinson. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 P5 H6 T]

Piano in Chamber Ensemble: An Annotated Guide
By Maurice Hinson. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 P5 H6 C]

Piano Information Guide: An Aid to Research
By Robert Palmieri. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 P5 P35]

Piano: An Encyclopedia
Edited by Robert Palmieri. Allen Library Reference [REF ML102 P5 P35]

Twentieth -Century Piano Music
By David Burge. Allen Library Stacks [ML707 B87 T84]


Call Numbers

Organ

M6 - M19
Solo organ

M180 - M181
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M180%20or%20M181?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
One or more organs, 2 or more players

M182 - M195
Organ and 1 other instrument

M300 - M309
Organ and 2 other instruments

M400 - M409
Organ and 3 other instruments

M1005 - M1006
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1005%20or%20M1006?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Organ concertos [orchestra or keyboard acc.]

M1108 - M1109
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1108%20or%20M1109?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Organ concertos [string orchestra or keyboard acc.]

NOTE:
For Organ and 4, 5, 6, 7, or 8 instruments, use M500 - M509, etc.


Piano

M20 - M39
Solo piano

M200 - M212
Piano, 3 or more hands

M213 - M216
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M213%20or%20M214%20or%20M215%20or%20M216?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Two or more pianos

M217 - M285
Piano and 1 other instrument

M310 - M344
Piano and 2 other instruments

M410 - M449
Piano and 3 other instruments

M1010 - M1011
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1010%20or%20M1011?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Piano concertos [orchestra or keyboard acc.]

M1110 - M1111
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1110%20or%20M1111?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Piano concertos [string orchestra or keyboard acc.]

NOTE:
For Piano and 4, 5, 6, 7, or 8 instruments, use M510-M549, etc.


Periodicals

American Organist

Clavier

Diapason

International Musician
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/titles.asp?txtKeyword=International+Musician+&SF=Titles&id=8684&sid=76148354&LH=&lang.subject=&lang.menu=&cmdSearchSubmit=Search&optPages=1]

Keyboard
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/titles.asp?lang=en&lang.subject=&lang.menu=&KW=Keyboard&sid=76148354&id=8684&SF=Titles&ST=Exact&cmdSearchSubmit=Search]

Keyboard Companion

Organ

Organ Yearbook

Performance Practice

Piano and Keyboard

Piano Quarterly Review

PianoToday


Subject Headings

Concertos piano

Keyboard instruments

Piano ensembles

Piano music

Piano music 4 hands

Piano music pianos 2

Piano quartets
[For piano, violin, viola, violoncello; for other combinations use: quartets piano]

Piano quintets
[For piano, 2 violins, viola, violoncello; for other combinations use: quintets piano]
[Follow for sextets, septets, octets, nonets]

Piano trios
[For piano, violin, violoncello; for other combinations use: trios piano]

Piano with . . .

Sonatas piano

Violin and piano music
[Follow for other instruments with piano]


Websites

American Guild of Organists
[https://www.agohq.org/]
Informations about competitions, positions available, instruments for sale, salary guide, and chapters.

Harpsichord Clearing House
[http://www.harpsichord.com]
Inventory of early keyboard instruments for sale in North America: harpsichords, clavichords, fortepianos, continuo organs, and more.

International Piano Archives at Maryland
[http://www.lib.umd.edu/PAL/IPAM/index.html]
IPAM is a major repository of piano recordings, books, scores, and related materials. Contains general information about the collection, as well as a listing of available publications and upcoming special events.

Organ Historical Society
[http://www.organsociety.org/]
Includes information about the organization and its conventions; available book, music, and audio publications; and historic pipe organs which can be visited.

Piano Technicians Guild
[http://www.ptg.org]
Information about registered technicians, piano services and technical facts, patents, manufacturers, etc.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Keyboard Music